Criminal logo

Released from jail into a world of Pandemia... part 4

I'm Rachel a classy 31 year old homeless chick in Austin, Tx. I'm currently trying to transition from homelessness into being in an apt, abstain from drug use, heal my relationship with my husband, and win a cps case that I just was awarded 6 more months in.

By Rachel SchuylerPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
photo of Rachel Schuyler taken by: Eddie Gasbar

So Part 3 I was telling you about how Olivia and I were separated in January 2020. She was still nursing and only 4 and a half months old. Illegal eviction led to me being arrested for a warrant which I was scheduled to meet with the Downtown Austin Community Court about on the upcoming Monday. The police arrested me and witnessed my verbal consent to place my daughter with my biological brother until I got out of jail. I know they planned to let the landlord call crime stopper on me and my husband so that they would not have to take us home with them. My brothers wife then of course not being able to have another baby herself and having just bonded with Olivia on our last trip to La Vernia of course was not going to take my husband home with them. She called crime stopper on him. So we are both arrested Jan. 30th, 2020.

Now this Pandemic stuff started over seas in like December. We had not had anyone in the U.S. I believe until around Dec. or Jan. 2020 but I'm not 100%. Any way so these charges to which we are arrested on are warrants from felony forgery charges allegedly committed 2014 and 2016. We were paid for a contracted job with checks that had been stolen from an elderly woman and altered. I had been on the run loosely on and off for about 12 years give or take. Meaning I was unable to go to the DMV to get a new state id so getting a job was slim to none as far as chances go. Of course that means no renting a place either... I had scheduled an appointment with the DACC to start working on my charges from the outside because I was breastfeeding Olivia almost exclusively and I was hoping to not have to go to jail to get the charges taken care of but oh well.

inside my bridge loft when I got out of jail

So while I was in jail apparently my sister in law couldn't follow directions and wait until I could sign temporary guardian ad litem before she takes Olivia in for her check up. She was a month behind on her shots at the time because we were waiting for the medicaid to transfer to the new address. She took her anyway and of course the doctors in La Vernia would not see her without my permission. I am assuming that the doctors office is who alerted cps but I am not entirely sure. I know my brother called me and said that the cps investigator showed up and asked a bunch of questions like usual and said that they would be back the next night to pick her up. My brother told me that they showed up and had no warrant and that his wife was the one who spoke to them. Apparently she ran her mouth telling them that she found drugs and paraphernalia in my rv when she cleaned it 2 months after it had been sitting on her property without me because I was incarcerated.

The loft my husband built for me while I was still in jail.

So somehow the unfit mother not only got my daughter removed without my permission, but also got the cps investigator and the department believing that my 1 yr sobriety was bogus and the case was then considered a family drug court case. Ok so my husband gets out of jail on pre trial on Feb. 14th, 2020. at this point the COVID-19 has become a Pandemic and everyone is supposed to practice social distancing and no one is supposed to leave there homes. I was already taking parenting classes while in County since I wasn't even issued any paperwork about my daughters removal until the day after she was taken. I'm in jail freaking out about every person who coughs or sneezes because they are not keeping the newbies at main jail to make sure they were past the incubation period (2-14 days). The store quit coming for commissary, and they stopped all the classes etc., they discontinued all face to face visitation also.

Life went on... barely... my husband was out of jail in the wintery weather with our poor service dog Kaido, who after this being the 3rd time he has had to see me get arrested at gunpoint by the police, is quite traumatized by then. So the charge in Travis county is a violation of the probation motion to revoke warrant out of Bexar County. So Travis County went ahead and gave me a p.r. bond again which is highly unlikely pre pandemic but in light of the state of emergency the judges were allowing for a lot of people previously unqualified were now allowed... That being said I was transferred to the worst jail I think I've been in besides that of Durant Oklahoma, the "Bexar Trap" aka Bexar County Adult Detention Center. They were even worse as far as sanitation goes and that's originally why I began writing news companies. The girls in both jails that were not going to get the pandemic treatment were frantic and I knew that all the release girls were not going to follow through with their promises so I did.

Now fast forward back to today... Happy Valentine's Day by the way!! Today is February 14th, 2021. My husband and I have finally by the grace of a really understanding and helpful lady been able to secure a home. $3600 deposit, $500 hold deposit while we came up with that money, and $1200 rent a month with the last months deposit spread over a span of 4-6 months adding 200 to 400 to each months rent and we moved in Feb. 1st after a grueling 8 month stay at the Extended stay hotel that was shown in the PBS news hour "Searching for Justice episode 2" interview. We were recently awarded a 6 month extension on our cps case which honestly I should not be dealing with since the department has been contempt from the very beginning. So we were thinking that we just had to show the stable housing for 6 months to get Olivia back home but we were not aware that the mediation was to attempt to terminate our rights based on the fact that we haven't been letting the caseworker know every detail because she will just assign more to do and or say that it doesn't satisfy the court the way we did it... which is what happened... So anyway

Today is Valentine's day and it's freaking snowing, my Kaido is being a terd because he is soo tired of sitting around with this weather. He needs to run like 4 hours a day, usually like 2 hrs is enough but with the weather being the way ot is no one wants to walk him. I mean he is a pain to walk in the first place but in the blistering 20 degree weather with the slick side walks and crazy snowing it's even harder on him. I want to write these more but it aggravates my husband that I am busy not spending time with him enough and since it is Valentine's day I'm gonna have to end this one without a cliffhanger... But I definitely still have soo much more to tell ya so tune back in a few days... I am going to try to write more often or at least routinely so wish me luck!!

To Be Continued....

incarceration
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Schuyler

Hi! I'm 31 and I am a "classy hobo" have been my entire life basically... well since I was about 13 off and on running from foster care, Now to hopefully share a day to day life story of a real live girl hobo... ME!! hopefully anyway...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.