Criminal logo

The Roseville Massacre

Not everything is as it seems.

By Madison BuschPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
5

In the small town of Roseville, there was no crime. Everyone knew everyone in town. Locals shopping at the small business. On East Rose Street lived the Thornes. The Thornes were the sweetest family. Mrs. Thorne the local florist, Mr. Thorne, the sheriff of the town, and their daughter Maci. There was something peculiar about her though. As her family would say she has a “figurative imagination” and “night terrors”. That was not the case, Maci was telling the truth. Yet nobody in her family believed her. Her mom would tell her “oh sweet Maci, it was just a bad dream”. This all started on a horrifying day. Maci was walking around the woods. She was enjoying the scenery. The smell of pine swirled around her. The Autumn leaves floating to the ground. Then that euphoria came to a halting stop. She noticed a hand sticking out of the leaves. The bright-colored leaves that used to bring her joy now brought her horror. She was in such shock she did not know what to do. The town that is known for no crime is becoming the opposite. She stood there speechless. Not knowing rather run or scream. She tried walking back home telling her everything will be alright. Her hands were shaking with anxiety. She got home and tried to tell her what happened. Her mom said “it is impossible for crime to lurk around this town. There has not been a crime in over 50 years. The last crime we had was when little Carl Randal stole a pack of gum from the Mr. Howards grocery store. I can not believe you are making this kind of stuff up.” I could not go and tell the police, they would talk to my dad. If my dad heard the news he would say the same thing as my mom. I had no corner to turn to. Nobody to talk to about this heinous crime. There was nothing I could do.

I walked into my room and began to change into my pajamas. I took off my shoes and I saw something: blood on the bottom. I dropped my shoe in a panic. I quickly ran to the bathroom and wet some toilet paper. I tried my hardest to scrub it off but there were still tiny specks. I went back to my room, trying to be as come as possible. I was in the process of putting on my Roseville High School t-shirt when there was a knock. I opened the door and standing in the doorway was my dad. He told me that something peculiar has happened. There was a missing person case. My heart started racing and my mouth became dry. All I could get out is “Who was it?” he looked me in the eye and told me “Tony Leonard.” My heart sank, who could do such a thing? I remember Mr. Leonard, he was the sweetest person in town. He would come to the florist and buy a dozen Roses for his Wife. I got to thinking was Mr. Leonard the man in the woods? My dad kissed me on the forehead. He left the room and said “good night.” I crawled into bed, feeling the warmth of the blankets. I woke up and felt sweat dripping down my back. The moisture tingling down my spine. I quickly jumped out of bed and looked around the room. I had a strange feeling, I looked at my phone and the time said 2:51 AM. I tried to go back to sleep but I could not. I layed there wishing there was something I could do. Something I could do to help solve this case.

I woke up at 8:30 AM and decided to walk around town. I went to Howards Groceries it amazes me they are still open. Then again, it is the only grocery store in town. I walked in and decided to browse around. I can across some Oranges on sale for .89 cents. I picked one up and made my way to check out. Matt Miller was working today. I walked up to his cashier lane. I handed him a dollar and he closed my hand. He told me it was on the house with his smile that can light up a room. I told him thank you and I was on my way. I walked down the street and passed Mr. Anderson. He looked gloomy and I noticed a small speck of blood on his shirt. Could he be the killer? I thought in my head. I followed him, he walked through the woods when I saw it; three more bodies lined up in between two Oak trees. I identified them as Woody Nelson, Harry Brown, and Ken Williams. I could not believe my eyes. The people I once knew were standing dead before my eyes.

I ran, I ran as fast I could to the police station. I was in a panic, I needed to find him. I needed to find my dad and tell him what had happened. Finally, he came, I told him he needs to come quickly. When he finally came I ran to the woods. I could tell he was trying to keep up with my pace. When we reached the spot I saw Mr. Anderson dragging Ken Williams body. My dad pulled out his gun and said “Roseville police stand up with your hands behind your head.” He did just as he was told. My dad radioed to the station and had a car meet us in front of the woods entry. The local coroner came as well. Mr. Anderson went to the jailhouse and the families were informed. The town was devastated. The town they once knew as safety and comfort turned into fear. The newspaper described it as “The Roseville Massacre”. Never again did I see Mr. Anderson. The town tried to not let it control our minds. We tried telling ourselves everything was going to be okay.

I was only 13 years old when this happened. Now I am 21 years old. When I look back on this I wish I could have done more to help. Ever since that incident, the town has not had crime in 8 years.

fiction
5

About the Creator

Madison Busch

Just a young writer trying to make the most out of life.

Instagram: maddie.busch26

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristee Lederle2 years ago

    You have such an amazing voice! I can't wait to read more!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.