Criminal logo

The Break In

A short story

By BLACK YOUTH CULTUREPublished 5 years ago 7 min read
Like
Queens, New York

It was Saturday. About 11:36 PM. Me and my boys were just chilling in my house in Queens, New York. Although it's New York City, where it's busy and full of lights and noises... that didn't stop the man who thought it was cool to bust into my crib.

We were all chilling in my living room playing the playstation. It's what our life basically revolves around. We ordered pizza and had a bunch of foods and beverages, because some more people were supposed to come over and hang out with us. It was going to be lit because normally my parents don't allow people to come over our house, and I always have to go to other's houses. This time I got to make the rules and chill in the comfort of my own house.

My parents were gone for the weekend for a little vacation since they're always busy working. My older sister left to go to her boyfriend's house and spend the night. The funny thing is that my parents don't even allow her to spend the night at boys' houses, but I promised not to tell on her if she didn't tell on me. She just said no smoking so it doesn't leave a smell in the house since our parents would arrive by tomorrow, Sunday afternoon.

Oh... I forgot... My name is Marquise.

The Enemy

It was 12:40 AM... my house was packed with students from my high school. We were blasting music and getting smacked. For those who don't know what smacked means, it means, getting high and or drunk.

There was a knock on the door so I told my boy, Lamar, to go check and see who it was. I watched from behind trying to get a better look at who it was, and it was three boys. I knew them from somewhere, but I couldn't remember where. I squeezed through all the people and came closer to the door. The boy in the front looked at me with his hoodie low and grilled me. I grilled him back, because I realized who he was.

His name was Tymir. Two years ago in 10th grade, we had an altercation in his hood over there in Brownsville, Brooklyn where a party took place. He had fought one of my bros, and you now I ain't going to to just let him do that so we jumped his ass. He was left with a black eye, and the fight went viral on Facebook.

Tymir chuckled along with his friends, pushed Lamar out of the way and said in an aggressive voice "Excuse Me! I'm tryna get lit." I stopped him with my hand and he looked me up and down.

I said, "Where the hell you think you going? I ain't invite you or you punk ass friends."

Lamar stepped closer to me and came to my ear saying, "Let me in here, or else I'm shutting this shit down."

I knew what he was capable of. I also knew what I was capable of, and we all stay packing (keeping a gun on us)... I refuse to destroy my parent's house. We stared at each other for a little bit with fire in our eyes.

"Man whatever... don't fuck up my house that's all I know, or you getting the hell out of here."

Tymir brushed pass me and headed straight for the girls.

Something Strange

It was after 3:00 AM, and a lot of people had already left the party. It was ten of us left. Me, four girls, Lamar, my friend Wilson, Tymir, and his two homeboys. I still didn't understand why the hell Tymir was still here, but I was too high to even argue with him.

"What time is it?" Tanya asked, "It's late and my mother gone kill me if I walk in her house this time of night."

There was a five second awkward silence.

"Girl just spend the night here, and we can get up early and leave. Tell ya mom you're spending the night at my place," Keisha responded.

We all talked and laughed a little while watching a movie. Then... there it was *eeeeekk* I didn't pay it much mind, because I just assumed it was something outside or something broken. Then for the second time, the sound happened again with a loud bang. That's when all of us stopped talking and looked at each other with shocked expressions.

"Oh hell nah, what was that?" Lamar jumped up.

We didn't answer because we were busy trying to stay quiet and listen for the noise again.

I got up and went to go look out of the window, then I seen something run pass. Yah already know how I get down. I will shoot whoever out there. I glanced back at everyone sitting on the couch watching to see what I was going to do. Tymir and his friends said they were leaving and left. I locked the door behind them, and went in the kitchen to get a knife.

All of us stayed together in the living room to be safe. Then again... another sound. It sounded like someone's keys had dropped. The noise came from upstairs. If we're all downstairs... who the hell is up there?

Missing

The lights had all gone out. Out of nowhere. We yelled a little, and then the sound of murmurs happened and a door slammed. Someone was playing games in my damn house, and this game was about to come to an end.

The lights came back on and Tanya and Keisha were gone. I'm from New York City... I don't play that. Me and my boys had terrified looks on our faces. I grabbed my knife, Lamar grabbed his taser, and Wilson grabbed his knife too. We quietly searched around the house. I called my niggas from around the corner to drive around my house, and see if they seen anyone. They honked twice to let me know they were on the mission.

Wilson yelled "Oh Shit!!"

Lamar and I flew up the stairs to see what happened.

It was Tanya and Keisha tied up to chairs in the middle of my bedroom with duck tape on their mouths. I was ready to kill someone now. I walked back out of the room and came down stairs...

"ahhh" someone was grabbing me from behind.

I elbowed them in their stomach. We started fighting in the dark crashing into the wall and then into my couch. Someone else tried grabbing my boy Lamar who was rushing down the stars screaming

"Ayo!! I got you bro!" Wilson turned the lights on, and the guys were dressed in all black with ski masks on.

I snuffed dude in his face and he knocked out.

Unmasked

I struggled to get up off of the floor. Blood oozing from my lip. I began crawling towards the body disguised in all black. I looked over at Lamar who was walking around the house, searching and yelling to see if anyone else was in the house. Wilson ran upstairs to check on the girls, and make sure they were okay. I pulled the mask off of partially to see their face... Just who I should've expected. It was Tymir. He set us up. Him and all his people. It was revenge from the last time we were at a party together. All of this was huge set up. He never wanted to "party" with us.

The nigga had his boys make noise outside of my house to distract us from thinking he was apart of it. His friend was knocked out as well on my living room floor. One of them was trying to get up.

I grabbed him and smacked the hell out of him then yelled, "Get out my house. I'll get yah asses back sooner or later, it ain't over yet."

Lamar opened the front door and I pushed Tymir's friends out. Then, I pulled his other boy out, and dragged him to the corner.

Tymir woke up and squinted to see where he was, and who was standing over him. While Wilson was getting the girls ready to take them home, Me and Lamar were about to handle Tymir's behind.

See you when I see you...

We pulled our phones out and recorded ourselves smacking Tymir around and making him clean my house up. It was 7:00 in the morning meaning my sister and my parents should be on their way back home later on. We made sure to have the video be posted on all of our social media. I bet he won’t mess with us anymore.

When he finished cleaning up everything. He gave us this cold look and said, “It ain’t over yet, boy.”

fiction
Like

About the Creator

BLACK YOUTH CULTURE

African American ; New York City

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.