Criminal logo

The Conversation

Little Black Notebook

By Ebony PalmerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Stewart pressed the .380 firmly to the back of Ursula's head. Ursula was barely responsive to the gun's nudges as she sat with her hands and feet bound to the steel chair. Ursula's body was drenched in blood and sweat. The 9x9 concrete room felt damp. It stunk of sewer water and cement. Rats squeaked in the vents over their heads. There were only three bulbs lit of the eight plastered on the ceiling.

"Where is it, Ursula?" Stewart asked. He ejected the .380's cylinder, spun it, and snapped it back into place.

Ursula stammered, "I, I, I don't have it. I swear I don't."

Stewart sucked his teeth, "You see, that's not the answer I was hoping to hear. Oh well, here we go."

Stewart tapped the center of Ursula's head aggressively with the gun. He cocked it.

The sound ignited all of her senses. She panicked.

"Wait! Wha-, what are you doing? I told you I didn't have it! Don't do-"

Stewart pulled the trigger, but luckily, a bullet wasn't release from it.

Ursula screamed, cried, and begged for him to reason with her.

"Please don't do this! Please don't do this! I swear to you," she pled her case. She attempted to wiggle her hands and feet free from the chair, yet the ropes' thread cut deeper into her skin. The cords were stained with her blood, exposing open skin.

"I'm going to ask you one more time, Ursula. Where. Is. It?" Stewart spun the gun's cylinder again. He cracked his neck, inhaled, then exhaled. This time, he caressed the top of her spine with the short-barrel

"Ursula, Ursula, Ursula. That small black notebook could be the death of you. I just want what's mine. Now, I'm going to ask you again," Stewart cocked the gun and rested it atop of her vertebrae, "where is it?"

Ursula's entire body trembled as she anticipated the shot. Stewart pulled the trigger again. Ursula flinched then sobbed once she realized she was still alive.

"It seems as if Lady Luck is on your side today. It seems as if fate may have other plans for you. Or maybe I'm just dragging my feet. So. I'm going to ask you one last time. Where is my black notebook?" Stewart demanded as he met her eye to eye and pressed her gun again her temple.

Goosebumps coated Ursula's body from head to toe. She witnessed Stewart's eyes fill with rage while she consumed his breath's stench. Stewart fumed. His breaths increased.

"Ok. I'm feeling rather gracious today. Let's shift gears then. Maybe I'm not asking the right question. Who has my black book, Ursula?"

It was as if Ursula had seen a ghost. Stewart's entire disposition changed right before his eyes. The eyes in eyes slowly dissipated, and his face became less tense.

A dehydrated Ursula whispered, "I-, I-, I-, I don't want-. "

Stewart squeezed the trigger, "Aht, Aht. You can't use that line anymore. I need a name, and I need it now."

Ursula contemplated her words. She knew to choose wisely.

"Alright. Ok. I'll tell you who has it. But you have to promise to let me go," Ursula panted.

"Deal?" Stewart suggested. "You still from me. From my empire. Suddenly, I have to agree to a deal with you to retrieve my possession?"

"That's the deal, Stewart. It's the only way you will get it back. Take it or leave it," Ursula declared with the little bit she mustered up.

Stewart stood erect. He flung open the gun's cylinder again. This time, he kicked Ursula's chair to the grown. The cold slab that was once beneath her feet was now consoling her face. Ursula felt even more disoriented from that angle.

"Nah. No deal!" Stewart squatted right in front of Ursula's face. He planted the gun deep into her temple.

Stewart repeatedly cocked the gun and squeezed the trigger, "One, two, three," he numbered each pull and release accordingly.

Ursula begged and pleaded during each number Stewart said aloud, "No! Please! Don't!"

Stewart stood erect again. He gripped the gun and pointed to her Ursula.

"In case I wasn't clear, I didn't like your deal. Just so you know, there is a bullet inside this gun. Somewhere, to say the least. And I believe you're about to get to know it intimately. Unless you tell me exactly what I want to know. Now, that's the deal," Stewart slowly cocked the gun. Ursula cringed as he slowly released the hammer.

Ursula interjected mid-release, "No! Ok. I'll tell you. It's Bella. Bella has it."

Stewart paused to digest the information. "Bella, you say?"

"Yes! Bella! I swear to you. Now, please. Let me g-."

Stewart pulled the trigger. As promised, there was indeed a bullet in the chamber.

fiction
2

About the Creator

Ebony Palmer

I am an educator and writer, and I love nothing but to cheer others on during their journey on this crazy roller coaster called "life". I desire to inspire, to encourage, and to remind people how truly great and unique they are. Follow me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.