Critique logo

A Chair for My Mother

critique

By Mark GrahamPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like
colored pencils (pexels.com)

I am going to start sharing some children's stories that I have not read before for a book I bought years ago 'The 20th Century Children's Book Treasury' where all the stories were selected by Janet Schulman. The first story that I read is called 'A Chair for My Mother' written and illustrated by Vera B. Williams in 1982. This is the story of a small girl and her mother and grandmother. The little girls mother works as a waitress and finds out it is not easy to save money for what is needed, but they do. After the dangerous event happens one day when the little girl and mother are coming home the neighbors are come together and helps them put things back together except for one thing. Vera has drawn pictures that make you feel cozy and warm. This is one story that could be used to teach various safety rules as well.

FictionFeedback Requested
Like

About the Creator

Mark Graham

I am a person who really likes to read and write and to share what I learned with all my education. My page will mainly be book reviews and critiques of old and new books that I have read and will read. There will also be other bits, too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.