Criminal logo

Ride

A few hours driving a thief changed my life.

By Liane CarwardinePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1
Ride
Photo by HLS 44 on Unsplash

Low. That was the best way to describe myself just a week ago, and the years before that. So it's no wonder I did what I did.

I was nearly 30, no job, couch hopping with whatever friends I had left so I wouldn't have to sleep in my car, just your garden-variety loser. But after a few months no one wanted to put up with me leeching on their lives, and my car had to make do.

I drove around a lot, moving every few hours to avoid the cops. Maybe it was the lack of sleep that made me even consider the mans offer.

I was parked behind a busy shopping plaza, with a 24 hour mart, so I could rest a little easier with other cars around, no one would like twice at mine.

It wasn't dawn yet when I heard the passenger door open, the sudden panic snapping me awake from a dream I instantly forgot. I always locked my doors, so I don't know how he got in, but I immediately tried to get out. I was more flight than fight.

He was calm, and grabbed my sleeve, not in an aggressive way, but so lightly I could only just feel his fingertips.

"Hey there, friend, I just need a little help. I don't want to rob you, I want to hire you." his voice was deep. I stopped moving with one leg out the door, his words fighting to get to my brain through a wall of adrenaline.

"Hire me?"

"Yes, right now, if you're agreeable. I just need you to drive."

"Drive? Drive where? Who the hell are you and why are you in my car?" I was angry now, annoyed at this strangers invasion on what little I had to call my own.

He picked up a backpack at his feet, opened it, and my heart dropped as he pulled out a wad of cash. He placed the bills, still in their colorful bank bindings, in my lap.

"Here's $20,000. I'll give you double that if you just start driving right now. I can explain as we go." he knew my answer before I did, because as he spoke he buckled his seatbelt.

I starred at the cash for what seemed like an eternity. I had never seen a fraction of this in my whole life, and here was someone offering me more to turn my ignition, how could I say no?

"Where do I need to go?" I asked, circling the plaza parking lot.

"Head north, we need to get out of town as fast as possible." He was undoing his tie. As I followed his instructions I glanced over at him. He was younger than me, early 20s, his brown hair styled in a hard line parting, gelled to perfection.

"Tell me what's going on." I hoped my voice sounded steady and assertive, because inside my heart was pounding.

"I need you drive me this morning, I need to make a couple stops then go to the airport. If you help me I'll pay you $40,000. That's all I can tell you. Will you do it?" he was calm but his face showed his nerves. I'd bet he was as freaked out inside as I was.

I didn't answer. I considered his offer as I drove out of the lot, heading the direction he wanted. I had always been motivated by a quick buck, and this was the biggest pile of cash I'd ever seen. I could feel its weight on my legs, and as I took a quick glance at the bills I ran my fingers along them, there were 10 bundles in all, and from the looks of it all in twenties, the purple binding told me each one contained two grand, all of it held tight with a rubberband.

"I don't want trouble." I replied, although in my heart I knew I'd take the deal. I was essentially a taxi, how bad could that be? As my passenger took what seemed to be a deep sigh of relief, I noticed for the first time he was wearing a suit.

"There won't be trouble. I just need a ride...I have an address, "at that he dug into his backpack again, and pulled out a small black notebook, and leafed through it until resting on a page halfway in, "Do you know where Winnie is? I need to drop something off there. It's about 20 miles north from here if you take the highway."

I nodded and continued to Winnie. I checked my gas gauge, I'd have enough to make it there, just. "I'll need to stop for gas when we get there. Maybe get some food." I hadn't eaten in nearly 2 days, unless you counted water and some dollar menu fries. He didn't reply, just flipped through his notebook.

The drive went quietly. As we reached Winnie, a small swamp town which didn't hold much interest to anyone, I pulled into a gas station. My employer didn't offer me anything, so I slipped two twenties from the bundle he'd given me, and silently went inside.

As I wondered the shelves of overpriced junk food, I realized how starved I actually was. Despite having so much cash stored under my seat, I was still uneasy about this. I grabbed 4 hot-n-ready egg and sausage sandwiches, and a case of waters. I figured feeding us both might ease the nervous vibe hovering in the car.

I handed him the food through the open window, registered the surprise on his face, and silently pumped the gas. When I finished, I sat in the car and wolfed down my breakfast.

"So what's your deal? Why are you giving me so much to drive you to the airport?" I asked between chews.

"My ride bailed at the last second. And I saw you sleeping in the parking lot, and figured we could help each other. And honestly the less I tell you, the better." he was solemn, and I couldn't find a way to get more details.

"Where are we headed?" I was finished with the sandwiches, and eager to get this all over with.

He consulted the notebook, "We're actually only a few blocks away, we need to hit Sparrow Street, we're looking for an apartment building."

"Why don't you just use your phone for the address?"

"I don't want anyone knowing where I was going. This is very important, if for any reason someone asks about you giving a ride to someone, you tell them I gave you a couple hundred to take me to the airport. Do you understand? We didn't stop anywhere except here for gas, and then straight to the airport. And don't tell them I gave you anymore than a couple hundred bucks." His eyes were as serious as his tone.

"Who's gonna come asking about you?" he thought for a moment before answering.

"Cops, FBI, but hopefully no one. It might not be a bad idea for you to avoid town for a few weeks. Can you handle that?"

I nodded, and we slowly made our way to Sparrow Road.

"Just wait here, I'll be out as soon as I can." I didn't reply, and watched the man sling his hefty bag over his shoulder, and make his way into an 6 story apartment building.

The street was quiet, as it was still early, but soon kids would be headed to school and the adults to work.

The building I was waiting outside of was as plain as they come, in need of a fresh coat of paint as the yellow it currently was was chipping badly.

As I sat in my car I reached under my seat and lifted the pile of cash back into my lap. Was he really giving me all this cash for a ride? There was so much I could do with it, but I was hesitant to get ahead of myself with something so unreal.

I'd spent the last decade since my parents death just barely scrapping along. I'd never had much ambition for anything, having enough money to keep a roof over my head and food in the fridge was enough. And despite my disbelief at this situation, this pile of bills had me thinking of all the possibilities they could provide. Maybe I could actually be something, do something worthwhile.

It took nearly 15 minutes before the suited man came back out again. A few feet from the car, a woman was running after him, sobbing quietly. He turned around, and she embraced him. He spoke quietly to her, and she forced a smile through her tears before turning back into the building.

"What was that about?" I asked. He sat down and closed the car door, placing the backpack between his legs.

"She was wronged, and I tried to make it right. Lets head to the airport, the next stop is only a mile or two away from it. And then I'll be out of your hair." he let out another long sigh and sat back, closing his eyes. I drove, not wanting to disturb him from wherever he was in his head.

The next stop was much quicker than the first. I only waited a few minutes, parked outside an assisted living facility less than a mile from the airport.

This time when he came out he looked sad, and his bag was noticeably lighter.

I was hesitant to ask, but did anyway, "Are you ok?"

"No. But things will be better now. I have a plane to catch." He was almost stern, so I hit the gas.

As I idled at the terminal dropoff, surrounded by cabs and shuttles, I felt an awkward silence creep over us.

"Thanks for your help, and remember what I said." He opened his pack, and he dug under some rolled clothes before pulling out another wad of rubberbanded money. "Thank you for helping me. I appreciate it more than you'll ever know." And with a nod he handed me the cash and slipped out of the car, following a shuttle group inside the double doors.

A rush of traffic forced me to leave. I decided to take his advice and not return to my usual grounds, there was nothing back there for me anyway. I drove the rest of the day, finally stopping at motel for the night, spending most of the paranoid, and counting the cash over and over again.

It was 2 days later I heard of the bank robbery. An employee cleared out the vault in the wee hours of the morning before escaping on foot, leaving a note behind that he was doing what he thought was right after seeing financial tragedy first hand, his only regret being he couldn't help more of what he called, "big businesses silent victims".

Some people hailed him a vigilante hero, others think he stole the money for himself.

No has come looking for me, far as I can tell. I've spent a week at this hotel, and I think this town has some potential. Time to find a place to put down roots. I need to find somewhere that won't question cash, I don't trust any bank at the moment, for more than one reason.

I hope that man makes it out ok. I wish I could tell someone about this. But I'll just have to busy myself with living, I won't waste this chance, I have a shot now.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Liane Carwardine

Southern aristocracy. Swamp Queen, Lady of the Gators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.