Criminal logo

Unimpeachable

For every good plan, there is a better one.

By Mark GagnonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Unimpeachable
Photo by Conny Schneider on Unsplash

Unimpeachable

The prosecution spent hours building its case based on the information their one and only eyewitness had provided. She had been there since the scam’s inception, watching as her employer and his associates concocted a system designed to bilk billions of dollars from gullible investors. The witness was in the room when the men launched their scheme and waited for the money to come rolling in. She was even instructed to deliver sealed packages to various locations on her way home from work. The witness was a willing participant in delivering the packages but had no idea what was in them.

The prosecutor called his star witness to the stand. She was sworn in and prepared herself for questioning. “Please state your full name for the court,” the district attorney instructed.

“My name is Jacqueline Jonas,” replied the attractive woman with a strong Haitian accent.

“Ms. Jonas, what is your occupation?”

“I clean the whole house, cook, and run errands for Mr. Brown. He call me his pretty do it all girl. I know he means that as a compliment, so I don’t mind.”

“So, Ms. Jonas, are you ever present when Mr. Brown has people over to his house for meetings?”

“Please call me Jackie, everyone does. Yes, I’m always there, serving drinks or food or cleaning.”

“And Ms., I mean Jackie, can you tell me what Mr. Brown and his guests discuss at these meetings?”

“Yes, sir, I can. The men talk about making loads of money from the suckers that buy into their plan. They say all the money will be tax-free because they only take cash or Bitcoin. It make me think some people will lose all their money to Mr. Brown. That’s why I contact you.”

“I see. What can you tell me about the packages Mr. Brown had you deliver?”

“The boxes were shoebox size and wrapped in brown paper. I take them to different Mailbox Stores to be mailed to a bank in Georgetown, Cayman Islands. It’s nice there, better than my home in Hatti. The boxes were heavier than if shoes were inside.”

“Thank you, Jackie! Your honor, I have no further questions for this witness.”

The judge straightened in his chair and announced a 1-hour break for lunch. As everyone filed out of the courtroom, the defense attorney approached the D.A. “My client would like to discuss a plea deal.”

The involved parties met in a small room next to the courtroom.

The D.A. was the first to speak. “Mr. Brown, let me start by saying the only deal the state will entertain has to include the names of all your associates and every dime of the money turned into the government.”

“That’s where the problem lies,” replied Brown. “I will willingly give you the names of my partners and a list of people that we swindled if it means I can stay out of jail. What I can’t give you is the money, because I don’t have it. I’m sure you must have my account numbers in the Caymans. I will give you my password and all the documentation needed to access them. What you will find is no more than $100 in each one. Someone stole it all!”

The D.A. was skeptical but agreed to a continuance pending an investigation of Brown’s offshore accounts. The forensic accountants performed an extensive investigation and discovered the only deposits made were those required to open the accounts. The money had truly disappeared. The D.A. felt Brown was once again trying to pull another con and convinced the jury to convict him and his associates. The money was never located.

Several weeks after the trial, Jacqueline Bodden sat at a restaurant table in Georgetown, with her father overlooking the sea. They sipped on Mojitos as the ocean breeze gently cooled them. “I think it’s time for you to retire from the bank, papa. We certainly have enough money now.”

“Maybe you’re right Jackie, but there is so much more money out there to be made. Let me tell you about my latest scam.”

fiction
1

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.