Criminal logo

Released from jail into a world of Pandemia!! pt 2.

I'm Rachel, a 30 yr old houseless female in Austin, Texas. I'm praying for the chance to get my life together, reunify with my daughter and make a difference now and for future generations to come. "Pandemaniac: one who is consumed by the reality that is closing in on their life and is clawing at their hope and faith in humanity"

By Rachel SchuylerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
H.O.B.O.S. with G.O.D. logo designed by Ian McClung

So I already explained in the previous part a bit about the current situation. It's Almost Thanksgiving one of those holidays that I loathe because of my lack of family growing up. I mean my mother lived in New Jersey after the state wouldn't let her draw social security because of child support that CPS was after even though they knew she had recently been diagnosed with C.O.P.D., hypoxia, abnormal sleep apnea, clubbing, diabetes, and lung cancer. Depending on where I was placed at the time some of the placements i.e. temporary shelters and group homes had some really cool things that we did like hockey games or the San Antonio Spurs would come out with large donated dinners or presents for Christmas. That's besides the point though...

Back to Daily Dilemma's though... So I used to live under the bridge not to far away from where I am now in a hotel room which was only supposed to be to give ourselves time to see if we could possibly be room mates with one of the only guys who lived under the same bridge as us but had a job and wanted to get a place. Lets call him "Welder" for all intent and purposes... "Welder" has his an older female dog that gets along with our Dog. His name is Kaido he's a 3 year old seizure response/treeing walker hound with pitbull mix. He is an A**hole for sure and you will probably hear alot about him through out my story. Any who, Him, my husband who I call "Babe" so much that even "Welder" does it lol.

It's your typical Wednesday morning about 3:56 am and I cant sleep as per usual. I think that comes from always having to watch anything I really wanted to keep since I don't always know any of the people I live with or what they are capable of... Lets Face it you all have seem horror movies... It does happen... I have met chicks out here who don't know their real names anymore or where they have been for the previous 2 months. And you ask them how or why and all they can say is "it's all just a blur everything kind of runs together..." Like that's an ok obvious answer...

Anyway I was released from jail April 6th, 2020 in San Antonio, Texas. Mind you I have been homeless in Austin for the past 6 maybe 7 years on the run from Bexar County charges. It's like 2:56 a.m. and I don't talk to anyone from San Antonio anymore. My brother is obviously not answering, had to borrow a phone or charger from another releasee to call him. Called my husband and he answered and is just exhausted by the sound of his voice. He starts freaking out because he didn't know it was going to happen that fast after getting my time served sentencing in court that morning. Now I am a felon.... made it almost 31 years before I became my mother... Damn attorney said he's pretty sure that's not going to matter too much longer. My side bunky was released also and she said to let her borrow my phone and her and I can walk to her boyfriends house and stay till morning then I have to find a ride. I am pretty sure my brother will pick me up and take me back to Austin in the morning so we begin walking through the hood at 3 am towards her boyfriends house.

Now 2 days late from when I started this part 2, Hope everyone had a Happy Thanksgiving Day and that we all remembered to wash our hands etc so as to not spread COVID farther. Anyway you might be wondering how I could just drift off for 2 whole days in the middle of writing a part of this... Easy, see as a hobo I am living hand to mouth literally. Each day I have to make sure to come up with the extremely blessed discounted

room rate of usually 56.10 to 63.99 a night. Then I have to figure out food for breakfast/lunch for my dog Kaido, husband and myself and whoever else happens to be around using either the shower or the electricity to charge and warm up since its now getting as low as 31 degrees Fahrenheit at night and 51 during the day. It's extremely hard also to transition from being homeless to indoors as well as to keep away from other "criminals" and their activities being that we all kind of rely on one another when we need something or someone to watch our shit so we can go get stuff done.

So it's 12:35 p.m. on the 30th of November now and we just barely were able to pay the room rent for the day thank heaven for one of those friendly hobo neighbors who comes over to shower and charge every so often. I woke up with NO cigarettes, no soda or anything other than water to drink, nothing to eat (that I enjoy for breakfast anyway). No coffee even ugh!! Then hobo neighbor shows up with exactly what we need to pay rent for the day and enough to buy a pack of smokes. I can't even find my sign to go fly for rent or food money. But then again it could be worse... Now I have a visit with my daughter virtually at 12:30 and a meeting scheduled with a client supposed to start at 12 and last 20 minutes but of course they are running late so now I have to cancel the visit with my baby girl. Still haven't heard from this client, but money is obviously of great importance. See we got behind because of the hotel in the first place but that's a whole other story....

Knock Knock.... that must be the client I'll explain in part 3 I guess have a blessed day until we meet again!!

incarceration
1

About the Creator

Rachel Schuyler

Hi! I'm 31 and I am a "classy hobo" have been my entire life basically... well since I was about 13 off and on running from foster care, Now to hopefully share a day to day life story of a real live girl hobo... ME!! hopefully anyway...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.