Criminal logo

My First Break-In

(Yeah, I Was An Idiot)

By The Ex-Burglar: How to Protect Your Home/Business/Property/Loved OnesPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like
I am ready to hit it big!

My First Break In

My next-door neighbor’s son and I were friends. I hung out over at their house from time to time. His parents didn’t like me, but they were decent people. This is why remembering this shit is so painful. I look back at all of the bad decisions I made and who I affected by my actions. It is messed up, but trust me, the end of this life story makes it all worth it… hang in there with me, okay?

I knew my neighbors were going on vacation. The day before they left, I hung out with Ryan. I knew I was making the wrong move. Who the fuck breaks into their friend’s house? I still went through with it despite my internal grumblings. I went into the kitchen and unlocked the window. I wasn’t sure if they would check all of the doors and windows before they left, but I tried my hand. It paid off.

The next day, my “father” and I got into it. He told me to get the fuck out of the house (only so he could cheat on my mom who had gone out of town for a week). So, I did. I went straight next door and scoped out the house to make sure no one was walking around. I did it. I broke in through the unlocked window. I slid through the window and was in. I had gloves on…mittens really. I didn’t want to leave fingerprints, so I found a pair of mittens in the house earlier and put them on. Now what?

Here is a lesson to all homeowners, lock your shit. Lock every door, window, and everything else you can. I don’t care if you are just going to the store. You never know. Burglary 101. Did you know that over 30% of all homeowners do NOT lock their doors? I thought it would be higher honestly. Where was I? Oh, yeah…

I went straight to the bedroom. I had a pillowcase with me to grab the loot and grab I did. I was only in the house for maybe 10 minutes (scared to death). Jewelry, cash, and other assorted items were my take. I closed the window I came through and locked the window. I went out through the garage door, and I was home free.

I stashed the loot in our garage in a safe spot, and I laid low. I climbed through my bedroom window and thought that was the end of it. I honestly thought there would be more to it. I was scared to death of getting caught, but I also felt bad. I had just taken a big step in my criminal career. I was big time now (so I thought). This was back in the 80s, so a few hundred bucks was a big deal back then.

I hit the streets the next couple of days and pawned off some of the jewelry to some shady characters. Want a ring? Sure, no problem! Give me 20 bucks and it’s yours. I got rid of most of the ill-gotten gain, except I made one big mistake. I kept one of the gold chains. See, back in those days, it was cool to wear shit like that. Everyone thought you were someone. What a joke. Can you imagine a preppy ass kid walking around selling jewelry?

During school, an announcement was mad over the loudspeaker. I was called down to the principal’s office. I didn’t know what was going on, but when I saw the cops there, I had a pretty good idea. Nonchalantly, I walked up to the cops and asked what was up? Well, I got slammed like a Mountain Dew and placed in cuffs. Of course, I was screaming out like most guilty people. “I’m innocent!” Yeah, right.

My PO (probation officer) had me in a room and gave me the riot act. I swore on everything I didn’t do anything. He said, “Oh yeah? Where did you get that necklace from?” Busted. I didn’t say a word, but I didn’t have to. A teenager wearing an expensive necklace with his shirt exposed was not the brightest of ideas. I didn’t say a word and was thrown in juvie hall.

I thought prison (I am getting to that in the near future) was fucked up. Man, juvenile hall took the cake. I was thrown in a cell which was no bigger than a small ass shed, with a bunk and a sink. For the first time in a long time, I cried. What the hell was I doing? Did I really think I was going to get away with it? I honestly felt bad for what I did. I felt bad for my neighbors and, for some odd reason, I gave a fuck what my parents thought. I didn’t know what the future held with this case pending, but man, I was going to change. I had the right intentions and honestly, I was just a messed-up kid with no direction, focus, or clear path.

A week later, my grandfather passed. I was stuck in that little cell. I was given the news by one of the juvenile detention center counselors. I can barely even type at this moment. Too many memories are coming back. The last thing my grandpa remembered me by was I was locked up for theft. The regret still haunts me to this day. I wish that was the turning moment in my life. I wish I would have stopped right then and there, but I didn’t. Sometimes, when you tell your story, you have to get through the pain to let it out and to let go. This is part of my journey. This is why I want this out. I have redeemed my life in many ways over the years, and I am proud of what I have accomplished. I have helped many through their own hardships, but to get rid of my own demons, I have to confront the past. More to come. Stay tuned.

guilty
Like

About the Creator

The Ex-Burglar: How to Protect Your Home/Business/Property/Loved Ones

I am a reformed burglar who served 11 years in prison for my crimes. I was considered a professional and want to help you protect your home/business/loved ones from possible intruders. Stay tuned. You do not want to miss out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.