Critique logo

Bridgerton (Book Series)

Modern Rom-Com Tropes Masquerading as Regency Romance

By Natasja RosePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
4
Bridgerton (Book Series)
Photo by Shayna Douglas on Unsplash

Bridgerton is not Regency Romance.

It's a bunch of modern Rom-Com tropes in Regency Cosplay. Other than over-reliance on the Compromise!Plot, the characters and behaviours bear no resemblence.

Tropes by Book

  1. Fake Dating
  2. Enemies-to-Lovers
  3. Cinderella Story
  4. Childhood-Friends-to-Lovers
  5. Falling In Love Through Letters and Kids
  6. Not-So-Unrequited Love
  7. Girl Next Door
  8. Strangers-to-Lovers

Fiction
4

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    Is it fair to say that I wasn't interested & you just managed to confirm my disinterest? Good review.

  • Ava Mack9 months ago

    This is a great take and insight, Natasja! I love your itemized tropes. Bridgerton is definitely not "Your Grandmother's Regency Romance" but I think it's why I love the book and especially the TV series so much. Bridgerton shamelessly blends the trappings of regency romance with modern rom-com themes, sensibilities, cast, and art.

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    I haven't read the books, but they are on my list. After watching the series though, I don't expect them to be historically accurate, just entertaining. Though I doubt the general public recognise the inaccuracies.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.