Criminal logo

Ugh! Millennials!

Bitcoin Origin Story

By Blue DymondPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
2
Ugh! Millennials!
Photo by 𝓴𝓘𝓡𝓚 𝕝𝔸𝕀 on Unsplash

"This cant be right Ivan. Are you sure we're in the right place? "

He looked down in his black leather notebook and then up at the sign welcoming us to the college campus. Pushing his glasses back on his nose he looked over at me in confusion. A look I didn't see from him often.

"If your calculations are geographically correct and runs in line with what we determined-"

"Okay, okay without all the geek talk" I interrupted rolling my eyes. I swear the guy didn’t know how to just say a simple sentence without all the tech talk. For the life of me I couldn't understand why they felt I needed him as a partner anyways. For 4 years I'd been handling the case myself and then last year this kid showed up to "help" me along. A freaking millennial at that!

His cheeks turned a crimson red before he pushed his glasses up again.

"Uh. Um. Well, yes this is the correct address."

I smiled and pulled into the parking lot closest to the dorms. We were closer than we had ever been to finding the guy behind the creation of the biggest mystery in history, Bitcoin.

My mouth salivated thinking of what it would mean for my career. Everybody would know me as the guy who busted Satoshi.

"Find him"

"Uh. Um. Here? I would need a processor with a boost of at least-"

"Ivan" I growled glaring at him annoyed. "You millennials. Always want a handout. Figure it out. Back in my time I would've had the information before my partner even asked for it" I snapped in irritation.

His face scrunched up in anger before he relaxed his features and smirked. I squinted my eyes at him appalled by his boldness. Usually I talk, he turns red and listens, and we move on, but for the last week it was almost as if he was goading me.

"I can try Jo" he whispered opening his laptop.

I stared at him for a second trying to gauge what his response meant before letting it go. Getting out of the car I walked a bit trying to stretch my legs and take a look around. Driving for four hours wasn't on my list of things to do when I woke up this morning and headed into the precinct.

"It seems like we're supposed to be in the Edwards hall" Ivan explained jumping out of the car. Naturally I allowed him to lead the way since he was supposed to be the brains behind our operation. The kid couldn't tell his heads apart if you asked me. Ugh! millennials.

When we got to the Edwards dorm there were college kids all around. Some hanging in a common area, playing table hockey, video games, and others were sitting at computers typing away on the keyboards. I looked around annoyed at the leisure of it all. Parents were paying to send their kids to play around all day now? What happened to going to college for an education. To the stress of pulling all nighters because the workload was tough. Ugh millennials!

Ivan walked up to the dorm administrator who was sitting behind a desk in the corner of the room lazily moving his mouse over the mouse pad. The kid didn’t look much older than the kids he was surrounded by.

When we approached, he looked up uninterested as I flipped my badge up so that he could see.

“What do you want this time? There haven’t been any parties since spring break and if this is still about Landy’s accusation then-”

“Is there somewhere we can speak privately?” Ivan asked stepping up next to me. I looked over at him annoyed. Usually, I did all the talking and he just followed along. He was only recruited on the case because he was the top tech guy on the force that could break a code without breaking a sweat. Didn’t seem so top notch to me since he couldn’t break the Bitcoin case but now in days, they hire kids to do anything.

“We believe you’re connected with the creation of a cryptocurrency known as Bitcoin” Ivan continued.

" Connection with Bitcoin?" He asked barely holding his laughter in.

"Listen let’s just say I did. Why in the world would I be working at a college campus dealing with horny kids. Aren’t they at like 50k right now? Does it look like I could afford Bitcoin?"

I smacked my lips annoyed at how logical he sounded. I mean, it makes absolutely no sense for the creator to work there. Even if it were just a coverup job I’m sure it wouldn’t be there of all places. Who wants to be around a whole bunch of entitled kids all day?

“ Look. I cant help you I don’t even know anything about this coin- Oh! Sharon, Allen, Thomas where is Oscar and Sarah? I’ve been waiting for you guys all day. Practice is cancelled today there’s a flu going around-"

He trailed off as they all looked like they would be sick at any moment. I squinted my eyes watching as they all looked uncomfortably at each other before looking back at Ivan and I.

" Well, you all look like you've caught it. Why don’t you go back to your rooms." Allen spoke standing from behind his desk. He sprayed Lysol in the air as if it would clear any illness that strolled in along with them.

I turned to Ivan as I realized that he was standing directly behind me. His face was pinched and focused almost as if he was putting something together.

“Something you need to say kid?”

“uh. No-, no sir. I just think this is a dead end. He’s not our guy”

“I think for once in your life you’re right, but those kids do know something. Maybe their old man is behind it and that’s why they got uncomfortable the way they did. This is an expensive school maybe that’s how they’re getting tuition paid.”

I continued stating my thoughts aloud trying to come to a clear conclusion of why we ended up on this campus after all these years of running the case.

“Sir, maybe they really are just sick and-”

Before he could finish, I walked off and called the station asking for permission to get a warrant on all of the kids and the financial records of their parents. I had a gut feeling and it had never steered me wrong before. The chief outright denied me saying it was too far fetched and that the parents would definitely sue. These millennial kids get away with anything when their parents have money. Ugh!

Detective Presley lifted his eyebrow in irritation. “look we get it you hate the younger generation now can you get to the part that explains how we have 7 dead one being one of our very own”

I grunted annoyed at his pushiness. He obviously didn’t know how to question. He was barely out of diapers and was put in charge of the case. I looked around at the dark smelly room where I’d questioned my own suspects for over 20 years, and now, here I was on the other side answering the questions of Detective’s Presley and Riley.

“It says here, you and Ivan went to look for the kids after the warrant was denied”

I smacked my hand on the table angrily.

“I told you a hundred times the kid went rogue. After I turned around from talking to the chief he was gone. I went back to the car to see if he was there and there wasn’t a trace left of him. All of his tech was gone. I walked the campus for 20 minutes before the alarms started blaring and the kids started screaming.

When I got back to the Edwards building it was already ablaze. I got as many students as I could out of there. I had no idea he would go and see those kids. He usually let me run point the kid didn’t know his ass from his dick”

The detectives stared at me as they placed the pictures on the table. Each of one of the kids who walked into that lounge hours earlier with their names on top. When they put Ivan’s picture at the end, I was shocked to see that same smirk of confidence looking back at me. None of them made it out of the building. There was video of them all going in and nothing of them going out. With how long it took that fire to blaze, even if there was a body, we wouldn’t have been able to ID them at all.

Then, like a light bulb going off, everything clicked into place.

“Damn Millennials” I barked slamming my hands on the table once again.

The detectives looked at each other and then back at me suspiciously. I rolled my eyes and pulled the pictures closer to me.

“Stop accusing me and look at what’s right in your face! Sharon, Allen, Thomas, Oscar, Sarah, and freaking Ivan. Ones missing.”

I leaped over the table grabbing the file sitting in from of Detective Riley and dumping all of the documents on the table. The detectives stood ready to restrain me as I moved the papers around furiously.

“Damn Millennials” I kept mumbling as I worked hard to keep the paperwork up with how fast my mind was piecing everything together.

“what was the rich guy’s name? The one that’s supposed to be the richest guy in the world. We had a lead on him back in 2011” I asked standing abruptly.

“The Space Z guy? Harrison?” The detective answered looking at me quizzically.

His young mind would catch up soon, I thought as I rummaged through the paperwork until I landed on his picture. Putting it in its place I sat back down in shock.

“The kids a damn genius” I whispered shaking my head. “Ivan freakin’ Otomakan.”

The detectives came around the table looking at what I’d pieced together.

“Otomakan?” Detective Riley stated aloud. “Nakamoto spelled backwards” Detective Presley realized.

I watched as they pieced it all together. As their faces went from curiosity, to shock, to anger.

“Hell, that means they were barely teens when they invented this-”

We all jumped up running out of the room and to our computers. For hours we poured through our records and the schools. However, the kids had already been wiped from the systems. Ivan wasn’t even coming up in our database and according to the colleges database none of the kids had ever attended. They’d wiped out their whole existence.

Detective Riley walked over with a manilla folder and an angry smirk on his face. Handing the file over with Ivan Otomakan written in on the tab, Riley sat down watching as I read the only thing left connecting us to him.

“When I entered the force the plan was to infiltrate and then delete any connections to the others before turning myself in. We were tired of running. Tired of looking over our shoulder. Initially we were just kids who wanted to create a currency that was specifically used in the gaming world. We wanted the freedom of purchasing coins and starter packs without needing a job or our parents. It became so much more. Its now to big to shut down.

Ivan

I knew there was no way they were dead. I also knew there was no way that I would be able to prove it without looking like a lunatic. So for the first time in my career, I let them go. Sitting at my desk I looked at the pictures of the kids again.

“Sharon, Allen, Thomas, Oscar, Sarah, Harrison, and Ivan are S-A-T-O-S-H-I. They created Bitcoin.” I whispered again in disbelief.

“Damn millennials. They’re freaking geniuses!” I added with a mix of astonishment and anger.

fiction
2

About the Creator

Blue Dymond

A little bit of everything from Psyche, to fiction, to poems. Come take a look around, we're all friends here!

Instagram: @thatgirlbluedymond

Facebook: Blue Dymond

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.