Criminal logo

Prison

Family

By Regina BrooksPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
thefinancialexpress.com

It's different when you have experience behind you than other people do. People don't know of the Crime Life. I see things differently. I feel like I talk differently too. Do I talk differently? Um... maybe. I know I do not have a southern accent, but I have been asked "where are you from?"

So, yes I live in the southern states of the United States of America. It's interesting living here because there are some parts of the land that are rural like country. Then there are other parts of land that are city which I prefer. The cityscape is what I prefer over the countryside even though one day I was digging the country. I was looking around and admiring the land. I love horses and peacefulness.

Neither here nor there but does it involve a crime? Okay, maybe my family in their history has had crime in it. Many families do. Today they are trying to make it one day at a time. Myself, I would never admit to actually what I have seen or heard. I have done nothing or seen anything.

My family and I tend to move around a lot. It keeps us busy and away from cops. We have been living in the countryside for a year now so it's about time to move. My family has decided to move into the city. They will be less noticed in a huge crowd of people and a large city as well. I love the city and the hustle.

The prison that is in the city is huge not to mention there is more than one prison. My best friend was sent to this prison in this big city. My family and I support them so much that we decided to move close to the prison. They are family even if they are not blood.

negativespace.com

We still have to do our family business which we will continue. We made some referrals down here and we are putting the word out ourselves. Our business is growing in our new district and city. I'm not the proudest to say this, but I have made a couple of friends in the "Blue Uniforms." I have made a couple of cop friends. They are pretty cool. Obviously, they don't know what I do for a living, but they are really cool. It kinda makes me feel bad, but nah.. we're good.

So our business is growing and we are making more friends as the days grow. My friend in prison is having a hard time. She is innocent and keeps telling me that they never did the crime. I need to find more help for my friend and more evidence. They are struggling with the walls that surround her daily. She talk to her attorney. Her attorney is good.

She tells me that she has made friends with a couple of the guards. They have just been friendly. They haven't shown her any favoritism over anybody else but she has expressed that it is hard. She did call me one day crying. She was crying so hard she couldn't talk. This upset me so much. I was calling up at the Correctional Facility that I could find. However, I could not find anyone to help me. I was so mad.

I knew my friend was trapped but I didn't feel the intensity until then. I felt her sting of her voice and in her tears when she cried. She was in so much pain and agony. How do I help her? How do I help my friend break through the chains, through the walls, or through the trauma she has experienced?

This is all true but not true. This is just a story I made up. However, this is true for somebody else who may be living this daily. This is true for many people living it daily. This is true for many people who have family or friends in the Correctional Facility. They may be trying to get them out because they are innocent. They may be just trying to get them out because they have done many many years in prison. They have done their time and then some. This may be true for some who just know someone in prison and you have been effected by it. This is the trauma of the environment outside (before the arrest) and the trauma outside which is the prison. The Prison Industrial Complex is very wide and covers a lot. I am just scratching the surface.

incarceration
Like

About the Creator

Regina Brooks

Freelance writer, dog lover, and working on my bachelor's degree in Psych at Uni of Phoenix. I love recycling. I try to make the environment a better place. I believe in positivity and showing others a smile instead of negativity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.