Criminal logo

The Underbelly of the City: A Tale of Street Crime

Street crime.

By Arham ShahzadPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

The city was alive with the sounds of gunfire, sirens, and the wailing of mothers and children. It was a place where danger lurked around every corner, and anonymity was the only defense.

For someone like me, born and raised on the wrong side of the tracks, it was just another day. I had grown up in the shadow of the towering skyscrapers, surrounded by poverty and crime, and was used to the sound of gunfire and the sight of flashing police lights.

But as I grew older, I realized that the world I lived in was not one that I wanted to be a part of. I wanted out, I wanted to escape the endless cycle of poverty and crime that seemed to be my destiny.

And so, I did the only thing I knew how to do: I turned to crime.

It wasn’t something that happened overnight. It was a slow slide into the underworld, a gradual descent into the darkness that lurked beneath the city’s shiny veneer.

At first, it was just petty theft. I stole from corner stores, from tourists, from anyone who looked like they had something worth taking. It was easy money, and it gave me a thrill that I had never experienced before.

But soon, the thrill wore off, and I found myself looking for new avenues of crime

It was then that I met Tony.

Tony was a gang leader, the head of a group of young men who terrorized the city’s streets. He was dangerous, charismatic, and had an aura of danger that drew me in like a moth to a flame.

He offered me a place in his gang, and I accepted.

Things happened quickly after that. I found myself moving up the ranks, becoming more and more involved in the gang’s activities. We robbed stores, dealt drugs, and carried out acts of violence without a second thought.

I tried to tell myself that it was just the way of the world, that everyone had to make their own way in life. But the truth was, I knew that what we were doing was wrong.

But it was also addictive. The danger, the adrenaline rush, the sense of belonging to something greater than myself – it was all like a drug, and I couldn’t get enough.

And then, one night, everything changed.

We had been hired to carry out a hit on a rival gang leader. We had planned it carefully, scouted the area, and made sure that everything was in place.

But something went wrong. We were ambushed by the rival gang, and the firefight that ensued was like something out of a war movie.

Tony died in that fight, along with several of our other members. I was shot in the arm and left bleeding on the pavement.

And as I lay there, looking up at the smoggy sky and listening to the sound of sirens in the distance, I realized that I had made a mistake.

I had sold my soul to the devil in exchange for a taste of power and money.

And now, I was paying the price.

I spent several months in the hospital, recovering from the gunshot wound and trying to come to terms with what had happened.

It wasn’t easy. The hospital was located in the middle of the city’s poorest neighborhood, surrounded by crumbling buildings and a sense of despair that seemed to permeate everything.

But it was there that I met Father James.

Father James was a priest, a man who had dedicated his life to helping the city’s poorest and most vulnerable citizens. He was patient, kind, and had a sense of peace about him that was like a balm to my soul.

He visited me every day, bringing me books to read, praying with me, and listening to my story without judgement.

For the first time in my life, I felt like someone cared about me.

And that made all the difference.

It’s been three years since that fateful night. Three years since I left the gang and started a new life.

It hasn’t been easy. I still live in the same neighborhood, still struggle to make ends meet. But I’m no longer a criminal, no longer part of the city’s underbelly.

I’ve joined Father James’ ministry and spend my days working with the city's homeless and impoverished. It’s not glamorous work, but it’s work I’m proud of.

And every day, as I walk the streets of the city, I’m reminded of how far I’ve come. I see the young men and women who are still caught in the cycle of poverty and crime, and I know that I have a responsibility to help them see that there is another way.

The city may be full of danger and despair, but it’s also full of hope. Hope that things can get better, that people can change, and that there is always a chance for redemption.

And that, perhaps, is the greatest lesson I’ve learned from my time on the city’s streets. That no matter how dark things may seem, there is always a glimmer of light. A chance for something better.

mafiainvestigation
Like

About the Creator

Arham Shahzad

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.