Critique logo

Doctor Who

A Classic of the Genre

By Kendall Defoe Published 9 months ago 1 min read
16
Doctor Who
Photo by Jean-Philippe Delberghe on Unsplash

Sixty years of brilliance...

For a young boy who wanted to escape, a hero without a gun or a uniform was perfect. And as a Canadian, I am filled with pride (oh, Sydney, we love you). It was our creation...heading out into the universe.

Step on board, and let's materialize.

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

ThemeTelevisionCharacter Development
16

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Katherine D. Graham9 months ago

    Well - I did not know that Dr. Who is in part due to a Canadian... nice to know!

  • Spencer Hawken9 months ago

    A show always close to my heart since the 70s, my dream was to be involved in the show when I was a child. As an adult and quite by accident from 2005-2008 I ended up being a background artist on 9 episodes, just goes to show dreams can come true.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    I did not know Sydney Newman was Canadian! Excellent review. Paul pointed me here; I just did one on the show, and had no idea you had too!

  • Lynn Fenske9 months ago

    I've heard of Dr. Who but have never watched any of the episodes. Never heard of Canadian film producer Sydney Newman until now. Thanks for the insight and inspiration to Google search Dr. Who and find more evidence that Canadians rock.

  • I've never actually watched Dr. Who, but I was once upon a time desperately in love with someone who watched it faithfully.

  • I've never watched any Dr Who, lol. I have no idea under what rock I've been living in!

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    I ADORE Doctor Who! Really nicely written here!

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    I used to watch the original dr who

  • Rachael MacDonald9 months ago

    love the addition of the link, great choice. best show on tv ❤

  • Scott Christenson9 months ago

    good point.. i think dr who was one of the only first scifi heros ever without a gun or a uniform

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.