Criminal logo

Till My Heart Was Stolen || Chapter 3

Updates Every Friday

By Sabal CloonanPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like

Thankfully the walk to Embry’s apartment wasn’t too bad even though it was still raining. By the time she reached the front door to the building, she was soaking wet.

“Why does this always happen to me?” she asked herself out loud rolling her eyes.

“You’re lucky I guess,” a familiar man’s voice said.

She looked up to see the dark haired man who hailed her cab. He handed her a handkerchief, his charming smile gave her chills.

“Thanks,” she said, slowly taking it and dabbing her face. “This is the second time we’ve met. I never got to properly thank you for hailing my cab.”

“I guess fate wanted us to meet again,” he said with his charming smile, making his blue eyes dance.

She locked eyes with him a moment before breaking the gaze with a small chuckle and a slight shake of her head. “I don’t believe in fate.”

“Is that so? Well, I do,” was all he said, as he held open the door for her. “Ladies first.”

“Are you expecting me to invite you into my room?” she jumped to conclusion.

He laughed. “I mean if you’re offering… But I’m actually visiting a friend of mine.”

Embry’s face flushed with heat as she walked past him and stepped inside the small hallway. A set of stairs led up to the second floor.

“Sorry,” she said, quickly walking up the stairs.

She knew he was just a few steps behind her, so she dared not look. Embry fumbled for her keys in her bag, she could feel his blue eyes looking at her.

“I don’t think I got your name,” he asked, standing right behind her.

“I’m… Embry,” she hesitated.

With the gang on the loose, she wasn’t sure who should trust. As handsome and charming as this stranger was, she really didn’t want to get romantically involved with anyone here.

“I’m Nicolo,” he smiled, holding a set of keys up to her face. “I think this is yours.”

Embry stopped fumbling in her bag and glanced at the keys and into the face of the person who held them. With a shy and awkward smile, she grabbed them and quickly unlocked her door.

“Thanks again,” she said, shutting the door before he could say anything else.

She could handle criminals and ruffians but when it came to charming men, her mind spaced out. Embry face palmed and leaned on the door with a sigh of relief.

“It’s just a guy, Clark,” she said to herself. “I wonder who he's visiting though…”

Footsteps could be heard down the hall and faint voices carried after a knock sounded on a door.

“I’ve told you, Nicolo,” an old man’s voice said. “I’ll have your money that I borrowed from you tomorrow. I promise.”

“I’m counting on you, Gary,” Nicolo said. “You know I’m a very patient and understanding person. But it’s my father who’ll visit you next time. I don’t want to see you get hurt.”

Embry threw her hand to her mouth to muffle the gasp that had already escaped her lips. The only thing that she could think about was the Generation Syndicate. Did a possible member fall into her hands? She listened closely as the footsteps came in her direction. Embry held her breath and stood back and watched as a shadow moved at the bottom of the door.

A few seconds elapsed and the footsteps sounded on the stairs and disappeared. Embry let out the breath she was holding and opened the door. The hallway was empty but her curiosity wasn’t as she walked to the end of the hall and knocked on the door.

An old man answered, squinting to get a better look as to who was at his door this time. Embry noticed his body relax.

“Hello, there young lady,” he said kindly. “What can I do for you?”

“I was just checking on you,” Embry said, returning his smile. “I just moved here and I happened to overhear your conversation.”

The man’s eyes looked passed her nervously but then he relaxed. “Yes, that was a friend of mine. I had borrowed money from him and his family and he was checking in.”

“You’re not in any danger?” Embry bluntly asked. “Because if you are, I can help.”

“Oh no, dear,” he said quickly. “Everything is fine and dandy! It’s nap time. Thank you for the visit.”

Before she could get another word out, he closed the door and the sound of a lock was heard and followed by fading footsteps.

“Interesting,” she said, walking back to her room and writing in her notepad.

She had a feeling that Nicolo was connected to the gang in some way and the only way she would be able to dig deeper was to spend time with him. Embry chewed on the end of the pen like she always did when she was thinking. How could she spend time with him by only knowing his first name and not knowing where he would be?

“Files…” she whispered as she thought of the police department. “Or maybe Lorenzo knows.”

She dug through her bag and found Lorenzo’s card that he had given her after dropping her off at the police station. She dialed the number on the card and a cheerful voice filled her ears.

“Lorenzo here,” he said.

“Hi, Lorenzo, it’s Embry Clark. We met earlier today,” she said, hoping he’d remember her.

An Italian word escaped his lips and he laughed. “I didn’t think I would hear from you so soon Miss Detective! How are you?”

“I’m well and in need of information,” she got to the point. “Does the name Nicolo ring a bell?”

Silence fell then a sigh. “You were serious about this case weren’t you? I guess I can’t stop you. Nicolo Russo is the son of the ring leader. He’s a bit of a charmer, they say.”

“I’m aware… I’ve met him,” she said, recalling the cab hailing and seeing him again at her apartment building. “Have you met him before?”

“Yes, he was the one who hailed the cab for you,” Lorenzo said with a sigh.

“Well I just got here at my apartment and he was here visiting a so called friend. I overheard his conversation with an old man and evidently he owes Mr. Russo some money,” Embry explained.

“Nicolo was there? An old man owes him money? That doesn’t sound like a safe place for you to be Miss Detective!” Lorenzo said fearfully. “I think you should find a safer place. I think you’re in the wasp nest.”

Embry rubbed her chin. “Exactly where I want to be. How do I get in touch with Nicolo?”

“Why would you want to do that?!” Lorenzo said, as if he wanted to come through the phone.

“You know why,” she said. “Please, Lorenzo.”

He sighed. “I know a few places he hangs out. Sometimes I’m his cab driver… unfortunately.”

“I’m going to need that list of places, Lorenzo,” she said sternly, knowing he didn’t want to.

“We will have to meet for that… I don’t want to give that out over the phone. How would you like to come over for dinner and meet my wife and kids?”

A smile couldn’t help but creep up on her face from this kind invite. “I would love to. Text me the address and I’ll be there at six.”

Lorenzo chuckled and said he would before hanging up. Embry felt like she was getting somewhere. But a little bit of guilt pinched at her after finding out Lorenzo had a family. She didn’t want to risk putting them in danger so she knew she would have to cut ties with them if it meant protecting them.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.