Criminal logo

That time my door was kicked in

The last decade pt.1

By Phillip GrahamPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Last Day of Last Decade

Hey,

On January, 3rd 2010 someone kicked in my front door had for what? I have no idea. Me and the wife was had just went to bed around 3 ish in the morning, kids were sleep in the room at the top of the steps. “BOOM” then I heard a voice yelling “HELLO” as I jumped out of bed and headed downstairs. The front door was on the floor, I’m inspecting all areas downstairs and in the basement to make sure the assailant wasn’t still in the house. I go to the front door and someone yells “HE WENT THAT WAY” as if I was going to give chase with no way to protect myself. Shit! I was just happy it wasn’t as bad as it could’ve been, because that shit could’ve went left. So I leaned the door up against the door way so that people who’d walk pass wouldn’t just be able to look right in. The cops arrive, SMH I hear them yelling “Philadelphia Police” I go to move the door and it’s six police officers in a line with guns drawn, at this point I’m scared to death.. My heart’s racing, I’m sweating and I can’t breath. The police burst in the house pushing me on the wall gun to my back and I’m like were the ones who called you about what just happened. The officer replied “Do you live here?” I look at him with a look of disgust, the kids on the steps crying watching what was going on in the living room directly in front of them, my wife crying like “WE CALLED YALL” Offficer replies “I need some I.D”

Now mean while they never asked what happened, I tell him I need to go upstairs to get the I.D’s. I come downstairs gave him both of our I.D’s and of course they run our names but still not really interested in what happened. The officer looks at me and asked “WHY ARE YOU OUT OF BREATH” I tell him it’s just that I had guns pointed at me in front of my family and I had no idea why my door was kicked down.. At this point I’m like just leave and I’ll just figure something out, I did nothing wrong but of course I was the focal point, the heavy set black guy. The next morning I call the landlord and immediately ask to relocate. Needless to say no answers to who did it no follow up on our well being it just went away as if it never happened. SMH

To be continued.......

racial profiling
Like

About the Creator

Phillip Graham

Manger at Au Bon Pain & Delivery partner with Grubhub Holdings.

I have a few stories to tell also food reviews from different places from all over.. I’d like you to walk with me as I move through this adventure called life. Enjoy‼️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.