Criminal logo

The Wife

A Story

By NeishPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

“Just stop, please!” Cheryl screamed while tears rolled down her face. “Let us go, dammit!” She was kicking her feet fiercely and her chestnut-red hair covered her face. It was energy wasted. The black-masked man just looked her direction and chuckled.

“Honey, just stop,” Eric rose his head to say.

“What do you mean stop?! We’re—“

“Shut the hell up, Cheryl! Do you really think yelling is going to make him let us go?! Put that fifty thousand in debt degree to use!”

Cheryl fell silent. There was nothing said for a few moments, all one could hear was heavy breathing from Eric and Cheryl and feel the animosity growing. Then suddenly, there was applause. Slow steady applause, followed by laughter from the masked man. “Are you going to let him talk to you like that forever?” His voice was smooth and deep; it was the first time Cheryl had heard him speak. She looked at him, but then broke her gaze and looked down in defeat. He glided across the room to the chair she was bound to and took her chin in his hand forcing her to look at him. “Quiet now, are we?” He smirked. Cheryl snatches her head away. “You know I’ve been watching you two for awhile now. You wouldn’t believe the things I know. For instance—"

“Stop! Just stop...” Cheryl finally pleads.

“What’s wrong, Cheryl? Does Eric not know the reason we’re here is because of you? The job you hired me for?”

“What?” Eric looks at Cheryl. His eyes begin to fill with tears from anger.

Cheryl’s eyes do the same and she mouths, ‘I’m sorry,’ and looks down.

“Why?” Eric asks. There’s silence for a few moments, but Eric doesn’t break his gaze from Cheryl.

“The man asked a question, Cheryl girl!” Cheryl jumps from the loudness in the masked-man’s voice. “Or would you prefer I tell him?” He cocks his head to side and smiles.

“No… I will.”

“Proceed, then,” the masked-man encourages happily.

“You were gone all the time—"

“I was gone? Working, Cheryl?! You wanted me killed because I was working?!”

“No, Eric! I found the damn account and I found the papers and from what I read—"

“Shut up. Don’t say another word to me,” Eric starts laughing. “Chris, untie me now. Please.”

“As you wish, Boss,” the masked-man says. Eric stands up and brushes himself off. Cheryl looks distraught and confused, with dried tears stained on her face.

“Wha-what’s going on?” Cheryl finally manages to ask.

“The gun, please,” Eric says. Chris grabs the pistol from the counter and hands it over to Eric.

“You see, my lovely wife, every move you make is always going to be five steps behind mine,” Eric cocks the gun and puts it up to her head. “It sucks that what could’ve been a great move will very well be your last.” Eric shrugs his shoulders in disappointment.

“Eric, wait!” Cheryl screams.

“I’m good, love, enjoy,” Eric smiles.

Bang. The sound of the gun rings.

-----------

“What do we do with her, boss?” Chris asks.

“Nothing; she’s a missing person’s report that I’ll file in a few days,” Eric says while wiping the gun.

“What exactly were the papers she was talking about?” Chris asks questionably.

Eric looks at Chris out of the side of his eye and continues to wipe the gun.

“You always did ask the right questions,” Eric cocks the gun.

“Huh?” Chris asks.

Bang. The sounds of the gun rings once more.

-------------

“Sir! Sir! Can you tell us how you’re feeling? Do you have all the answers you need?” The news reporters were everywhere.

“All I can say is, losing my wife and knowing the guy who did it took his own life after taking hers causes me nothing except pain. There are no words to express what I’m going through. Please, no more questions.”

fiction
1

About the Creator

Neish

Hi! I’m Aneisha. I'm the author of the blog--We'll Talk About It! It releases every Tuesday. You can also find some short stories and poems I used to write, while you're waiting for the next blog post. <3

Instagram: @aneishabrackens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.