Criminal logo

The Time I Raced A cop. "Didn't end well"

by Gareth M

By Gareth MugisaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

It was a good day, a really good day. You can never trust a good day, something always happens at the end to give it a bang, something like the 4th of July.

Early Wednesday morning, around 1:30 AM, I left my girl's place in Virginia, hit the 95 highway, destination home. I was in the best mood ever, I guess we all know why, driving my tuned silver 2.5L Volkswagen Golf, loud as hell, leaving pops and bangs every time I lifted my foot off the gas pedal, gear heads will know that sounds just like Heaven. I had my window down, so the cool breeze was just rushing into my car accompanied by the sweet tunes made by my race track-worthy exhaust pipe.

My 2.5 Volkswagen golf on the highway. (not the actual car)

As I made my way down the highway, battling sleep, having concerts in my car singing to different artists, and sipping my coffee, I noticed a car coming in fast, but it was really dark I couldn't see anything plus it had bright beams making it hard for me to even have a look through my rearview mirror. The car kept pushing me and pushing me coming close to my bumper, hence making me feel some type of way. I had the option to indicate to the right and just let them drive through, but before I even did that, they flashed their lights twice. Honestly, at that time of the morning street racers know what that means, to me that gave me the thought of 'oh, this boy tryna race huh'.

With my adrenaline already rising, I quickly held my gear stick, dragged it down, and to the right taking my car from "D" to the manual control section, mind you this was a tricked-out automatic, with a loud trumpet for an exhaust pipe. I slowly hit my brakes, looked in the rearview mirror with a grin on my face, shifted from the cruising gear "5" into the 3rd gear, and quickly accelerated forward, going from 50mph to over 100mph in a matter of seconds, leaving the "challenger" out of the picture.

You can imagine the smile on my face at that very moment, but 5 seconds into the alleged race, I took a look into my rearview mirror only to see the car closer than ever, riding at the same speed as I was. My adrenaline was all over the place, my heart beating so hard it could cause an earthquake. This didn't drive me to slow down, no, adrenaline is such a drug. This just told me that I wasn't doing enough, and I needed to gap this driver immediately. I stepped on the gas pedal so hard, it almost seemed like my life depended on it.

As soon as I dashed ahead of the car, my luck had come to an end. The lights came on, blue, red, and white rapidly changing positions, causing a flickering flash. My heart dropped so hard that I could hear every gulp of saliva I took in. The only sound I could hear was my heart drumming, it was just like Mc jagger hit the stage, and his drummer immediately did his drum solo.

I was gone, this was it. All I could see was this ending with me in handcuffs, and a tow truck coming for my baby. For about a minute, the police lady stayed in her car probably looking up my plate number, but to me, this minute seemed like 2 whole days, I was numb. "You're going a little bit too fast there buddy, don't you think", she asked, everything I knew about speech went out of the window at that moment, my mind was so scrambled that nothing I said made sense. I also felt so embarrassed, challenging a cop like that, really dumb don't you think.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Gareth Mugisa

.I'm a 😅mess

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.