Criminal logo

New chains, Same Shackles

Part 1

By Samuel RomeroPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
New chains, Same Shackles
Photo by Samuel Rios on Unsplash

I can feel the corners closing in as I sit on my knees covered in sweat in the corner of an empty dark unsettling silent room, as I raise my head I can see a bright white light spreading from the corner of the room. I can't tell if I’m shrinking or the room is growing. I stand and take off towards the light, but suddenly begin falling and I awake. gasping for air as my father stands at the corner of my bed with an empty wet rusty metal bucket, chuckling as I lay there drenched in freezing wail water as I stare at the clock that read 5:00 a.m. “get up and get on ready he hollers at me” as I jump out of bed soaked, exhausted and yawning stretching my limbs out. I take a quick five-minute cold shower before I head into the kitchen for a cup of black bittersweet coffee. a couple of minutes go by in the distance a honk goes off, and I yank my cup of coffee and head out towards the entrance gate. before I could mount onto the truck my father stops me and blurts out to me on heading towards my uncle's ranch by the riverside on horseback and assisting him in burying a cow he found dead deep in the woods. So I head out back and tack up Daisy, a pinto shire horse I was gifted on my 16 birthday along with my 22. rifle. we head out towards the outskirts of the village by the riverside, its a very vegetive path that could only be made by horseback, from long lush branches to a razor-edged grass, macaws flying over me, spider monkey swinging chanting thru the trees, the hollow echoing sound of the strong current of the miles-wide river. as I approach the ranch, the path leads down towards the riverside I whistle out for my uncle Neto as I ride along the river. I catch a slight whistle coming up ahead on the other side of the river, he comes out of the woodworks and directs me towards a shallow, steady part of the river where ill be able to cross with daisy. As were crossing something frightens her and she jumps up. I fall back headfirst into the shallow water onto the river bed with my rifle strapped onto my side it misfires on impact into the tree the monkeys start howling and the birds scatter. Daisy runs towards my uncle with her tail swishing, high head carriage rocking, and her teeth grinding completely frightened. As I kneel there light-headed, my uncle tries to get Daisy under control and screams out to me if I’m ok. I replied with the ok hand gesture, stand and walk towards Daisy and we head up onto the tree line and towards the deceased cow. on our way there he explains to me they had already dug the hole and thrown the cow in the previous day with men they hired. On arrival, I notice the dirt beneath the cow was unreasonably soft as if they threw dirt back in before throwing in the cow which was odd and completely unnecessary. But what also captivates my attention the most was the cow's state. it was torn apart its intestines shredded, its jaw mangled, utterly viciously mutilated, by whatever predator it, unfortunately, crossed paths with. As he’s scooping dirt, and I’m throwing rotting wood into the hole, its head shift, and I catch a glimpse of a gleamy, silver, eagle-shaped belt buckle that vaguely seemed familiar.....To be continued

I understand the grammar, formatting, and word placing may be way off, in my defence its my first piece of writing. Any feedback is appreciated.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.