Criminal logo

The Dead of Night: A Chilling Tale of Murder and Intrigue

A mindblowing crime story

By EnderPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

"The Silent Witness"

Detective Maria Rodriguez sat in her office, staring at the file on her desk. It was yet another murder case, and one that she was determined to solve. She had been working on it for weeks, but so far, she had hit a dead end. The only lead she had was a mysterious witness who had called in the crime, but refused to come forward with any information.

Maria sighed and leaned back in her chair, trying to think of her next move. Suddenly, her phone rang, and she answered it without looking at the caller ID.

"Detective Rodriguez?" a quiet, hesitant voice asked.

"Yes, this is Detective Rodriguez," Maria said. "Who is this?"

"I'm the one who called in the murder," the voice said. "I'm the witness."

Maria sat up straight in her chair, her heart racing. "Why did you call?" she asked.

"Because I need your help," the witness said. "I saw what happened, but I'm afraid to come forward. I need you to promise that you'll keep me safe."

Maria frowned. "I can't promise anything until I know what's going on. Can you tell me what you saw?"

The witness hesitated for a moment, then finally spoke. "I was walking home from work late one night, and I saw something through the window of the victim's apartment. I saw the killer. I saw their face."

Maria's mind was racing. If the witness had seen the killer, then this case could finally be solved. "Can you describe the killer to me?" she asked.

The witness hesitated again, then finally spoke. "It was a woman. She had long dark hair and a cold, hard look in her eyes. I've never seen anything like it before. I'm afraid, Detective. I'm afraid she'll come after me."

Maria's heart went out to the witness. She understood what it was like to be afraid, and she was determined to help. "I'll keep you safe," she said. "Just come to the station and give your statement. I promise I'll be there for you."

The witness agreed, and Maria raced to the station to meet them. When the witness arrived, Maria was shocked to see that it was a young woman, no more than twenty-five years old. She was trembling and looked terrified.

Maria sat down with the witness and listened as she told her story. The witness told Maria everything she had seen, and Maria took notes, trying to put together a picture of the killer in her mind.

With the witness' testimony, Maria was finally able to put together a case against the killer. She arrested the woman and brought her to trial, where she was found guilty of murder. The young witness, who had been so afraid to come forward, was finally able to get the closure she needed, and Maria felt a sense of pride knowing that she had helped bring the killer to justice.

In the end, Maria realized that the witness had been right all along. The killer was a cold, hard individual, with a dangerous streak. But Maria was glad that she had been able to bring her to justice, and that the young witness was finally able to put her fears to rest.

Maria knew that there would always be more cases like this one, more murders to solve and more justice to be served. But she was ready for the challenge, ready to fight for the victims and bring the killers to justice. And in the end, that was all that mattered.

fact or fictioninvestigationguilty
Like

About the Creator

Ender

Crucial topics and issues are written on this page

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.