Criminal logo

The Shadow Man

A 20’s themed story

By Pixie BeanPublished 3 years ago 10 min read

It was a night like any other, the cool air brought a red hue to my cheeks as the winter air drew near. I wore my favourite brown coat and red scarf as I headed to work unable to stop the shivering from taking over my body. I hated the cold; I could see my work place come in to view and quickened my pace in anticipation of the warmth. The entrance was below the street, as shady as one could get I believe. I looked over my shoulder with a feeling of dread deep in my stomach that I could not shake no matter how many times I had done it.

I quickly walked down the stairs and gave the big metal door a hard knock. A moment later a panel slid open to reveal a dark pair of eyes glaring out from a deep furrowed brow, “password” the mans gruff voice croaked “Pineapple swingers” I replied in a hush tone as I lent in toward the door. The panel slammed shut making me jump as it did every time, a moment later the door creaked open. I walked in cautiously checking my trail once more, there was no being too cautious in times like these. The establishment I worked at was a risky choice on my part but no one else was hiring dancers like me I had to take the risk I knew I would be a star one day I just needed the opportunity to get there. As I entered the establishment the smell of tobacco and alcohol filled my nose and made it scrunch. The warmth hugged my body finally making still my shivering limbs. I walked past the patrons drinking and talking loudly at the tables, this was one of the few places you could still get alcohol. I headed straight for the back the patrons were not of a reputable breed and I was in no mood for their drunken harassment. I kept my gaze down as I made my way until I reached the door by the stage. I heard a few whistles and slurred comments as I passed. I sighed to myself had I made a mistake is this really where I was going to make it big. I shook my head quickly I can not allow those thoughts to consume me especially not now. I joined the other ladies in the back and sat down to do my make up and hair.

“Ruth Darling.. my little star my angel, are you ready?” Johnny called out with a voice filled with glee. The other girls all glared at me as he did so jealous of the attention or simply knowing they are not as talented as I. I fiddled with my headband and pulled on my elbow length gloves. Time to do the one thing I love most, preform. I strolled on to the stage as though I had lived there my whole life. In front of the microphone, beloved by the crowd I need this. The band started to play the song ain’t she sweet and I naturally began to sing and dance my part as lead as three women which were close friends sung back up vocals. As I sung my tune my eyes drifted to the back corner where he often sat. The shadow man, a man drenched in shadow and mystery. He is always here he never speaks to anyone he simply watches as the ember of his smoke creates a dull glow on his lips. He gives off a dangerous vibe, the logical part of my mind says stay away you know he’s bad news but I can’t help being intrigued by his mystery. Who is he? What does he do? Why does he simply sit there and draw in his little black book, there are so many questions that surround him and all of them just make him all the more… interesting. I finished up my shift late that night as per usual.

It was 2 AM when I started packing my things, exiting past all the drunkards is always the hard part, I wish we had a back door for the staff. I wrapped up my scarf grabbed my bag and hurried to the door with my eyes down. I heard every step echo through me as the whistlers and cat calls came from all over. I hate this part of the job. I almost reached the exit when a large hand took hold of my arm with a stern unrelenting grip. No no I can’t deal with this. The hand pulled me back as a large man stood before me. He wore a fancy expensive suit and had his dark hair slicked back, his moustache was trimmed and neat. This man had a lot of money and by the look of his companions I would assume he did not get it with an honest job. He sat back in his chair still holding my arm as he bellowed “how about a private show for me n my boys Darl?” He laughed menacingly as he pulled me in closer. Oh no this is no good this is exactly what I was trying to avoid. I steeled my nerves as I looked up at the man. I can’t afford to loose my job so I mustn’t cause a scene. “I’m sorry but my shift is over so I really must…” Before I could finish my sentence one of his lackies chimed in “didn’t you hear the boss he wants a private show and the boss gets what the boss wants” He was a weedy little man, he wore an unkept button down shirt with a vest strewn over top and a bowler hat tipped to the side of his head. Another man sat on the other side of the table glaring at me from a deeply furrowed brow, he was the exact opposite of the first with a well kept suit a blue tie and a fedora perched exactly straight on his large head. He said nothing but his intense stare sent shivers down my spine. “Waddya say Kitten? Give us a show?” The weedy man called out with a mischievous look on his face. I cringed at thought of what he meant by that proposition. He pulled me in a little more, I was now so close I could smell the mixture of whisky, tobacco and fancy cologne. I need to get out of this situation fast. “I really need to leave now sir… but I can get one of the other girls to come entertain you” I tried to say with as much confidence as possible, but I know it didn’t sell my voice was beginning to shake. “No need I want you kitten, you’ll do” The boss said with malicious grin.

I was frantically trying to think of how to escape when another man turned up and promptly dropped a large bag on the table. He wore all black and had a bandanna draped around his neck. He was of medium build and had scruffy brown hair. “We successfully robbed the bank this morning and I even disposed of the two accomplices so no need to split the earnings” He announced triumphantly. Robbed? Disposed of? I could not believe what I had just heard, a cold sweat dripped down my back as my body began to shake. “No need to be so blunt your scaring my date” The boss said grinning ear to ear. No no I have to go I have to get away bout there is no way they will let me leave after what I just heard. My breath caught in the back o my throat I felt all the warmth leave my body, the words of the men around me faded into indistinct murmurs. Am I really going to die I never got to achieve my dreams it can’t end like this. I took in a deep breath NO I had to try I can’t give up not now. With all my strength I yanked my arm from his grip and turned for the door. Run! I need to run as fast as I can, my heart pounded and my skin felt cold as I rushed towards the door. Surely I would not be able to come back after this but I can’t think about that now. I ran as fast as I could in heels, I can do it I told myself before a large pair of hands pulled away any chance of escape. My mind went blank as I felt my body yanked backwards with great force. The large silent man held me against his chest restricting my movement. “Help!?” I called out amongst the busy patrons. People close enough to hear me averted their eyes trying not to get involved even the staff just looked away not wanting to get involved. “Why don’t we get outta here boys, and bring the braud” the boss said with a large smile. I was not about to give up, I squirmed as hard as I could and kicked my legs all around.

I kicked the edge of the table and tipped it over sending everything flying. As the cups and plates shatter on the floor I feel the grip on me loosen slightly. I looked up with unease to see the shadowy face of the mysterious man I had been so curious about. His face was devoid of detail only black shapes, his hat rested low on his face and his coat collar framed his chin and neck. He had grabbed the shoulder of the large man, without a word he looked at me then back at the man with a disapproving head tilt. “You got a problem Bub? Go and take it up with someone who cares” The boss said “Yeah shove off honky!” The weedy man barked. The shadow man stepped in front the large man. The boss and is lackies circled the shadow man. The large man threw me down on the floor I hit the floor hard but I was so worried about the man who came to my aid. I looked up as my heart pounded against my chest and the breath caught in my throat. They men all pulled guns out they all had pistols except the man who came in with the money who pulled a tommy gun from his bag. No! They were going to kill him and it was all my fault. The shadow man stood his ground then it all happened so fast I barely saw what happened. He threw an empty bottle of whisky at the large man knocking his gun upward he then slammed his elbow into the bosses stomach and swept his feet out from under him. He grabbed the gun off the boss as he fell back, he threw it at the man with the tommy gun then kicked up a chair and pushed it at the weedy man with his foot. Before I knew it he had swept off the floor and into his arms. I reflexively threw my arms around his neck. The next thing I knew the warmth of inside was gone and the chill of the night struck my cheeks. I looked over his shoulder to see that we were bouncing clean over the rooftops. My heart was still pounding from the incident and more so from the heights we were at. After a short time he put me down on a rooftop. I took a step back and stared up at his face with a mixture of emotions swirling through me curiosity, anxiety, confusion, fear and for some reason comfort. I stared at his face my heart pounding like a drum. Why did he help me? why did he risk his life for me? He looked down at me with what I felt was a sullen look. He handed me a duffel bag, not just any bag but threw one with $20,000 in it. The stolen money I thought as I looked at him in shock. He then opened his little black book to a drawing. It was of me walking out of the city with the money bag into the sunset to start a new life. I looked up at him bewildered. Could he see the future? He handed me the book I looked down at the picture of myself or is he telling me I should runaway, I’ve never heard him speak so maybe this is how he communicates but when do he draw this? I looked up to thank him but he was gone. A sigh escaped my lips as the thought that I may never see him again passed through my mind. As I watched the sun rise I flipped through the the other pages of the book, most of them were very beautiful drawings of me on stage. So this is why he always showed up, did he love me? I thought with a nervous flutter in my belly. I shook my head to get rid of that thought no, surely not. I took the bag and the book then made my way out of the city, I will go somewhere new and become the best dancer ever seen on stage. I watched the city fade into the distance from the train window, it’s time for a new start I thought to myself in order to pump myself up, I looked to the horizon with hope in my heart.

fiction

About the Creator

Pixie Bean

my name is Lacey I have been creating and writing for 8 years. I love to create and I am glad to share my stories.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Pixie BeanWritten by Pixie Bean

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.