Criminal logo

Parasitic Paradise

Chapter 2

By Emily Nichole LewisPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

CHAPTER 2

Okay Madds look at the map on your phone it should only be three blocks, it couldn't be that hard to get to this place. She thinks as she looks at her phone using it to guide her.

DING! DING! "'You should know I miss you like crazy Madds!!'" She stops dead in her tracks. OK! the only other person in this world who ever called me Madds was my Dad, this is not possible. not at all!!! "'OKAY! WHO THE HELL ARE YOU!!!'" she typed violently as she kept walking, not quite paying attention to where she was going. Running straight into the guy walking towards her, both looking down at their phones. They collided and hers went flying through the air like a projectile missile.

"OH Shit! I am so sorry!!" she held her hand out to man she had knocked down, "Here let me help you up."

"Oh, you're fine, I wasn't quite paying...." He looks up and after brushing the dirt off of him and stops.

"What? Is there something on my face? what are you looking at?" Maddy insisted not understanding why he was staring at her.

"Oh no! there's nothing on your face," he grabs her hand and she helps him up. “I was, umm, shocked to see a such a pretty face behind such force." He said smiling as she helped him up. "I'm Jaxson, Jaxson Barrett"

"Hello Jaxson," She said embarrassed "I'm Maddison Bryne, but you can call me Maddy for short." She smiled back at him as he brushed the dust off and picked her phone up off the ground.

"I think this belongs to you, but it's a little cracked. I can replace it if you want." He said handing it to her.

Wow he's so handsome...how old he is. Maddy thought to herself for a second before answering,

"Oh no it's fine, it's just a cheap phone. Didn't think it would last too long anyways, besides I was the one who knocked you down." She fiddled with her hair for a second. "And for that I'm sorry, I'm a little scattered brained at the moment trying to find this damn high school!" she exclaimed looking down at her feet. Trying not to look at him, but could feel his eyes smiling at her.

"Hey no worries, I'm headed that way anyways I'm a senior, Oceanside, right?" He laughed and grabbed her shoulder to ensure her she was alright from knocking him down. she finally looked up at him.

"Yea. That's right, first day. Woot, not." She shook her head. "Well let's go we're gonna be late, I'll follow you." She looked down at her cracked phone "Can't use this thing for directions anymore." she shurgged.

"Ha-ha, yeah, no kidding," He started walking "Follow me."

"OK but are you sure this is the right way? When my phone was working it said that way," She said pointing at the street behind them.

"Oh, yea you definitely don't want to go that way, bad neighborhood. So, I learned a shortcut, come on" He grabbed her hand and pulled her along.

"Kay" She smiled shyly and followed. They walked for a little while in silence, not really knowing what to say to this new guy; Who is actually pretty cool.

"So, where you from anyways?" Jax Asked, Oh, thank god he broke the silence. Maddy thought

"We moved here from a little town in the middle of nowhere. I'm not really from anywhere. We have moved around so much in the last thirteen years that I don't even know where I'm originally from." She said with a strange tone in her voice.

"Well, that's odd, never met anyone who doesn't know where they're from." He said looking over at her pointing down the side street, "School is right down this way." She could see the big blue and white building with waves on the side. "I'm originally from Ocala, we moved here when I was nine. So, this has pretty much been home since then." He smirked and looked over at her. "Mom's a flight attendant and dad's a celebrity lawyer. He was a car salesman in Ocala but now he drives a Bentley and has no time for family. We don't talk much, they got a divorce two years after we moved here so it's pretty much been me and mom my whole life. I don't know why I'm telling you all this, it's a lot to take in." He said reluctantly. "I'm sorry."

"OH! No don't be! I know how it feels, it's been me and my mom for as long as I can remember. My dad vanished when I was little so it's really, honestly, all good"

She smiled up at him. "Not like I really knew the guy but you know I can still relate, kind of" she snickered, bumping him in the ribs with her elbow.

"Yea. Well hey, They stepped up to the front of the school. "If you need help finding home room I can show you the way. Plus I kind of like talking to you. You're co.."

"JAX COME ON WE'RE GOING TO BE LATE!" A tall, skinny, blonde haired girl in a cheerleading uniform cut him off. she was standing inside the big glass doors leading to the main commons area.

"No, it's okay, looks to me like your needed..." Nodding over to the cheerleader waving her hands back and forth trying to get his attention.

"Alright, well maybe we can meet up later?" He asked awaitng confimation or denial. The cheerleader ran over to him and grabbed his hand "COME ON JAXSON!" she snarled at Maddy "Find your own man, freak." She pulled him away.

"I'll see you around Maddy!" He yelled back at her as he was drug by the small girl down the long hall. "See ya!" She quietly whispered. Well I was hoping he would have walked me to homeroom I have no idea where I am. she thought to herself looking around. Hum I wonder if that's the office, I could go in there and ask for help. she thought looking at the massive wooden doors leading to a huge glass box office. Smack dab in the middle of the two long halls. Well Madds let's give it a try.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Emily Nichole Lewis

Hey, I'm Ems! I write imaginative stories with lots of feelings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.