Criminal logo

The Little Black Book

By the Numbers

By Paul HerreraPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

The Little Black Book.

It has been said that persuading a person can be done with a combination of words and numbers. But from a Little Black Book?

Now really…

Time in school is compared to a total bore, motivation into the future. But for many students it is a repetitive, necessary bore. There are days when just want something to break this feeling of complacency. Lisa was no different, her car needed gas and she no cash flow till the first of the month. So, in situations like this one walks. The walk was not bad, a task easily done. Her backpack was more like a purse, how much longer it would survive was a mystery.

Today she walked, first destination a local coffee shop, “The Pit Stop”, patrons were always coming in a headed off to their destination after about ten minutes. Lisa walked placed her order and took off in nine minutes. Outside the shop, she looked at her watch, still had more than enough time to get to school.

In the center of town, there was a small park, intended to be a tourist attraction. It was an attraction that was later abandoned for a dozen reasons, mainly everyone wanted credit, no could figure out how to pay for it all federal money went to local areas for landscaping. But what did the project in was the blast that was caused by a steel pickaxe and a group of squirrels. A worker left the ax leaning against a newly installed natural gas line. As the squirrel lost his footing, the pickaxe fell, point first puncturing a line causing a spark that blew the line. The blast threw grass, plants, pipes everywhere it even cracked the sidewalk. The lawn was repaired, the city hired a professional landscape company thing as good as they get.

Lisa walked across the street, into the park. She walked no more than 50 yards when she tripped on a crack at that moment her backpack just disintegrated spilling all its contents on the ground. She picked everything up in her arms she carried everything to the closest table. Thinking what her next move would be, she tossed her coffee cup away, looked to her right, and saw “Mr. Yens Bargain Store.”

DEAL!

Lisa picked up her things and walked across the street to Mr. Yens. The entrance door gave a loud Bing that announced Lisa’s entrance. Down the second aisle, she noticed a lady with a pricing gun.

Excuse me can you help me?

The woman turned around, “Why yes, how may help you?”

“I’m looking for a backpack, what isle might they be on?”

“Anything in particular?”

“Not really, just something with stronger stitching than my old one.” She should the lady her old backpack.

“Oh my!” Just then she asked Lisa, “How much do you want to pay?”

“I’m a student, money is tight.”

“Hold on, I have something you could use.” She headed into her back storeroom. A few minutes later she returned with a World War 2 backpack. She handed it to Lisa for her to inspect.

It was in great condition, stitches were good and strong, “I like it, but how much?”

For you,” Five dollars”

“DEAL!!!”

Lisa reached into her front pocket pulled out four five-dollar bills folded over. And peeled off two fives. Handing the money to the owner.

“Five plus tax, right?”

“For you, we’ll make it an even five dollars.” Returning five dollars back to Lisa

Lisa packed everything into her new backpack, smiled as she went out the door, “Thanks!”

Outside the store she headed returned to class, she would cut through the park once again.

SEEK AND YE SHALL FIND

As Lisa entered the park her backpack did not feel right. She tried adjusting the straps, adjusting just did not work. She saw a cement picnic table made way for it. She emptied her backpack, everything was fine. She looked inside saw a pocket sealed with Velcro, she felt it, it felt like a piece of cardboard. Maybe it is packing or something with shipping. She opened the Velcro reached in and pulled out a Little Black Book. That is interesting. She opened it up it contained names, phone numbers and there were several pages of early computer code, pre-DOS five.

That will have to wait I got to go to class. Time was running out, she called Lyft got a ride, she ran to class. She was about to grab the doorknob when she noticed the sign sheet. The teacher did not have a class for today, sign in for class credit. Relived she signed and went straight to the campus coffee shop to investigate her black book.

MEETING OF THE MINDS

She found a table and began studying it. As old as the book was, she wondered if any of these people were alive. She called several numbers every number was listed as no longer in service.

Except for one toll-free number: 1-888-555-1212 ask for Alex.

Just then her best friend Reggie, an engineering major came in for coffee.

“Hey, Reggie! Come here! Check this out.”

“Hi, Lisa, what’s going on?”

“This morning my old back died, found another at this bargain store.

“Mr. Yens?”

“Yeah, that one, anyway I found this in my backpack.”

As he flipped through it, “You try any of these numbers?”

“Not all of them, but everyone that I did try were out of service, except that toll-free number.”

“Call it right now, let us see what happens, come on chicken.”

“All right” She did and asked for Alex.

The phone number was ringing it seemed like there was no answer when a deep baritone voice answered.

“Is this Alex?”

“Why yes, it is, how am I speaking with?”

“Ah, my name is Lisa.”

She found his voice incredibly sexy, she started to imagine what he looked like. Not only did he know what words to say, but how to say it.

“How may I help you today, Lisa?”

“I have this little.”

“Little Black Book found in a backpack?” Lisa’s early warning kicked in.

Reggie, pointing to his watch, “Class have to go, now, later, call me tonight.”

“Lisa do not worry; I wouldn’t harm you. Let me explain what is happening, I make money for people, I am exceptionally good at it. I can the same for you, would you like that? How would $10 thousand dollars sound?”

“Yeah, but, but how much?

“We make the money, but for you go pick it up you give me a small commission, then you have your money. Legal and tax-free, do not ask questions. That is all I ask.”

“Are you interested?”

“Yeah, duh!”

“How much would you like; I recommend start low and work your way up.”

“Let me call you back, I’m going home.”

“Very well, I will be waiting, Lisa.”

She called Reggie; he was busy.

She called Lyft. On the way home, her mind wandered, deep sexy voice, making money, 10, 20, 30 grand???

She ran inside to her bedroom and dialed the tolls free number.

“Ah, Alex?”

“Lisa so you called.”

“Let’s talk business first.”

“Not a problem, first things, first. I have an inside track to the stock market, that’s how I get the money, my commission is 50%, I take the risk you pick up your money, but don’t get greedy, agreed?”

“Agreed, oh yeah, can’t ask questions.”

“Right, other than what I just told you that is it, you go to your bank to pick up your share of the money. Remember there are two sides to everything, pay attention.”

“Okay, I want $250 grand. That is $125,000.00 for each of us. Deal, buy the way is that a police scanner in the background I hear?”

“Lisa, you are asking questions.”

“Sorry, sorry, we have a deal?”

“I agree, give me one hour and call me back, I’ll make sure your bank stays open.”

After they hang up, she called Reggie.

“Reggie? This is Lisa just listen, I called the guy, Alex, we made a deal, he is getting me $125 grand, well it is really $250 grand, but he takes half still leaving me with $125,000.00 thousand. I am not going to complain.”

“Is this legal, Lisa?”

“He claims to have an inside track to the stock market.”

“Just come over I need a ride to the bank, please.”

“On my way”

Reggie arrived and they waited together. Sixty minutes had finally passed she called Alex.

“Hi, Alex this is Lisa.”

“Good to hear from you, the money is waiting at your bank, better hurry there waiting on you, before I forget there will be three associates of mine, just looking to keep things honest, we’ve never met face to face. They will be in a pickup truck, which draws less attention. Well goodbye, go get your money.”

Lisa could not find Reggie he was outside, relaxing. Lisa ran outside jumped into his arms gave him a kiss.

“Bank please, money waits for no woman. Come on let us get this machine in warp drive.”

Reggie fired his Hellcat up and they were off, he took a back way short cut, a rarely used road used mainly by guys testing their cars out.

At the bank traffic, parking lot traffic was bad.

“Get here, I’ll go park, do what you have to do. I’ll meet you inside.”

Lisa jumped out and ran in just then two guys ran in through the other entrance. Reggie passed the pickup truck and noticed an AK-47. Another car blocked Reggie, so he had to go around the other driver. He found a spot parked when he realized what was going on. He ran inside screaming Lisa’s name.

Inside the bank she had her money and was walking to the exit when she heard Reggie screaming her name. A security guard on the right, gun drawn, yelled, “Drop It!” Lisa still heard Reggie screaming her name, she turned left to see what the guard was pointing his gun at and saw a masked bank robber aiming an AK-47 at her.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Paul Herrera

Looking forward to learning and earning on Vocal!

I love stories that have twists and turns, enough it creates good conversation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.