Critique logo

Gen Z and 'The Summer I Turned Pretty'

Does Teen Drama Always Veer Cringey?

By Erin SheaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
5
Image via Amazon Prime

The latest hit series is giving me whiplash.

One minute it's a tear-jerking exposition on grief. The next, it's painfully overdone youthful banter.

Clearly, Gen Z is yet to graduate from mere caricatures on screen. But isn't the hallmark of adolescence inescapable awkwardness? Is that why I can't look away?

DialogueThemeFictionCharacter Development
5

About the Creator

Erin Shea

New Englander

Grad Student

Living with Lupus and POTS

Instagram: @somebookishrambles

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    I've not watched this show but I've read all 3 books. I did find it to be kinda cringy at times but the love triangle broke my heart. Excellent review!

  • Megan Malcolm9 months ago

    I hadn't heard of this show, and honestly, it doesn't sound like my cup of tea, but your review is fabulous, clever, and punchy. Loved it, well done!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    The awkwardness never left me. I am still cringe, but maybe I’ve accepted my cringe self a little more over the years. Maybe it’s all cringe. LOL I don’t know. Enjoyed your review 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.