Criminal logo

Well!” said Richard Carstone. ‟ ‟That’s over! And where do we go next, Miss Summerson?”

Well!” said Richard Carstone. ‟ ‟That’s over! And where do we go next, Miss Summerson?”

By YouTHPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

‟Don’t you know?” I said.

‟Not in the least,” said he.

‟And don’t you know, my love?” I asked Ada.

No!” said she. Don’t you?” ‟ ‟

‟Not at all!” said I.

We looked at one another, half laughing at our being like the children

in the wood, when a curious little old woman in a squeezed bonnet and

carrying a reticule came curtsying and smiling up to us with an air of

great ceremony.

Oh!” said she. The wards in Jarndyce! Ve-ry happy, I am sure, to ‟ ‟

have the honour! It is a good omen for youth, and hope, and beauty

when they find themselves in this place, and don’t know what’s to come

of it.”

‟Mad!” whispered Richard, not thinking she could hear him.

‟Right! Mad, young gentleman,” she returned so quickly that he was

quite abashed. I was a ward myself. I was not mad at that time,” ‟

curtsying low and smiling between every little sentence. I had youth ‟

and hope. I believe, beauty. It matters very little now. Neither of the

three served or saved me. I have the honour to attend court regularly.

With my documents. I expect a judgment. Shortly. On the Day of

Judgment. I have discovered that the sixth seal mentioned in the

Revelations is the Great Seal. It has been open a long time! Pray accept

my blessing.”

As Ada was a little frightened, I said, to humour the poor old lady,

that we were much obliged to her.

Ye-es!” she said mincingly. I imagine so. And here is Conversation ‟ ‟

Kenge. With his documents! How does your honourable worship do?”

‟Quite well, quite well! Now don’t be troublesome, that’s a good soul!”

said Mr. Kenge, leading the way back.‟Don’t you know?” I said.

‟Not in the least,” said he.

‟And don’t you know, my love?” I asked Ada.

No!” said she. Don’t you?” ‟ ‟

‟Not at all!” said I.

We looked at one another, half laughing at our being like the children

in the wood, when a curious little old woman in a squeezed bonnet and

carrying a reticule came curtsying and smiling up to us with an air of

great ceremony.

Oh!” said she. The wards in Jarndyce! Ve-ry happy, I am sure, to ‟ ‟

have the honour! It is a good omen for youth, and hope, and beauty

when they find themselves in this place, and don’t know what’s to come

of it.”

‟Mad!” whispered Richard, not thinking she could hear him.

‟Right! Mad, young gentleman,” she returned so quickly that he was

quite abashed. I was a ward myself. I was not mad at that time,” ‟

curtsying low and smiling between every little sentence. I had youth ‟

and hope. I believe, beauty. It matters very little now. Neither of the

three served or saved me. I have the honour to attend court regularly.

With my documents. I expect a judgment. Shortly. On the Day of

Judgment. I have discovered that the sixth seal mentioned in the

Revelations is the Great Seal. It has been open a long time! Pray accept

my blessing.”

As Ada was a little frightened, I said, to humour the poor old lady,

that we were much obliged to her.

Ye-es!” she said mincingly. I imagine so. And here is Conversation ‟ ‟

Kenge. With his documents! How does your honourable worship do?”

‟Quite well, quite well! Now don’t be troublesome, that’s a good soul!”

said Mr. Kenge, leading the way back.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

YouTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

YouTH is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.