Criminal logo

The Ohio Slayers

Inspired by true events

By Ashlynne BuckleyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Details of the true story my fictional story is based on.

Every day I miss my best friend. The both of us just knew we'd make it out of our crummy small town in Ohio. It's been seven years and there isn't a day that goes by that I don't think about Mason. A tragic loss is hard to forget.

Mason and I stayed out of trouble in school. When we weren't in class, we were at baseball practice. When we weren't at baseball practice we'd usually hang out, play video games; in my opinion, all American guy stuff. By the end of Senior year, we knew we wouldn't be seeing each other much past high school. Mason was heading to the Navy and I was going to University in Pennsylvania. I remember us being constantly excited about our futures but always making sure to enjoy every moment we had together. It was typical for us to be seen together most times.

Wednesday, April 9th 2014 was different. This day I didn't see too much of Mason but didn't think much of it. I got a text from him saying that he'd be hanging out with Jake and Kyle. I thought it was strange but not completely random. Mason and I were good friends with Jake up until a year ago. He's a year older than us but he kept getting into a lot of trouble so we started keeping our distance. I've seen Kyle around but I can't remember where. Actually, he might hang out with the graduates who flirt with freshman girls after school. Sick. Anyway, I knew they were trouble makers but I had no idea what they were truly capable of.

After not hearing from Mason over the weekend, I head to class. First thing in the morning there's a dreadful announcement. Mason White, my best friend, was murdered. I couldn't believe it. Arrests were made quickly. It was none other than Jake and Kyle. As the dutiful friend I was, I stood side by side with his mom and step-dad. I had to know what led up to these two bastards murdering the greatest guy I knew. The two ended up testifying against each other in court; one pointing the finger at the other. There were only a few consistencies between their stories that helped everyone understand what happened.

Jake was the sole conspirator. He used his past friendship with Mason to regain his trust. Kyle just happened to be the man-power behind the operation. Jake admits that he remembers seeing a cracked safe in Mason's step dad's office. Claiming there was $20,000 in it. He saw that as an opportunity to get it but Mason was in the way. Jake wrote down a manifesto in a black notebook; the first page saying "eliminate Mason= 20 grand". Other details included killing and robbing other people then eventually killing Kyle. On the day of the murder, Jake and Kyle followed Mason into his house before violently strangling him then stabbing to death when that didn't work. They took the safe then crowbarred it open only to find papers, ammunition and miscellaneous items, not 20 grand.

Of course this ordeal devastated not just me but his family. His step-father was beside himself knowing that his possession was the motive for all of this. Mason's mother was hysterical the whole trial. Except for the end, I think her tear ducts just dried out. Jake was sentenced to death and Colin got life with no parole. I think the sentence was more than fair.

It was a while before I'd hear from Mason's family again; more than a year actually. His step dad reached out to me and invited me over. I was on summer break with nothing else to do so I obliged. Once I got there the air in the house was definitely stale but Mr. White welcomed me hospitably. We sat in his living room. Moments of silence went by before he ever spoke. Mr. White brought up Mason and how he thinks about him every day (as do I). He eluded to something really bothering him about everything. A couple months before Mason was killed, there was an unsuccessful break-in attempt on their home. He figured the robbers were looking for his money so he ended up hiding it in the floor boards under the safe. Thinking whoever broke in would be so distracted by taking the safe, they'd miss what's under it. Smart idea I must admit. That's why Jake and Kyle didn't find anything.

Mr. White can be quite long winded so I'll spare you the insignificant details. He told me that the 20 grand was for Mason. It was his going away gift for the Navy. I impulsively got happy because I knew Mason would've really appreciated a gift like that from his step-dad. I can't say I was ready for the next thing he'd tell me. "I want you to have it" he said. "Me and my wife are taken care of, you could use it more than us." I was speechless. There was nothing I could say to the refuse the money. I was beyond thankful but felt a little sick inheriting my deceased best friends' gift.

Some time went by and I began to accept and appreciate the money. After all, I did need it. I originally wanted to study communications but, I dedicated my studies to social work. I believe my experience definitely inspired me to protect the most vulnerable. Even after years of restlessness and resentment, I close my eyes at night in gratitude. Knowing my best friend is with me even though I can't see him. He's gotten me farther than I could ever imagine.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.