Critique logo

Dune

Another Evolutionary Link

By Matthew FrommPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
12
Dune
Photo by Mike Yukhtenko on Unsplash

Few fiction books changed my worldview as Dune did.

Weird, unique, foreign, and long thought to be unadaptable (we’ll see how this version lands. I’m cheering for you, Dennis!), Frank Herbert’s masterpiece twists your mind and your conceptions, forcing you to confront the uncomfortable.

After all, fear is the mind-killer.

Essay
12

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to write it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wishing to be found.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Atomic Historian8 months ago

    Great summary! Great critique! I don't know how I didn't see this when the challenge was open. Funny enough, I wrote two articles on Dune for the BookClub challenge.

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I really have GOT to read this!

  • Chloe Gilholy9 months ago

    This is one I haven’t read but I am curious about!

  • Oooo, now I gotta read this! Loved your review!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Love the subtitle for this critique. If the book is anything like the first movie then I agree that its weird and out there.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Something I definitely need to read. Loved the bonkers original film with Kyle McLachlan and Sting to name a few. Not seen the new version. Shall pop it onto my list lol. Nice critique, Matthew. It's true, its influence can't be disputed.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    great critique

  • Ian Read9 months ago

    This is on my reading list.... my immensely long reading list lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.