Criminal logo

You can only trust yourself

and even that isn't all the time

By Rexford CahillPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2
Before the fall

It was a normal day, hot as always on Alii Dr. I was 22 and living with my 19 year old girlfriend and her mother and sister. We were also using heroin, Xanax when it was around, sometimes Meth as well. Our friend had just gotten arrested we cashed checks for him without questioning where they were from or why he could not do it himself. We however all agreed should shit go south non of us knew anything about each other, 'yeah, right. Bitch if I get arrested I'm ratting you motherfuckers out'.

I'm selling stuff on the main street of our small town in a small island of Hawaii, one day and as I'm speaking to an acquaintance with back turned I hear "Rex?". "Yo....oh." I answer as I turn back to see a police officer standing there. "You need to come with me for questioning." I stand up take my jacket that has a bag full of syringes in it and a spoon for cooking to the acquaintance let him know where my girlfriend is and forgot that I had recently bought a "100% hemp hat" it was cool because it had a hidden zipper pocket in it that wasn't noticeable at all, also where I had the 3 weighed out dubs and small bag of meth. The Officer pats me down (heart racing "I'm fucked,fucked,fucked,fucked" going through my mind). He finally gets to the hat, checks the flap with his finger doesn't get the alleged narcotics and cuffs me and puts me in the back seat. At this point I'm wondering what the fuck is going on, I realized I don't have a warrant, I'm on probation but have been compliant. "Officer, what am I being arrested for?" I ask always sure to be polite. "Nothing.... yet. The lead investigator just needs to talk to you." He says nothing more, leaving my mind to wonder 'What the fuck, there's an investigator on me, I'm no one, I never rob people I just shoplift once in awhile. But it can't be that.... spinning and spinning".

Throws me in the cold cell tells me "The Detective will call you when he's ready". I know I can't be healed for more than 3 days without an arrest, But I also know that I have 2 or three felonies in my hat in the locket that he put my belongings in, so I don't push it.

DAY 2: I would like to speak to the Detective now please. An hour later he calls me in. Hello Rexford Cahil A.k.a Rexford Johnson (stupid alias I made by accident when i was 16). "I'm sorry, Sir. I just don't understand why I am here or how I can help you. "You know Tucky T?"(name has been faked mine is real but I won't use anyone eases). "Yeah, didn't he get arrested for shop lifting?". "Oh, a lot more than that. He stole over $700,000 of checks, jewelry, coper, and other belongings from his own family and family friends, also tells us you and your girlfriend knew about it and would cash them for him." I respond "WHAT!? He told us he didn't have an ID and just needed the money that the checks were from his aunt or somebody, look I really got places to be. I have a job (which I did) and other things I have to take care of." The Detective is trying to read my face I can tell, and I'm willing to say what I need to, to get out of the police station with my bags of weed and meth. "You swear you didn't know?". "Swear on my unborn child's life" (Girlfriend wasn't pregnant never planned on having kids, still don't).

"I wish I could just take you at your word but would you be willing to take a lie detector test?" At this point I'm positive he's bluffing to scare me into telling the truth, but I know how faulty those machines are, and how expensive it is to do, and over what a crime that's already been open and shut, Tucky stole the stuff I was never with him when he did so, he should do his time like I would've if I were caught, So I reply "Yes of course". He goes further, can you get your girlfriend to come down and do her testimony? "No, I'm not going to let you arrest my girlfriend and have her sit and shitty cell I was just in, no way." "No,no,no she would just come down we would ask her questions and she would go." I'm still scared as fuck of getting a felony drug charge so I tell him "Oh, yes. As long as you promise me she will not be arrested or held here." He continues "and you both are willing to come back to take the lie detector test?" "Damn, skippy." (not my actual words but I know I'm about to get out so something like that.

Detective silent for a few awkward seconds. "Alright, you can go. Have Kaylee come in on xx/2013 at xx:xxpm. We need to get the lie dector tests from Hilo and a reader needs to be flown so we will call you when you come in to do that." He opens my locker and the smell of marajuana just reeks the entire station. "Do....Do you have weed on you!?". "No, I was searched when I got detained". he reluctantly hand my brown bag back to me.

I didn't have a cell phone so I started walking to the closes bus stop which on this island the bus system sucked. Eventually I got home told the news to Kaylee my girlfriend, explain what she has to do and why, she's okay with it. Just happy to have me back. To be Continued...

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Rexford Cahill

I'm a man who has made many mistakes, and gone through some bad times that I think could help others A)not make the same mistakes and B)have something that seems so obscured it could be fiction to read.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.