Criminal logo

Reason First: Delaware Mammy Arrested After Attempting to Rob Banks

A woman finds herself in prison for trying to knock over TD Banks

By Skyler SaundersPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Reason First: Delaware Mammy Arrested After Attempting to Rob Banks
Photo by PiggyBank on Unsplash

In such a small city in a small town, who knew that someone would be so brazen as to try to knock over TD Banks around Delaware and Pennsylvania?

For LaShawnda Jones, she took to heart the mantra “if you steal it, they won’t come.” She was absolutely wrong. After coming up with not even a red cent from the various sites, LaShawnda found herself in police custody. When the cops had been tipped off that a maroon Nissan Altima had been seen at several TD Bank locations in the Wilmington, Delaware area, they set up surveillance of other places of business that transact funds.

Once they had completed a thorough investigation into the matter, Mammy Jones had been caught. The police had noticed her trying to flee to her vehicle upon seeing the authorites. She had parked in a TD Bank lot on Concord Pike. Law enforcement found a large kitchen knife among her possessions and charged her with attempted robbery, wearing a disguise while committing a felony and carrying a concealed deadly weapon, all felonies.

This could’ve all been prevented. If Mammy had only discovered the virtues of independence, honesty and productiveness, she would’ve been sitting in a Maybach Mercedes Benz as an entrepreneur and not a wannabe thief. Even if she had not been a business owner, she could’ve been a straightlaced worker, upstanding in the neighborhood.

No, she chose to be a fellow inmate at the Baylor Women’s Prison as a result of her crimes.

She came up with no money (thankfully) and couldn’t even post bail. LaShawnda represents the woman who felt she had no options. She felt she had no plan to acquire dollars the legal way. Her sheer lack of intelligence led to her downfall. Mammy Jones brought herself down as a result of not thinking.

If she had demonstrated how she had to feed herself or her family, then a myriad of organizations would have stepped up to aid her in her hour of need. She could have found private charity to supplement her wants, needs, and desires.

This is yet another bad actor that paints an ugly portrait of Delaware, especially Wilmington. In an age where crime has ravaged the town, it’s the people like Mammy Jones that lowers the standards of moral individuals who live in the state and, in particular, the city.

If she had completed her mission of robbing banks, what would that have warranted her? Would she have beeen happy or be constantly looking over her shoulder and around corners wondering if she would’ve been caught?

This may be the best option for her. It’s starting to get colder in the Northeast Atlantic states. The prison will be warm, provide food and clothing and she’ll probably complete work while confined. There will most likely be educational opportunities and nights for entertainment all wrapped up in the programs provided by taxpayers.

If she is wise, Mammy Jones will take to heart the many chances for restitution that will be afforded her. The mistake that she made was not only to deceive and steal from others, which is supremely important. It is the fact that she threw away her record as an upright citizen. This Mammy had the chance to go through her adult life without a probable conviction hanging over her head. She could have applied herself to a trade on the outside instead of seeing time behind bars and making pennies on the dollar.

Mammy LaShawnda Jones should be held up as an example of what not to do with your life. This precious thing we have is long but it moves fast. Maybe in the time that it takes for her to serve her pending sentence, Mammy will wake up to the nonsense and look at herself in the mirror. She could better understand her faults and then seek to reap the benefits of penitence.

incarceration
1

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

Cash App: $SkylerSaunders1

PayPal: paypal.me/SkylerSaunders

Join Skyler’s 100 Club by contributing $100 a month to the page. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • P about a year ago

    I just saw this story earlier and was in awe. Like, people still try to rob banks? And she used the ol’ “pass a stealthy little note with my demands…” strategy. She already did time for the same exact fucking thing a couples years ago man. It was Commerce bank back then buttt….. yeah. Looking at shit from different perspectives leaves me incapable of judging or looking down on her. Surviving in this world is challenging at times dude. Desperate times call for desperate measures, ya know. With that being said… fuck going to jail. I’ll starve. Lol. I’m a single mom and work full time, pay all my bills, take care of my son make sure I can provide for him the things he needs & some of what he wants but guess what? I can’t afford fucking health insurance. My rent, car insurance, electric, phone bill, groceries, fuckibg LIFE eats up all my paychecks. I live in Delaware too. It’s not cheap to live here dude. I was literally crying about this earlier. It feels hopeless sometimes, overwhelming, and like… why?! I want to enjoy this beautiful life I’m blessed with. And I do for the most part. That feeling of defeat sneaks up on me every once in a while. Just focus on love and goodness and send out positivity and everything eventually works out. You gotta work for it though. I’m not overly religious but very spiritual and a few years ago I had a rough fucking patch. My ex was abusive, beat the shit out of me all the time & worse he started extinguishing my sunshine dude. I felt like a shell of the woman I was. I cried out loud to god, like, why am I forsaken. Help me. I can’t do this. Literally on my knees, crying, yelling this outloud…. Lmao. And a sense of calm came over me and I just knew I’d be okay. But I had to put in the work. I had to help myself. I’m not alone. I don’t know why I just went on this rant. Sorry dude. I guess reading that article earlier and then thinking damn, what’s going on in her life where this is what she resorted to got me thinking how I wish the world was different and people didn’t have to do stupid shit to survive. I hope she can heal and find her way. Let love in and grow. Sunshine & good vibes.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.