Critique logo

Dracula

Bram Stoker's Dracula is one of the most misunderstood and poorly adapted novels.

By Paul StewartPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
https://cdn.kobo.com/book-images/88a05cf1-a3b6-461b-a8f7-f0e25b06274a/1200/1200/False/dracula-bram-stoker.jpg

Genre-defining epistolary gothic novel that has been grossly misunderstood and bastardised repeatedly through various terrible to subpar to okay film and TV adaptions. It is not a romance novel; it is a horror novel about a greedy, bloodlust-driven monstrous vampire who is unapologetically evil. Avoid the films, read the book.

SettingNovelFiction

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    I didn't even know there was a book

  • Nicely sums it up, Paul.

  • Books are always better than movies! I'm yet to read a book where the movie is better. Awesome review!

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    I admit that I’ve never read the book. Based on your critique, I probably should. I also admit that I enjoy a sexy vampire once in a while (Excluding the twilight variety). Very compelling critique! 🦇

  • Interesting! Films tend to change some books and lose the plot entirely.

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    My first introduction to this story as a young person was the exact opposite of your take. It was also wrong. Except, I suppose, insofar as romance DOES often portray unhealthy/toxic/abusive relationships 🤷‍♀️

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    It is on my shelf just begging to be read, but I’ve gotta get through some others I’ve started first!

  • Alexander McEvoy11 months ago

    Love this book! I read it for the first time in Fourth year university and it was an amazing experience! The ending left something to be desired for me, the only place I could imagine an adaptation helping at all. But I've never seen a good, or even decent crack at bringing it to the big screen and am actively dreading the "Last Voyage of the Demeter" coming out soon. Like, it looks as though it's completely missed every possible point.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    You dropped a truth bomb here, sir! Well done!

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    I like the Francis Ford Coppola film, but you told no lies! This is an exemplary critique of one of my favorite classic novels, and of the zeitgeist and aftermath of its enduring success.

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.