Criminal logo

The Wrong Heist

$20k and a little black book

By Russell AlexanderPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
19

It was a lot of money. Like, bundles of it. Mainly fifties and hundreds, all neatly bound with paper wrappers, and I was pretty stunned.

I didn’t even hit him that hard, and he went down exactly like a brick floating in air. In other words, he hit the ground hard. I grabbed the bag as it fell to the dirty street and took off as fast as I could, not looking back to see if he was moving. When I was a safe distance away, I opened it up and I couldn’t believe my luck.

I guess it was nice to have that minute of happiness. Little did I know.

I dug through the bundles of bills and almost didn’t notice the little black book at the bottom. But notice it I did, and I pulled it out and opened it to see the neatly written lines:

Joe P. - $100

Jeff R. - $150

Peter Q - $50

Larry L - $200

It went on like that for a few pages. I get bored quickly, I can’t really concentrate on anything for too long. It’s always been like that. When I was in school, kids said I was stupid. At least, kids who weren’t that bright themselves said it. I may not have had much in the brains department, but I was big, strong, and I knew how to throw a punch.

Damn right I did.

Dad taught me that. He punched me enough times that I learned how to do it right, see it coming, and when I got strong enough, I blocked him and kicked his ass into the hospital.

But none of that mattered now. I counted up the bundles, and there was $20,000 all laid out like ducks in a row. I could pay off Paulie, get an eight ball, maybe some of that fancy scotch, and a nice lady for a couple of hours and still have enough to pay the back rent.

Who said losers never win?

Whoever they were, they were right. There’s no such thing as a free lunch, and even a milksop like the guy I hit had somebody waiting for him.

The next morning, word on the street said a runner for Big Mack had got taken, and there was a thousand bucks for anyone who fingered the idiot who did it. That idiot being me. Seeing as how I had thrown around about 10 large last night, somebody was going to mention it for a payoff. It’s not like I had anything keeping me in town, other than a crap room at Cockroach Central and a few winos I kept company with. I went to the bus depot and stuck my finger at random into the map, and then I bought a ticket.

One way.

And there I was, waiting for the 9:15 to come in so I could get to someplace that wasn’t here, when I saw him. He didn’t see me, and I meant to keep it that way. I pulled my John Deere cap down low and snuck to the bathroom, making sure he was looking the other way. Except he was pro, and I guess he knew I was watching him. Sure enough, two minutes after I was cowering in a stall he came through the door and said “I know you’re in here. Let’s not make this more trouble than it needs to be.”

What was I gonna do? He had me dead to rights. I came out of the stall shaking like I had the Saint Vitus dance. I told him I still had half the money, and I would give it all to him if he would just let me get on that bus.

No dice. He had a job to do, nothing personal, but I screwed up and he was there to make sure nobody else did the same thing. He told me I could just turn around and I’d never even feel it. Or, he could kick my ass and I would go out in a red mist of pain.

But like I said, I’m big enough, and I know how to throw a punch. And punch I did, after cowering in front of him, begging for mercy just to throw him off guard, and his head hit the sink exactly the right way - for me. It didn’t work out that well for him.

And I got on that bus. But you know something? I may be dumb, but I’m not stupid. Big Mack isn’t going to forget about this. I’m heading for some no name town in the middle of a no name county that never gets on the news, and I’ll use the rest of the money to rent some trailer park dump. Maybe I’ll get a job. Maybe I’ll settle down. Maybe I’ll become a regular guy. Maybe a pig will grow wings and fly over the moon.

But I’ll tell you this much. As soon as I get off this bus, I’m mailing that book to the DA so he can do whatever he wants. If Big Mack gets nailed, I’m in the clear.

If I live that long.

Challengesfiction
19

About the Creator

Russell Alexander

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.