Criminal logo

Path Divided

Unusual Encounter

By Phyllis HoltPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like

The weather had been beautifully warm for several days, in fact unseasonably warm, which, while welcome, hinted at a long hot summer to come. After basking in undulating warmth, the kind that meant a sweater wasn’t required and a welcome reprieve after a long winter that hadn’t been harsh with minimal snow and even less rain, it was still a relief! And wouldn’t you know it, just when you were getting used to it, you woke up to misty skies and cool temperatures that had you reaching for the warmest sweater in your wardrobe!

Annabel sighed. All the better to take the hound for his early morning walk along the four-mile hike, well that was too strong a word, jaunt was more like it. She set the coffee to perk, hurriedly dressed and prepared for their jaunt. The pooch was filled with boundless energy, as always, but well trained and walked sedately by her side.

She nodded a welcome at other early morning devotees at the beginning of her jaunt, and Jersey her white and brown four-year-old springer spaniel sniffed appreciably. Halfway through their sojourn, however, Jersey slowed then planted his feet, the hair on the back of his neck well and truly up, followed by an unexpected snarl. “What the hell?” Annabel questioned aloud unable to see what he was upset about. “What’s the matter, boy? What do you sense?” Tension was palpable as Jersey moved back and planted himself directly lin front of her feet. “Well, that’s a definite protective mode if ever I’ve seen one.”

Just then a man rounded the corner, approaching from behind. Jersey growled, unsure whether to remain where he was or move to the other side. He settled on a halfway posture, his lip curled in concern.

“He’s ok, he won’t harm you,” she quickly assured the handsome man as he got closer.

“Any idea what has his hackles up?”

“None,” Annabel assured him, “Very unlike him, so I’m assuming it’s important.”

He gave his German Shepherd a stay command and he moved past continuing about five feet and then slid down the slight embankment until all she could see were his shoulders and then nothing as he bent down. Suddenly standing erect, cell phone in hand, he hopped up the embankment and said, “Please stay where you are. There’s a body down there.”

Annabel felt her face blanch as she stared through shocked eyes as her mind registered what he’d said. It had him moving quickly to her side with Jersey becoming even more unsettled. He reached down and patted him, “It’s ok, boy. I mean her no harm.” His quiet calm firm voice had him settling immediately. He gave his dog a quiet command and the dog moved to the spot where he’d moved down the slope, and quietly stood guard.

“Do you need to sit for a minute?”

“No, I’ll be alright, I-I’ve never come across anyone um deceased, it’s taken me by surprise is all.”

“I need to call this in. I’ll be a minute, sit if you need to, but don’t go beyond this point. Can’t contaminate the scene any further than it may have been already.”

When he turned away and began speaking into his cell, Annabel wondered if he were a cop since he seemed to know the protocol. It made sense, of course – find a body – call the cops, but there was something about his stance, his attitude, the sureness in his movements that suggested more.

As the minutes passed, Annabel stood with her arms wrapped tightly protectively around her body, her legs slightly spread straightening her back. “Damn this is scary not to mention inconvenient, ” she whispered to Jersey.

“Pardon?” the man asked turning to face her.

“Oh, nothing. I’m muttering.”

“You do that often?” he smiled a heartwarming smile that sent delightful shivers along her spine.

Grinning in turn Annabel remarked, “On occasion.”

“Detective Kealan Higgins. I’m with homicide.”

“Lucky you,” she remarked acidly.

At his surprised look she continued, “I didn’t mean that the way it came out. Good for whoever you’ve found, bad for everyone else. Oh, I don’t know what I mean, I’m a little shook. This isn’t an every day occurrence for me. You at least know what your doing.”

“Why don’t I take your statement, then you can be on your way.”

“I don’t have much to tell you, really,” Annabel shifted from foot to foot. “I guess I was just enjoying the coolness of the day, and the fact there weren’t many out and about just yet.”

“I guess I should start with who I am, Annabel Germaine…”she gave him her address and phone number, all of which he conveniently typed into a notebook on his phone.

When she spotted it, she remarked, “Handy.”

Looking sideways at her, Detective Higgins smirked, “Isn’t it?”

“You sound…are you a transplanted brit?”

“Why do you ask?”

“Oh, you have a slight but very delightful british accent, that and the name suggest your not from Canada or the States, not originally anyway.”

“Moved here about 10 years ago. Love Canada. Decided to stay and when I got the job, I was delighted to accept.”

“So, is this a normal time for your early morning walk?” he asked, once again all business.

“Close enough, a half-hour either day depending on when and how my day starts. If the creative juices are flowing, it could be hours before we head out, but I usually try to get our early morning walk in before that.”

“Did you pass any other hikers along the way?”

“Ya few, early on, then just a few feet from here, a man hurried on by, deliberately attempting to avoid making eye contact.”

“How so?” he questioned.

“Well, his wore his baseball cap low and the second he saw me, he hurried his pace and looked steadily at the ground.”

Higgins figured that since she was an artist, she’d probably be more alert and aware than most, “Can you describe him for me?”

“Yeah, six-foot, slender build, muscular though and his hair, what I could see of it contained a bit of salt and pepper, shaped nicely. Dark blue baseball cap, navy Adidas jacket, jeans, expensive hiking boots.”

“Have you ever seen him before, was he a regular do you think?”

“No, I’ve never seen him before. That may not mean much if he usually jogs at a different time, but having said that, I walk this course twice daily for the most part and I’ve never encountered him before this. “

His German Shepherd immediately gave an alert. “Excuse me,” Higgins said before joining the dog. Seconds afterward a couple approached from the opposite direction.

He produced a badge which he flipped open before speaking to the couple. Annabel watched them stiffened a shocked look taking up residence upon their faces. He had obviously alerted them to the situation and asked them to return the way they’d come from because after immediately grabbing onto each other for support, they sent a stupified look toward Annabel.

“Good boy Loki. Guard.” The dog took up his position once again.

“Would you be able to provide me with a sketch?”

“Yeah, sure. I can do that.”

“You think he may be involved in what happened?”

“Not sure at this point. A full blown investigation is necessary but it’s a valuable starting point.”

“Can I ask, is the victim male or female?”

“Female.”

“Didn’t want to contaminate the scene by asking you to take a look at the woman, but I have a photo on my cell. Would you mind seeing if you recognize her if she’s a regular?”

“Oh god, yeah, ok, I can do that,” Annabel steeled herself for what was to come. unsure what the photo might contain.

Holding his cell toward her, she bravely peered at the face of a young pretty woman, he figured was in her early twenties. Annabel saw a blond, with a slight build, wearing jogging clothes suggesting this was part of a regular routine for her. “I’ve seen her before, certainly. Ran passed her on many an occasion, and she’s usually alone, with headphones and always pleasant. A quick wave or nod that sort of greeting. Always appeared happy, always wore a smile.”

“Thanks.”

“I’ll stand guard here until the others arrive, your free to go, I have your address and if there’s any further follow-up, I’ll be in touch. Would appreciate that drawing when your able.”

“Yeah, give me your number, and I’ll call the second I’m done.”

He passed a card over with his name on it. “Ok then, I’ll be on my way.” She reached out to shake hands. “Um, take care.”

“You too, Miss Germaine.”

When Annabel arrived home, she was exceedingly unsettled. She consoled herself with the fact It wasn’t every day she or anyone else for that matter, witnessed such an occurrence. She mindlessly washed and dried the dogs dishes, replenished his water and food, her thoughts on the man she’d witnessed only moments before.

She immediately pulled her sketchpad in front of her and began drawing the man she’d seen. When she was pleased she had drawn a good likeness, she texted Detective Griffin’s phone to ask if he wanted her to send a pic over the phone, or if he wanted the drawing itself.

Immediately he texted back, “Please, send me the pic now, and I’ll pop by for the original a bit later. Thank you.” She smiled.

Scanning the morning paper, deciding most of what she’d read was drivel, particularly the cities decision to pass a leash law for cats she commented, “How ridiculous is that?” Peering down at the pooch she said, “Doesn’t the city have more important considerations? Like taking care of the homeless situation, keeping the roads and streets clear during the winter – as I recall, they ran out of money last winter and couldn’t shovel the four feet of snow off the damn road! Yeah, I’m sure there are far better ways of spending our hard-earned tax dollars!”

Still feeling unsettled, she showered, dressed, fixed her hair and makeup and headed out. Placing her beloved pooch in his seat belt, giving him a quick pat, she drove toward the doggy store. She needed a new toy. At least that was her excuse. Not that Jersey didn’t have a half dozen already, but well…she liked to spoil him.”

Spotting Timmy’s she decided to grab a large double-double coffee and muffin before heading home. Arriving at the front door, Jersey once again acted up, growling, and pawing at the door. Unnerved, Annabel hustled back to her car and called Detective Higgins since he was the only cop she knew. When he answered she said, “Hey, it might be nothing, but then again, I’m not sure. For the second time today, Jersey’s acting up. Growling and pawing at my front door. I came back to the car to call you, I’m a little concerned about entering the premises.”

Considering everything that had transpired so far, he wondered if it connected. Hopping into his unmarked car, he hit the lights and sped toward her address.

Slamming the car into park, he jumped out of the vehicle and raced to where she sat. “Hi. We have to stop meeting like this,” he chided.

“Yeah, if only.”

“Stay put, I’ll go have a look. Was your door locked?”

“Yeah, always.”

Drawing his gun from his holster, he tried the nob and found the door unlocked. It hadn’t been forced open…which wasn’t a good sign. Once inside, he quickly called out identifying himself and moved from room to room. When he was sure the house was clear, he walked to the front door motioning to Annabel Germain.

She left her dog in the car and joined him on the front step. ” There’s no one here now. Your door wasn’t locked which means that someone gained entrance to your residence. Don’t touch anything but have a quick look let me know if anything, in particular, is disturbed or missing, will you?”

Carefully, Annabel moved through each room. “A few papers pushed around, things probably lifted because they aren’t stacked neatly, but I don’t see anything missing…wait!”

“What?”

“The sketch, the sketch of the man I saw on the path earlier, it’s gone.”

“Where was it last?”

“Laying on the kitchen table beside the sketch pad.”

“We’ll need to fingerprint your place.” After a momentary pause he added, “Glad you sent me a photo when you did.”

“Yeah, not that I can’t re-create it, of course. The dunce should have realized that if I could produce one copy I could make more.”

“Yeah, I was thinking the same thing.”

“Do you have anywhere else anyone else you could stay with for a few days as a safety precaution?”

I have a bed set in my art studio.”

“That may be too obvious a place to stay. If he’s been here, he surely knows your an artist and he’d have found your gallery by now.”

“I could go stay with Amber and Ted. They have a large house on the lake. It’s not easily accessible and quiet. I can give them a call and see if it’s alright with them. In fact, I have a bunch of art supplies already there so it would make for a great working holiday.” She liked the idea already.

“Sounds like a plan.” When she didn’t move, he added, “I’ll wait.”

“Oh, right.” She called Amber’s cell and she answered immediately. She didn’t explain the circumstances but asked if she could come and spend a few days with them and what they needed in the way groceries promising to pick the items up on her way over.”

“Great, I’m looking forward to it, see you in a few,”she promised.

“Good, that’s taken care of. I’ll grab some clothes and be on my way.”

Detective Higgins was pleased to hear she was leaving. The situation had just become a hell of a lot more complicated he thought.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Phyllis Holt

A Self Published eBook Novelist - Blog & Reviews of Books, Films, Authors & Music since 2016. Writer, Humorist, Cheesecake lover, and cat enthusiast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.