Criminal logo

The Secrets it Holds

What would never be found again was found, and what was found will only make trouble for those who hid it there.

By Paige KostyniukPublished 3 years ago 26 min read
2
Looks like any other farm yard barn...

Late in the summer, my folks had sold the old farm and moved into town finally. They were too old already to be out there all alone, anything could happen; nothing that either of us kids could get to fast enough that is. It had to be done and they knew it too. They were married for 70 years and that farm has been in the family for centuries. That old barn has been rebuilt three times now. What is really odd about that too, was that the guys that came to rebuild the barn were all related; the same last names for all three rebuilds. Maybe not, maybe I'm just overthinking everything.

Just this last time they came out to rebuild the barn, they stayed very late each night and brought the strangest machines with them too. Machines that are needed to build anything, but instead to take things apart more like. My folks said they knew the family and there has never been any sort of issues ever. I even got heck for thinking such garbage. I was just worried for the folks is all. They are old and what can they do if something was ever to happen out there? Nothing! They were like sitting pigeons.

Of course, I was the one to always overlook things and be the drama queen like my other siblings would say. I wasn't I just could see the wrong in people, and see right through their bull. I could not help that, it's a good thing that I had a sense of how people thought, and from watching their moves, I could get a good feel of what they were like. I knew by watching these guys; they were no good. Their family might have been good people, but this generation of that family is not good. All bad. I had a feeling, but nobody would listen.

I lived in the big city and I couldn't be out there all the time, every day. I would, but I have a full-time job and I do have a life. I am a fashion designer; graphics designer. I only do the patterns or graphics on already made clothing. I tons of clients and they all want my artistic abilities on their labels. It's a really big thing nowadays. But my folks don't think it's worth all the hipe. They don't understand it all, and they are too set in their ways to change their minds, so, I just don't mention my job very to them. I pay more attention to the farm and what's going on when I am out there. That's how I noticed these guys and that they were up to no good.

I would go out to the barn to take a peek, but there was always someone watching and would come out to meet me and tell me that it wasn't safe and not to come around yet. They will let us know when the barn was complete inside. I didn't like that action. There has to be something going on in there. Why have a guard at the entrance of the barn then? It wasn't safe? Really? Think I am that stupid hey? Good luck, I will get into that barn, I just had to wait it out is all.

For the next five weekends, I went out to my folk's old farm and stayed in the house, even after my family had moved out. I stayed in that house and watched them all weekend long and then when Sunday came, I would go back to the city and repeat this for three more weekends. I would walk out to this barn and try to take a peek. The guy at the entrance of the barn just would not let me pass. I asked and asked; all I ever was told is that the barn has an old floor and they were treating it so that the wood wouldn't rot any further and then they could repair it. So, it was not safe to be walking around on it just yet.

Lies! and more lies. I used to ride my dirt bike through that old barn; from the entrance to the back entrance and through the gate. It's not rotten. They had been doing something. I heard all kinds of heavy equipment noises coming from that barn late at night. It did not sound like repairing to me. It was like the sounds of ripping and smashing. I didn't agree to have these guys all stay out on the farm with me. But someone had to watch the family farm.

I would sneak out ever so often and check out where it was feasible to sneak until I reached the barn. I would pretend I went to sleep and crawl out my side back window. Then creep around the house in the darkness. Making sure I didn't make shadows or noises; I didn't want to get caught. Being alone out there, anything could happen and I'm sure it would be these guys who'd be responsible. I would test the area each day on the weekends, and I got closer each time. But the risk was greater too. I had to know what was going on in there. I couldn't let it be. I played in that barn, I had sex for the first time in that barn. I had my second kiss in that barn. Good memories in that old farm barn. I didn't want some jerks coming along and taking advantage or scamming my folks.

I watched and watched, timed each movement, and then it happened. I finally could reach the barn from my strategic planning. I was able to get to the barn; now to get inside without getting caught. That was another challenge, and I don't let things go, there is always a chance and then success; every time. I was going to be in that barn by tomorrow night, and I will find the answers. These guys are shady and no good, I just have to prove that to my folks. Before it's too late; anything could happen. The anticipation was killing me. I felt like a kid waiting for Christmas morning or something, the anxiety was rushing through my entire body. My heart racing so fast. I was even sweating bullets. I couldn't sleep, I couldn't even sit down for very long. I had to be on the move, but I was waiting to reach the barn tonight and finally go inside.

It had to be tonight, it was my last night at the farm, then I was off back to the city. But won't be back on the weekend. I had a business meeting to attend in Brazil and I was gone for the next three weeks. This had to be the night. Do or die I thought. It was going to be the night I proved my folks wrong and these guys were doing something terribly wrong. Plus, I had my suspicions and this was going to be my trophy. I was right and I wasn't being a drama queen.

That day was extra long for some reason. It sure took a long time for the night to come. The guys were walking about the yard, watching everything that was around them. They especially had their eyes on me that night. It was like they had a sense I was going to do something. I was, but they didn't have to know. It even seemed that they had another guy added to their watching post on that barn entrance. Instead of only one, now they have two guys. And not just walking about, but carrying guns and walking about. Machine guns, stuff you see in the movies. Now that's some serious power. Oh geez!

Is this even a good idea? Bloody hell! I am going to get killed, and my family won't even know. I didn't tell them I was going out to farm that weekend. They knew I was excited about my business trip to Brazil, but they had no idea about me coming back to this place. I was scared, and I was pumped, and more scared, but this was the moment of truth. I knew how to get around these muscle heads. I just had to be my old self; the self that would look danger in the face and give it the middle finger. Let's get this party started. Bring it on boys, show me what you got!

These guys mean business..

Being sneaky I had to be, I had to get by those guys with the guns and make it into the barn. I know there was something in there that these guys were protecting and I was going to find out. It doesn't need guarding when you're rebuilding a barn unless there was something important inside it. I was going to uncover their secret and then I was going to let my folks know. They had a right to know. They assume that these guys would never do anything against the law, their family had been involved with the rebuilding of the barn in the past, but these guys were no good and my folks wouldn't listen when I told them that this bunch of guys might be related, but they are not there for the good reasons.

While I watched the men going back and forth from the barn to their black SUV they had sledgehammers and pickaxes. Now, since when do you need that to rebuild a barn? No way, they had to be digging for something. So, I wore black clothing; blending into the darkness and being like a ninja was the best way to get by without being caught. If I get caught, I'll probably get killed. Something bad anyway. I saw my chance and faded into the darkness as I crept around the vehicles and slouched down behind them as I got closer. I had to wait a few minutes for the guys watching the entrance to be occupied with chatting with each and their backs were turned, then I made my way closer. Staying close to the vehicles and the ground. I was so scared. My heart beating so hard in my chest, you could see it pounding through my black t-shirt. My hands were shaking and my legs felt like rubber. I knew this was my only chance and no matter how afraid I was, I was going to uncover this mystery and bring these guys down.

I peeked around the bumper of the vehicle I was slouched behind and got onto my hands and knees and slowly made my way alongside the vehicle that was parked. It was one of the men's cars. It was a black car, it sheltered me really since I was in black too. I blended really well with it.

As I crawled slowly and quietly, I didn't see that in the shadows of the car that there was a few old twigs on the ground, and I crawled over them, but they made that cracking noise and the men in front of the entrance heard them. My heart just stopped. I was going to die I thought, I was going to get caught. What was I going to do? I saw that one of the men was making his way towards me, and I didn't know what to do. I had to get the heck out of there. I backed up and back around the car. I slowly slipped myself under the car from behind the car. I had to stay very quiet under that car. I just made it under the car by the time the man had come around the car and turned on his flashlight and had it shining on the ground looking around. I was so dead I thought. My whole body shaking in fear now. I was going to get caught, I know it. If that man bends down to look under the car, I was so caught. He is going to kill me.

Then, suddenly the other man at the entrance of the barn yells out to this guy, the boss needed them. With that going on, this guy with the flashlight turns it off and walks away from behind the car. Oh, God! I was so close to getting caught. Thank God, the boss needed them. I watched the man's army boots from underneath the car as they walked around and back towards the barn. What a relief. I looked around as best I could from under the car and when I thought it was safe to crawl out I did. I stayed behind the car until I didn't see anyone outside anymore. That is when I scooted across the way to the side of the barn that was in the dark. There were no lights on the one side of the barn. That's my shelter and when I got there I knew I was safe. I made it safely and had my back against the side and stepped quietly towards the back. I had to make myself as one with the side of the barn. When I reached the corner of the barn wall. I peeked around slowly to make sure nobody was in the back. When I saw that it was safe, I did the same thing and hugged the back of the barn, my back tight against the back of the barn. I felt in the dark for the back door, and when I knew I had reached that door, I listened against the door for any voices or noises before trying to open the door.

I reached out for the doorknob and then heard some voices inside really close to the door. Someone was coming towards the door. I had to get out of there and fast. Where was I going to go? I had to decide and fast. I looked around and then darted for the trees. That was my only choice. I pushed myself off that wall and ran as fast as I could and headed for the trees. They were my only shelter. I ran just in time and made it behind one of the trees and stood there very still and quiet. That door opened and two men came out. They were laughing and talking about some kind of secret passage and the treasure that was behind it, I couldn't hear anything else.

I thought to myself if what I just heard was correct. I ran it through my mind a few times as I stood behind the tree. What kind of passage? Where would that be? Can't be talking about inside the barn. I knew that barn from inside and out. I would have found a passage if it was in that barn. I tried to listen more, but I just couldn't hear them. They were talking and walking away from the barn. They were heading towards the front, that was my chance to get back to that door. Get inside and see for myself if this was true.

I peeked my head from behind the tree and saw that the coast was clear. I made my break for it, I hurried back to that back door, I listened again against the back door, and didn't hear a thing. I reached out for the doorknob and turned it quietly. When the door opened I slipped out from behind it and crept around it and into the barn. Once I was inside, I closed it and locked it for safety reasons. I didn't want anyone sneaking up on me from there. I locked the door and slowly made my way around the straw bails and ducked around them. I slouched down again and crawled towards where there were some other guys standing around. They were carrying guns too, and they were looking down at something, talking to some other guys that were down on the floor.

I couldn't understand how I didn't know that there was a secret door there. I didn't believe what I was looking at. I couldn't believe what was going on. I stayed close to the ground while sneaking quietly around the straw bails. I wasn't afraid anymore. I was angry and confused, how could this be? This wasn't happening. Did my folks know about this? They would have said something about this; us kids would have known, right?

As I stayed hidden behind the straw bails I could faintly hear the men talking to each other. They were laughing a lot and talking about what they had found. Something about a gold door; this door had some kind of medalion of a lion and a son on it, and diamonds, gems, and some rubies. I think that's what I heard them saying. It was the door to the treasure of a lifetime.

How was that possible? All this time there was such a thing buried underneath our barn? Who knew about this I wondered? Someone from the family had to have known, this wasn't just here and nobody knew. The barn was built over top to keep it safe obviously. Someone had to know, just us kids maybe didn't know, but my folks wouldn't keep such a secret, they couldn't, would they?

I continued to listen and try to get a glimpse of this passageway. I could only see the top of the passage doorway. I couldn't see anything beyond that. I thought I should get closer somehow. Slowly I got on my stomach and slid myself against the barn floor and pushed and pulled myself closer and closer to the passageway. I only got up to the last straw bail and then I heard a familiar voice off in the distance. Who could that be? I have heard that voice before, but I couldn't see anyone yet. I looked around the straw bail and saw this woman's figure against the bright lights. Her outline was the only thing I saw. The huge spotlights were so bright to look at where she was standing. I couldn't see who it was.

But listening to her, the voice I knew, just from where? As I looked down to wipe my eyes from the dust and the dirt on the floor, I looked down, and then the woman turned at the same time. I wiped my eyes and looked back up, she was gone. I was shocked. I looked around the barn the best I could from where I was, but nothing to see. Only men standing around and the big spotlights, but no woman around. I was angry with myself, why did I have to wipe my eyes at that moment I thought? I couldn't have waited a few more seconds? Suddenly, the floor started to shake, and this loud machine noise came from that passageway door. The men started to back away from the passage doorway and hold up their automatic guns. I thought if they are backing up then maybe I should too, maybe I should get my butt out of there? But, I had to stay close enough to see what was happening. It was only getting good from that moment on.

Within a few minutes, the loud machine noise stopped and the floor stopped shaking. The men with these confused looks on their faces looked at each other and slowly made their way back towards the passageway door, one of them yelled out down towards the passageway for some guy named Johnny. I guess Johnny was still down that passageway when this was going on, I wasn't sure if he was the one that caused this to happen, or what? Then I heard this faint call out, I think it was their buddy, Johnny. He didn't sound very happy. He sounded really afraid. He had this tone when he called back to his buddies. I couldn't make out what he was saying, but it wasn't a good call back. The men were scrambling around looking for something. They needed rope or something, probably to toss down to Johnny. But when one of the guys did toss one end of the rope down, Johnny was yelling at them to pull it back up fast. Not to toss it down. Something was coming. Coming for Johnny.

The men looked even more confused now. What the heck was going on and why didn't they help their friend? Then I heard this yell and cry out as if someone was being chopped up. That's the sound I heard; similar sound. Like being put through a meat grinder. That kind of sound. Poor Johnny. He was being attacked obviously by something in that passageway. The men got really close to the passageway door and held out their guns again while looking down the passageway. Ready to shoot at whatever was going to come out of the passageway. I really hope that they were fast and accurate. I really didn't want to know what was down there. But in a way I did, I knew nothing good was going to try and come out of there.

I stayed far in the back of the barn, I didn't want to be close enough for anything to happen to me. I thought it was good that these men were close and if something did come out, they were all going to be first before me. I was going to leave and drive my butt out of there if that was the case. After not hearing that Johnny crying out for help anymore. The whole barn got quiet real fast. A really ery noise. A sickening quiet almost. I couldn't move from the spot I was in. I was frozen solid. Shaking after all that excitement. I didn't know really what to do. I watched and listened while all the men in the barn were yelling at each other and swearing and pointing their guns at each other. Blaming each other for just happened.

Johnny couldn't be helped though, he was down there and whatever got him, was eventually going to try and come out. I then noticed the men gathering around the passageway, pointing their guns towards the passageway. Then out of the blue, the front door swings open and the person that came through just floored me. I couldn't believe my eyes, my eyes were telling lies, they had to be. It wasn't her, it couldn't be? Why would she be here? What the heck is going on? It was my sister. I hadn't seen her in years. Why would she be here? What was her part in this? Now, it's getting scary again.

What the heck would my sister be here for? She hasn't been around in ten years, then shows up suddenly now? This is going to be bad I thought. She only comes home when she wants something. Like money or try to get the folks to sign the farm over to her when they pass away; as they would never do it, not to her anyway. She would try and convince them that it would be a good investment for them. Now I see why she was always pressing them. One of the men called her "boss" and another guy called her "baby." So, one must be her man and these other guys must be working for my sister. They all were just anxious to talk to her, but all at once, and she yelled at everyone to shut up and explain one at a time to her as to what the just happened. She even asked one of the guys where Johnny was.

They all stood around talking for a few moments before that same noise started up and the floor of the barn started to shake again. My sister and the men stood back and watched as this time there was some kind of smoke coming out from the passageway. Not just ordinary smoke either. It was a greenish, blue color and had this strange awful smell to it. Like the smell of old, rotting meat. It was stomach-turning. Some of the guys were puking and covering their faces. Some were covering their faces, but going closer to the passage way with their guns ready to fire at whatever was down there.

I had to move from that spot. I didn't want to miss out on what they were about to discover. Maybe some kind of creature from a different world, or maybe some kind of wild animal that they trapped down there. Whatever it was, I needed to see. The men got closer and without even a warning, this winged arm with claws reaches out from the passage door and grabs one of the men who were really close. It just gripped him and took him down into the passageway. The other men started to shoot towards the direction that this thing was, but I don't think they were very lucky. The creature made this loud screeching noise and tossed around down there, but it was still alive. I was frozen on the spot. I couldn't move at all. I don't even know if I was even breathing. That's how afraid I was. Then the floor started to shake again. The men backed right up from that passageway and pointed their guns again, this time this thing made a loud screech and started to climb out. The men shooting at this, but it would not stop or die. It just kept coming out.

I looked around with fear on my face, and my heart was beating so fast, I was so scared. I had seen my sister standing off into the back of the barn, and her man was there too. They didn't look very worried, not even a flinch or anything. I had to wonder if she knew this was there, and these men were there to feed it; use them as bait. I didn't care, they were doing bad things and probably deserved whatever was going to happen to them. But my sister being family and not coming around very often, I was kind of glad she came. I don't want anything to happen to her, but on the other hand, if she was part of this and knew all along about whatever that thing is and being in our folk's barn for so many years, I was hoping that thing would get her too.

I watched as this creature with the large wings and sharp claws; looked like a baby dragon. But that couldn't be, are they not just make-believe? It wasn't a baby dragon? or was it? When I was peeping over one of the straw bails, my head was in the clear and my sister had spotted me. I didn't see her looking at me with shock, and then anger. I was busy watching this thing pick off each of these gunmen and eat them with no problems. My sister being careful not to get seen by me slowly snuck up behind me and had a gun at my head. She startled me by yelling at me to get the hell up and move over to where her man was.

My sister, pointing a gun at me, would never shoot me. We are sisters, you can't just shoot your siblings. Does she have a cold heart, or is it a little bit warm at least, and maybe I can convince her to let me go. She laughed at me and told me to shut up, keep quiet so that we were not caught by this creature. I asked my sister what the heck was with this whole plan of hers. She tells me that hundreds of years ago, there was a great treasure of gold buried here, but the man who was guarding it had gotten sick and passed away. But before he passed away, he had written a letter to his granddaughter and left it behind in some old books. Hoping that she would go through the books and find them.

That didn't happen, and the books were packed up and brought back to a library in the city where they were then donated and resold. Let's just say I found this letter and did my research, making sure it was the real deal. It was and I held onto it for ten years. I didn't know what was guarding the golden door because the letter said to watch out for what guards the treasure for it could eat you. So, I hired this family that had built this barn and they waited for me to give them the go. That's why I used the same guys. The folks would never know and I would let this creature eat these guys and go take the treasure for myself while that creature was feasting on the men. That was the plan and I was going to give the folks some of it too, but this had to be done this way and I know it looks really bad, but who else could I get to be the bait? Our family? So, my sister explained and I understood then, and with that creature feasting out of that passageway, it was our time to go down there and bring up that treasure. We had to be fast.

I told my sister to stay close and to warn us; I and her man if that creature was coming back towards the passageway, to whistle or something to give us a heads up. She agreed and off the two of us went. Fast like rabbits, making it down the rope and to the bottom with our flashlights, looking around frantically, making sure to be quick, but to keep our eyes open for anything else down there. We both spotted the gold door, and it was already opened. That creature must have been inside that room and when the men opened it, that thing came out.

We cleared the doorway of that Johnny who was chewed up really well. His body was tossed by the doorway. We walked over him and flashed our lights into that dark room. It was quiet and smelt really terrible. Like something had died in there. And we looked around with our flashlights, over and over, until we came across a golden chest. It was only the size of a milk crate. Not much bigger. What kind of treasure was in that I thought. We both looked at each other and I told my sister's man to grab it and I would lead the way back out. We walked through the room and crossed over that Johnny once again. As soon as we got to that rope, my sister whistles. Oh my God! I know that it was not good, so I tell her man to go up first, then we would take the chest up on the rope after him. He looked at me and nodded. I told him he had to fast, that creature was coming. He was on that rope, and up it like nothing. Then he disappeared. I didn't see him anymore. I yelled up and no response. I thought he ran off to hide or something. Then I felt on my face what felt like raindrops, but warm; blood droplets. It was my sister's man's blood. That creature had gotten him as soon as he was out of the doorway, and I thought he would have time.

Instead of going up, I had a better idea, and to go back through that room and out through a small hole I had seen in the corner of the room. I grabbed the chest and ran back into the room. I had only my flashlight, but I kinda knew the direction to go. I climbed into the hole and held onto that chest. I crawled out and into the woods by the barn. It was a bit off but I knew I was safe. I didn't see anyone around. Not even my sister. Everyone was eaten alive and I just ran off to my vehicle and started it, drove off the farm, and headed for town. I had to tell my folks. The secret was out. We had to plan what to do next. And that is for another chapter.

fiction
2

About the Creator

Paige Kostyniuk

I am a single mom with only one left in the nest. I grew up in a little country town before moving to the big city. I have always wanted to be a writer and travel around the world. I am a big fan of horror movies; the scarier the better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.