Criminal logo

Voicemail

Betrayal

By Makeba K DatéPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Voicemail
Photo by Aimee Vogelsang on Unsplash

'Hello Sarah, it's Paddy, the locksmith. Sorry I will have to go out of town today and will not be able to drop your spear keys today. You can always pick them up from the office anytime this week'.

Beep!

'Sarah, are you there? It's me Crystal. I know you are upset but please call me. What George and Paula did was despicable but don't hid yourself away from it. You are not in the wrong, they are. You have to face them. Please call me'.

Beep!

'Sarah, where the hell are you? This is just like you to get upset over a man. The way you behaved tonight was..well you know how it was. I can't believe you will leave your best friend engagement party like that... Sarah, this is your mother, I know you are there, pick up the dam phone. OK fine (deep sigh) just, just call me we have to talk about your bastard father'. (slam)

Beep!

'Sarah, are you there? It's me George. Look, the thing between me and Paula was nothing. It's you that I love. So please call me, I love you'.

Beep!

'Sarah its Dad. I heard from your mother about what happened at the engagement party. Look sweetheart, he is not worth it so please call me'.

Beep!

'Hello Sarah, it's Janet your psychiatrist. I am calling to say that due to a family emergency I will not be able to make our appointment tomorrow. I will be back t work next week Monday. You can always book a new appointment for that day. I know when we last spoke things were very heavy for you. If you need to speak to someone before Monday you can always book an appointment with Dr Moore. I know you will be comfortable with her because you have spoken to her in the pass. If not, I will call you next week'.

Beep!

'Sarah, it's Paula. George told me that you are not speaking to him. Look Sarah, George and I are not having an affair. What happened at the engagement party was a drunken mistaken. Please call him or give me a call I will explain everything. It was just a mistake I swear'.

Beep!

'Sarah, its Mom. Sorry I was hard on you. Darling, I love you, please call me'.

Beep!

'Hello Sarah? Are you there? It's Crystal. I am getting worried about you. Look darling, I am not angry about what happened at my engagement party. We have been best friends since kindergarten. We have been in and out of bad situation and we will get through this one as well. Dals, don't disappear like you did the last time. I love you, we all love you. I am getting really worried. Don't go through this on your own. Please, please call call me'.

Beep!

'It's Crystal again, I was thinking that to get your mind off what happened , we can go and have a girl's night out like we used to. Please call me'.

Beep!

'Hello Sarah? Are you there? I told you I am sorry. I know that Paula is your friend and I am not saying what I did was right with any woman. I love you. I promise you this is the last time that this world happen, there will be no other women, I promise you. Sarah pick up the phone....that's it I am coming over to your flat'.

Beep!

'Sarah sweetie, where are you? I am getting worried, I called all your friends and they said you haven't call any of them. Sweetie, please call me. It's Dad'.

Beep!

'Sarah,I don't mean to be a bitch but get over that bastard and call your friends. Crystal is going out of her mind. I was speaking to her yesterday and she mentioned that things were so hectic at the engagement party that they just notice some of the presents went missing. She did not realise until yesterday and she is now going through all of them. Can you believe it? who will steal someone's engagement presets? Anyway, you are her oldest friend, give her a call and get over that bastard. It's Sal by the way'.

Beep!

'Sarah it's Crystal. Where are you? I am in front your door. I have been knocking for a while now and no answer. I can't get in because I have your old keys. Are you in there? please open the door'.

Beep!

'Sarah, it's Crystal again. I don't know if you are in there or not but I have waited for a hour and you have not come out. I have to leave now, but darling please call me. Don't do this again'.

Beep!

'Hello Sarah, It's John, Crystal's finance. Look she is very worried about you. She have not seen or spoken to you for nearly a week now. Please give her a call or text, or something...just let her know you are alright'.

Beep!

'Sarah, it's Sal. I spoke with George...well I did not have a choice he cornered me at work. He said he went to your place a few days ago and spoke with you and you told him that you are going away for a few days to get over all of this. You know you really should have spoken to us first, we are you friends after all. Is this why you are not answering our calls? Anyway I have told Crystal and she is a little relieved. The thing is one of the present that was stolen was this set of high class chef knives and she was thinking... well you know what she was thinking. She said said she is going to give George a piece of her mind tomorrow and find out where you went. You don't have to call the rest us, but give Crystal a call. She is a good friend and loves you'.

Beep!

'Hello Sarah, It's Crystal. George has been telling everyone that he spoke with you a few days ago and that you said you are going away for a few days to sort your head out. I am still worried though. Sal said he was not at work for the last few days. Please give me a call or text me to let me know that you are OK'.

Beep!

Hello Sarah, it's June, flat 6, across from yours. I tried knocking a few times but no answer. I don't mean to complaint but there has been a strong smell coming from your place for the last few days. Can you please sort it out, I really don't want to report this to Management but even other people in the building is now complaining as well'.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Makeba K Daté

I like to contemplate people, things and situation. I contemplate that I must be a writer so I wrote down my contemplation and share them with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.