Criminal logo

The Hunted

The Little Black Book

By David LancasterPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

The Hunted.

By David T. Lancaster

Chapter One

The director shouts “8, 7, 6, and then puts up her hand counting 5, 4, 3 ,2, 1 and points to the Host

Host: And welcome to this weeks addition to The Hunted. This is where, someone in America will win $1 million dollars. (canned applause is heard). And all you have to do is find the little black book and the secret code that lies within. We have hidden our little black book with someone somewhere in the continental United States. (more canned applause).

We’ll give you clues of course throughout the show to help you narrow down whom has our black book and where they are located.

The person who has the black book has to stay hidden and keep it in their possession for 4 days. If they are able to do so, then they get the million dollar prize. (Applause)

You, America have to find this person and get the little black book and call us with the claim number within it’s pages. The phone number is in the little black book.

Remember, there are no rules about how you get the book. All participants have signed a wavier acknowledging the risk and that their safety is at risk.

Are you ready to play “The Hunted “ ? (wild applause )

When we come back, we’ll give you the first clue…..

The Director says and…”cut to commercial.”

Paul Barnes said, “well here we go again, another 4 days of hell for America”.

“Well lets hope it goes 4 days this time. Or at least 2 days. Jeez last 2 contestants didn’t last 40 hours combined” commented Maria Peterson, the director.

“That’s what happens when you become the most wanted person in America, or the whole world for that matter” said Paul..

“True enough” said Maria, ‘but I think we got us a survivor this time around and maybe, just maybe our first time winner’.

“not likely’ commented Paul, this is our 10 th season and nobody has made it the whole 4 days’.

Maria said, ‘well that Nortz girl almost made it. Had 6 hours to go’.

‘till her step-father hit her on the head and stole the book. Wow that was the best ratings we have ever had smiled Paul. ‘Who do we have this time?”

“you just read the cue cards and find out like all the rest of America’ replied Maria.

‘Still don’t trust anybody I see’

“not for a million dollars I don’t. get ready we are one in 8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1”

Chapter Two

Well I’m in it now thought Ken Andersen as he clicked off the TV. The former Green Beret packed up his backpack and checked his Glock to double check it was locked and loaded.

My picture and stats are all over America at this very moment. But that’s all they have right now, well that and the fact I’m ‘somewhere in the southwest’. A good portion of the population is booking flights to the southwest just to get closer to the prey…me, thought ken.

Tomorrow they’ll narrow it down to Arizona and the next night to Tucson. This town will be packed with bounty hunters this time Tuesday. Hell if I could only just head to the Catalina’s and get lost in that mountain range…..but the rules.

Ken pulled out the signed contract from CBS with ‘the rules’ just to go over it one more time.

Rule One – you must stay within the designated zone for the entire 4 days. Failure to do so will automatically disqualify you from the prize money.

That damn tracker they put on my ankle makes sure they always know my location thought Ken.

That designated zone is to stay with the city limits of Tucson.

Rule Two – There are no other rules. Anybody can just zap you and take the book, your life be damned.

I can take whatever actions I deem necessary to protect myself. That’s what the Director said anyway as Ken patted his Glock. How they got permission from anybody suffering from criminal prosecution, I’ll never know. Well having a former reality TV star as President of the United States certainly had something to do with it mused Ken.

Tenth season and 36 people killed: 8 contestants and 14 Hunters and the rest innocent bystanders who happen to resemble the contestant.

‘Well they have never had a Green Beret as a contestant’ said Ken aloud, to no one. They have always had just regular Joe’s trying to hide. Well that Nortz gal at least had been in the Navy. Lot of good that did her.

I have studied every contestant and learned from their mistakes thought Ken. Rule one for me, for a million dollars, don’t trust anyone.

You’re on your own Kenny boy. Well not for the first time either.

Chapter Three

‘Maria you look like you picked a good one this season’ said Paul. ‘A fricking Green Beret no less.

“yeah dudes a bad ass for sure’ commented Maria. ‘Part of his service record was sealed and we didn’t get to look at the special ops missions he was on. Even the President couldn’t get that for us’.

“It’s no matter. Green Beret or not, Ken Andersen is a dead man’ said Paul. ‘ Our rating go through the roof every time someone dies. I’ll never know how you swung that exemption with law enforcement”

“Having friends in high places and a President without a soul helped’ chuckled Maria. “Hey get ready, we on in 8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1”

Host: “Welcome back America to the all-time number rated show in the history of television “ The Hunted (applause)

America is on the look out for Ken Andersen. We know he is in Arizona. Now for the next clue, he is in the city limits of Tucson. Ken grew up in Tucson so he knows the area. I want reiterate, Ken Andersen is a former Green Beret and should be considered dangerous.

As a reminder, per Executive Order 37 signed by the President, all actions necessary to obtain the black book from the contestants of The Hunted are authorized and you will not be persecuted for any actions taken. But also remember, the contestant has the same rights.

Now let’s take a look at his picture again and when we get back from break, we’ll interview his former wife and some buddies of his from the Green Berets……”

Chapter Four

Breathe thought Ken. Slow your heart beat and get your shit together. That was close, no doubt about it as Ken rechambered a round in the Glock.

Not one contestant had thought of using a disguise before. Thought I had that figured out and the million bucks was mine. Who would suspect a hobo holding a sign off the interstate exit of being worth a million dollars ?

Well if that damn Sargent Wilkey hadn’t told everyone I was a master of disguises yesterday when they interviewed her, I might have been in the clear till tomorrow. Can’t believe one of my Berets would turn on me like that. Well she is probably still pissed I didn’t promote her to Master Sargent.

“Adapt to the situation” cited Ken remembering his Green Beret training. Good thing I trusted my instincts when that motor home pulled up or else I would be dead right now. When that fella handed me the dollar, I could see it in his eyes that he recognized me. If he had kept his cool and drove off and came back around and just shot me without so much as a ‘how you do’ then it might of gone differently for me. But alas, he was an amateur and his wife now has to make funeral arrangements .

Time for my next play thought Ken and he dug into his backpack.

Chapter Five

Ken just might make it thought Maria. Only Nortz has made it this far. Only 10 hours to go.

Paul burst into Maria’s office “have you seen the latest ratings ? oh my lord, they are the highest ever Maria ! You picked the best contestant ever”.

“Tell that to the 6 people he has killed so far” said Maria or the 4 homeless people gunned down in mistaken identity.”

‘Oh hell, you and your ethics Maria. Remember Executive order 37. We and they are all in the clear” said Paul.

“I know. Still doesn’t make it right. Let me see those rating numbers….”

Chapter Six

Ken grimaced as he put the final stich in his shoulder. His leg still needed to be tended to. Two gun shots thought Ken. Been shot two times, but I only have 2 hours and, checking his watch again 18 minutes to go.

This ain’t no picnic his drill sergeant used to say back in boot camp. You want to wear the Beret ? well. SHOW ME SOMETHING.

I don’t wear the Beret anymore thought Ken, but as sure as hell showed them something these last 3 days and something. Killed 11 people so far and I’m still alive. Hurt bad and bleeding like s damn stuck pig, but still alive.

If I didn’t have that damn tracker, I could just hide here in the alley and make a million dollar phone call. I’m almost trapped, but not quite yet…oh no there’s a truck at the end of the alley blocking that escape route. Another truck just blocked the other end.

Ken thought of the scene from Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, the one at the end when Butch and Sundance were holed up in the cantina. A bullet hit next to his head. Blast my way out of cut through the house here ?

Chapter Seven

Host: “Looking down on the situation from our CBS helicopter, we can see Ken is cornered in an alley off Mitchell Street and Cooper Street in Tucson. Can he hold out for another 1 hour and 42 minutes ? We’ll see after our break” and cut to commercial.

“ 14 people dead” said Maria. “ He’s been shot, it’s a matter of time now”

“Think he can hold out for another 1 hour and 41 minutes? Asked Paul.

“No way in hell” said Maria. “Look at that view from the helicopter, place is surrounded by what at least 500 people”

“My god, look at the ratings Maria ! Never have so many watched anything in the history of the world” exclaimed Paul.

“I know” shouted Maria, “get back, we are on in 5-4-3-2-1…”

Chapter Eight

Looking at his watch, Ken thought, 18 minutes, got to hold out for 18 stinking minutes and I’m a millionaire. I’m out of ammo and cornered.

Only way out is through that sliding glass door over this fence and through the back yard. If I can make it to that house, I can barricade myself in and hold out for 17 more minutes….

Chapter Nine

“There he goes, over the wall and though that back yard and jesus, did he just break through that sliding glass door ? exclaimed Paul.

“Yes he did, he’s in someone’s house” shouted Maria.

Chapter Ten

I made it thought Ken, but I’m hurt. Hurt bad. Everything is fuzzy…”hello can you help me? Ken says to the figure standing in the doorway. “ I’m shot and need help”

“Yeah and your not dead yet” said the figure. “Where’s the black book ? Tell me and I’ll let you live”.

“In my back pocket” uttered Ken.

“Thanks, saves me having to search for it” as the figure pulls the trigger.

Chapter Eleven

Phone rings in the studio. “Hello this is Paul Barnes from the Hunted. You got a code for me ? “

“Yes, I found the little black book and the code is 373710” My name is Chris Moser.

“Well Mr. Moser, you are a millionaire” said Paul with a smile on his face.

The End

fiction
1

About the Creator

David Lancaster

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.