Criminal logo

Will's Will.

Four daughters, $20,000.

By Sierra Ginae.Published 3 years ago 18 min read
3

“Geez,” Lana whines, stepping over mounted items. “Dad was such a neat freak. I’m surprised he never cleaned the attic out.”

“You know how dad was,” Leah strained, trailing behind her sister. “He didn’t want anyone touching things up here.”

“Don’t go in that attic!” Both girls grumble, mimicking papa.

The girls’ parents are gone. Hours has passed since Papa’s funeral. The women search their father Will’s Florida beach house, a home purchased after the passing of his wife, Linda, 20-years prior. Will’s death was a lot more peaceful than his wife’s, who fought with a vicious fight with cancer in 1990. Her transitioning was not as luxurious. In a hospital bed for her, in the comfort of his own bed for him. The retiree no longer had the desire to live in the same home he shared with his wife, deciding to use her life insurance to move far away from North Carolina. The warmer weather and beach felt better, but never made Will forget.

“Oh, so you three were gonna just take some of dad’s things without telling me huh?”

Their third daughter appears from the end of the large attic. Lena. The sisters are all close. The women all hug tightly. There are no tears, as they have already been exhausted at Papa’s funeral. What was originally grief and sadness, is mixed with a bittersweet feeling. Papa was old, and his time was done. Lena steps back, looking around the crowded attic. Boxes with dust are everywhere.

“There’s spider webs all up here,” Lena sighs, looking around. “When’s the last time he’s been up here?”

The girls all sit in their father’s living room, drinking tea and staring out at the ocean. The trio have a moment to take in their new lives without their parents. Leah is the oldest. She has always been more heavy-set than her sisters, but it never bothered her. Her size was always used to defend or scare bullies away from her siblings. Lena is the second oldest. The “prissy” one of the siblings. Always having to have her nails done, toes polished, excessive lipstick that habitually smeared its way onto her straight front teeth and the fanciest things she could buy with she and her husbands not so 1st-class budget. She was the sister who turned heads, grabbing the attention of boys in their younger days with her waist-length hair and hour-glass figure, often making her sisters jealous at times. Lana was the baby. Their parent’s smartest child. Their nerd. Never had a lot of attention from boys back in their days due to her head and large glasses being buried in books. It paid off, as she was the most successful of her sisters. A young scientist. All girls bore sandy-blonde hair and pale skin, a signature sign of their father’s strong genes. All names beginning with the letter L in honor of their mother.

“Did Papa’s lawyer say he was coming by?” Leah asks.

“Yeah.” Leah responds.

There is an awkward silence. Lena addresses the obvious elephant in the room.

“I wonder what dad left us.”

“Is that what you’re worried about right now,” Lana asks. “Dad’s things?”

“What? I can’t ask?” Lena whines.

“Now?”

“I didn’t say I had to have the information right away,” Lena shrugs. “Plus, Leah’s the one that asked.”

The girls’ jump to the sound of tires screeching. The three rush to Papa’s large windows, looking down at the circular driveway below. There arrives their other sister, Lucy. She slams her car door shut, storming towards the house.

“Oh no,” Lana whines, turning to the others. “Someone lock the door!”

The girls rush the front door, but it is too late. Lucy barges inside, nearly knocking Lana over. Leah immediately approaches her sister at the door.

“Get out!” Leah demands, pointing outside.

“Did you guys think I wasn’t gonna find out about dad?” Lucy hollers inches from Leah’s face. “Three evil bitches who wouldn’t even tell their own sister about her own father dying!”

“Just what were you going to come there for, Lucy?” Lena shouts, stepping in the argument. “Memories of both you and Papa involve nothing but turmoil! We could argue that you were the one who gave mom cancer with the bullshit you put them through! They disowned you for a reason!”

“I don’t care about all of that. I’m here to get my cut of dad’s inheritance.”

“Your cut?” Lena, Leah, and Lana say simultaneously.

The trio all burst into laughter, temporarily forgetting the serious moment.

Lucy, Lucy, Lucy.

The second oldest of the three, Lucy was far off the spectrum of her sisters. A woman with a mixed personality of all three of her sisters. Turned heads like Lena due to her vivacious looks, once smart like Lana, tough like Leah. A tomboy from the beginning, she never desired to be like her sisters or follow the Christian values mother and Papa tried to instill in her. In the beginning of high school, she began to dress provocatively. She fought girls often over boys she had crushes on. Two snuck piercings and a hidden snake tattoo near her crotch. Falling into the wrong crowd was a better recipe for the already disaster. “Stealing isn’t that big of a deal, we’ll find counseling for her.” Papa said multiple times, finding many excuses for Lucy’s behavior. Forcing Lucy to attend church more often, counseling, anti-depressants, nothing could tame their wildest child. The final straw? Drugs. Lucy’s looks began to wither away as she approached her 20’s. Cocaine and meth took its toll on the woman’s sanity and health, and her parents decided there was nothing they could do for the woman. Lucy was kicked out and forced onto the streets, but Papa could never find it in himself to abandon her. He eventually allowed Lucy to stay with him, only for her to constantly take advantage of her father in old age. Rehab fixed her drug habit, but stolen money and funds went towards partying, friends, and many boyfriends. Once her sisters caught hold of Lucy’s actions, they intervened, kicked Lucy out, and changed their father’s locks. All three women followed their father to Jacksonville to watch over him, making sure Lucy no longer took advantage of him. This never stopped Lucy from mysteriously popping up from time to time.

“Am I in the middle of something?” The lawyer asks, walking through the front door.

Papa’s lawyer and friend, Lawyer Adams, recognizes the troublesome daughter that has been a pain in his client’s ass for years.

“Dear lord, Lucy…” He sighs, brushing past her with his briefcase. “Please don’t make this day any harder for your sisters.”

“Don’t worry, I was just making her leave.” Leah states.

“Yeah Leah, I’d like to see you try.” Lucy states, not backing down.

Lucy closes her eyes, placing her hand up. It is her poor way of offering a temporary peace treaty.

“I just want my cut of dad’s inheritance and you all never have to hear from me again.”

The four sisters sit in their father’s library. Lucy stands in the entryway, leaning against the doorframe with her arms folded. “When will we get on with this?” She thinks but does not dare say out loud. Lena, Leah, and Lana sit on the leather L shaped sofa, faced in front of their dad’s desk. Lawyer Adams sits at the desk with Will’s files and personal documents at hand.

“Are you sure you ladies want to do this today?” Adams asks. “I came by to offer my condolences. I didn’t quite want to get into the-“

“Yes.” Lucy interrupts. “I have somewhere to be.”

“Lucy, you’re not getting anything,” Lena says, followed by Leah’s laughter. “Why you’re here is beyond me. All of us, really.”

“Because he was my father, too.”

“Yeah, the father you stole from.”

“But still my father!”

“Ladies, ladies!” Lawyer Adams says loudly over the arguing, opening his hands. “Your father would not want this bickering! Can we please?”

“I think I should have the beach house.” Lana intervenes.

Lana sits shyly, hands buried between her frail thighs. All the attention is on her.

“What?” Leah says, wanting her to repeat what she already heard.

“I think I deserve the beach house.”

“Why you, Lana?” Lena scowls jealously. “You have a big, beautiful house in Palm Springs? Leah and I aren’t nearly as fortunate as you.”

“What does my home have to do with keeping dads? I think I would take good care of the place. Rent it out.”

“You take good care of the home?” Leah says sarcastically, resting her arm against the couch. “Who was the one that came over to clean for dad because he was too old to do so? Because from what dad told me, you and Lena rarely came by!”

“Now let’s not go there, because with my job you know I could barely see dad or any of my aunts,” Lana says, voice gurgling with anger. “Papa knew that so don’t you try to use my job against me!”

“Sorry, I’m not able to come out to Key West like you two.” Lena scoffs. “I’m not able to afford it.”

“But you can afford to get your nails done.” Lana scoffs, eyes swiveling at the floor.

Their argument is interrupted by Lucy’s laughter. The girls turn her way, all sharing the look of disgust.

“Just what are you laughing at?” Lena says.

“Apparently I saw dad more than all three of you by just popping up and I’m livin’ in a motel,” Lucy smirks. “What good daughters you all were, huh?

“What you’re not going to do is try to demean us as daughters. Papa disowned you for a reason,” Lana says sinisterly, squinting her eyes at her sister. “You’re a no-good homeless thief who stole money that dad spent years saving up, for drugs, alcohol and probably a whore house or two to support yourself. You’re not getting a single thing from dad. I’ll guarantee it.”

For once, Lucy has nothing to say. Lana twirls her head at Lawyer Adams, continuing their conversation.

“I think we should split the items. Three ways,” Lana continues. Clearing her throat. “I get the beach house, Leah can have dad’s cars, Lena can have dad’s home possessions.”

“Why are you determining this, Lana?” Lena asks, clicking her long nails.

“It’s fair.”

“You don’t call the shots,” Lena says, turning to Adams. “Who did he tell you he wanted to inherit his things, Adams? I know he had to have said something to you.”

Adams opens his briefcase. He takes out a tiny book, placing it in the center of the desk. All the girl’s eyes widen.

“Dad’s Little Black Book?” All four women gasp.

A little black book. One of dad’s most prized possessions. A notebook he has kept around the girls since their childhood. Papa always carried it everywhere like a diary to a young girl. This book, purchased when Papa was 20, was used to document important moments in his life over the years. When Papa stopped carrying the book around in public, Leah, Lena and Lana figured that the book was long gone or perhaps had been forgotten.

“We thought Papa left that book at his old home?” Lana says.

“As he got older and frailer, he wanted me to hold onto it for when this day came. I think that we should honor whatever wishes he has inside of his will.” Says Adams.

The girls are brought to a calm.

“I think that that’s fair, correct?” Adams states.

Lana, Leah, and Lena stare at one another. All three smile, giving each other a quick nod.

“That’s fair,” Lana says. “Just promise that whatever Papa has in his will won’t tear us apart. We are family.”

“Of course.” Leah and Lena respond, clutching each other’s hands.

“Oh brother.” Lucy snarls, rolling her eyes. “Just read the damn will so we can end the corny theatrics.”

Adams open the black book, flipping the pages towards the end. Dates breeze by. 1963. 1970. 1985. 2003. So on and so forth. His lawyer reaches the final pages. Last will and testimony. He opens the book, reading what has the entire room on edge.

“To my baby girls, though you all already know, I love you so much. I always have. Though I’m writing this while I’m here on earth, when Adams read this to you all, I will have transitioned on the other side with your mother. Please don’t be sad, as this is God’s will. Children are supposed to bury their parents, as my grandchildren will have to face this same process. It’s the way of life.” Adams said. “Therefore, I’d like to write just how much each of you meant to me.”

Adams pauses, then continues.

“Leah, my first born. My toughest baby,” He reads. “You birthed me into the world of parenting. My first trial, didn’t know how to change a single diaper, warm a bottle, or stop your constant crying every other hour. Then you grew up to be the protector of your sisters when I was not there to do so. The toughest of my girls. Bigger in size than my girls, you never let anyone deter your confidence. Always defended your dear old Papa from anyone you felt were trying to take advantage of me, and always called to make sure I was okay after your mother passed. I love you, Gracie, and Conner, with all my heart. Make sure you tell them how much their Grandpapa loved them.”

Leah laughs through her tears, quickly swiping her eyes. She rarely cries, even through her toughest days. Lena and Lana have only seen this once, maybe twice. The two offer her comfort by rubbing her shoulders.

Second, Lana.

“Lana. My youngest baby and bookworm,” Adams continues. “You’ve made me so proud over these years. You became a scientist at such a young age. Never will I forget the days where you would play in the kitchen, mixing different things just to see what would happen. Coming home to Pepsi all over my kitchen floor because you wanted to try the Menthol trick. My little dork. You often cried in me and your mother’s arms, telling us how you were being teased by your peers for getting “too good” of grades. Look at where that has gotten you! My most successful child, smarter than your sisters and they know it. I love you my brainiac. Pass that knowledge onto my grandson.”

Third, is Lucy.

“Lucy most likely won’t be here to hear this, but I loved her until my dying day, and have loved her since she was born, though she was my most difficult child.” Adam reads.

Lucy smiles a tad. Her small joy is let out like a hot-air balloon.

“However, if she happens to stop by as she does every so often, I want her to know that the trouble and pain she put me through was very disheartening, but the fatal blow was what she put my wife through. The stress had aged her twice as much as she would’ve, and for that, I could never forgive her for not only stealing money from me but stealing my wife’s peace and sanity due to her constantly wondering if one of her daughters would turn up dead, or turn up in another attempt to steal more money. I allowed her to come by out of pity, wondering if there was something that I did wrong in terms of raising her, but then I look at Leah, Lana, and Lena. I look at my grandchildren. I look at their husbands. I know I stood right by my girls, and that one just happened to be a troubling case,” Adams reads, voice trembling with nervousness. “While it is in my religion to forgive, I simply cannot for the trouble she’s caused not only towards my finances, but towards me, her own mother, and her sisters. I hope that God will forgive me for my unforgiving manner, and I will ask God to forgive her in the hopes that she gets her life together.”

Lucy’s hardcore shell is mellowed down to mush. The room is silent and awkward. Her eyes become glassy as her fathers’ damning words ripple through her soul. She swallows hard, looking at her sisters.

“Well, beloved sisters, you got your wish,” Lucy gurgles, clearing her throat. “Dad went to his grave hating my guts and accusing me of being a thief. Hope you all throw a party to that.”

Lucy straightens her back, exiting the room. Even through the trouble, Lana’s soft spot boils over.

“Wait, Lucy..” Lana whines, going after her sister.

“Don’t, Lana,” Lena said, placing her hand on Lana’s lap to stop her from leaving. “Don’t fall for it. She is not remorseful. She’s just upset that dad told her the cold-hard truth.”

The front door slams. Lucy’s car is heard screeching away.

The reading continues.

Finally, Lena.

“Lena, my princess. My diva. Mom’s nail-buddy. If I could, I would’ve bought you every lipstick, eyeshadow, nail polish, dress, and heels in the world, I would’ve. I’m sorry I didn’t work long enough to buy you all of those things.”

Lena giggles, placing her acrylics by her upper lip.

“Until the day I die, I will never forget the smell ‘Aquafina Dream’ perfume you wore from the time you were 12 up until you blossomed into a woman. Remember, I let you off the hook because you stole it from your mother? From then, I knew you were going to drive some man insane,” Adams reads, smiling at the humor. “My glamour child. Always bought me the best skin care, the best dishes, spent more money than I was comfortable with to take me out to restaurants that cost a fortune. Though you love to spend, I hope you teach my granddaughters that money is not everything. I want the beach house to be saved as a generational family house for the years to come. Create lifetime memories here. I’ve donated all of my savings to the National Cancer Society, but left $20,000 behind that I want…”

Lawyer Adams stops reading. The girls are on edge. He squints his eyes at the paper for clarity.

“Well?” Leah says, eyes bulged in desperation. “Who’s the beneficiary?”

After dramatic silence, Adams utters the words that has him speechless.

“…I want my lawyer, Kurt J. Adams, to have. I thank him for taking care of me, my wife, and my girls from every legal problem that came with my business. Thank you so much Adams, as you will always be apart of the Daniels’ family. – Will.”

“What?” All three girls spat simultaneously.

The lawyer’s hands tremble as he places Will’s little black book back onto the table.

“I can’t believe it...” Adams whispers in disbelief.

“No way! Let me see that!”

Leah snatches the book, glancing at the page. All three girls look over the writing.

“There’s no way that’s true,” Lana states, shaking her head. “Why would dad not leave us a dime?”

“It’s real, girls.” Lena sighs, pointing her acrylic nail at the bottom of the page. “Look...”

Papa’s signature. A large and wide “W” followed by a small “I” and two dramatically looped L’s. Lana and Leah sit in shock. In a fit of rage, Lena hurls the book across the room.

“Lena, calm down!” Lana pleads, opening her hands to her sister.

“Papa money for his own lawyer but didn’t bother to leave his own daughters a dime! His daughters!” Lena yells, pointing at Adams. “How are you guys not angry about this?”

“What did Papa just tell you in his will? What did he tell all of us? Money is not the most important thing in this family!” Leah yells back, softly grabbing Leah’s shoulders. “Does money hold that much value to you?”

Lena is still visibly upset. However, Leah calms her sisters as she always does.

“I promise ladies, whatever you ladies want, I swear, you can have,” Lawyer Adams says, keeping his hands up. “I didn’t know-“

“It’s okay, Adams. It’s Papa’s wishes,” Leah interrupts, smiling at him. “We’re fine with The Beach House and Papa’s possessions.”

9:00PM.

Lawyer Adams sits in his library, drinking his small scotch of whiskey as he sits in the sound of silence. His lack of activity speaks volumes. Something is eating away at his soul. His peaceful serenity is disturbed by the sound of his iPhone ringing. He looks down at the phone, banging his glass cup down.

“I hope you’re happy,” Adams states, shaking his head.

“I am, thanks for asking.” Lucy responds. “How much did he leave?”

“20,000.”

“$20,000?”

Lucy squeals silently, kicking her feet in excitement. She sinks into her motel room pillows, playing with her rugged hair.

“You like my acting when I heard dad’s will? I told you I used to attend drama classes before I dropped out.”

“How do you live with yourself?” Adams asks her.

“Please, I’ve been forging dad’s signature since 8th grade. Got his handwriting down to a tee.”

“You don’t feel guilty about what you’ve done? Taking your fathers’ book? Rewriting-”

“How do you live with yourself?” Lucy interrupts, turning the buck on Adams. “Knowing your closest client went to the grave not knowing you were having sex with his precious daughter?”

“I haven’t seen you in years,” Lawyer Adams growls lowly.

“Oh, so your wife would be fine with me telling her as long as it wasn’t recent?”

Adams is quiet. He has no rebuttal.

“I want that check cashed tomorrow and in my account before 5:00 tomorrow. Not 5:01, not 5:15.”

Adams hangs up in frustration, downing the rest of his whiskey. Lucy places her phone on her pillow, rolling back over. She laughs menacingly to herself, similar a villain in a superhero movie. Evil. No disregard.

There is no end, to that manipulating Lucy.

Thanks for the money, Papa.” She murmurs, pointing at the sky.

- Sierra Ellison

fiction
3

About the Creator

Sierra Ginae.

💜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.