Criminal logo

Murder Close to Home

My detective story

By Barbara Gode WilesPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - December 2023
7
Murder Close to Home
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Cathy arrived back at their apartment at 6:30 am like she always does after her night shift at the club. There was blood everywhere and Beth was on the floor in the bedroom. The phone laying beside her as if she had tried to call for help. Her pajamas were bloody and torn. One TV was missing along with Beth’s laptop computer. Without thinking the killer could still be there, Cathy looked around before dialing 911.

With our lights and sirens blaring, we arrived ten minutes later. I questioned Cathy about where she had been.

“At the club. Being a dancer isn’t so bad,” she explained to me, the newest detective in the Briar Police Force. “At least the money is good.”

I looked around the room as the CSI guys entered and went to work.

After talking to Cathy and getting everything I was going to, I walked out into the early morning light. My first major murder case. The blood rushed through my veins.

Cathy was brought to HQ to be questioned further. “I know her ex, Louis, was not happy about the breakup.”

“When was the breakup….recent?, I asked.

“Ya, last month”, Cathy answered. “Beth had finally gotten tired of all the abuse and cheating.”

“Abuse? I said.

“He put her in the hospital twice, once with a broken arm. I never understood why she stayed with that creep.”

After a 30 minute interview session, I left the room, my head spinning. Could it be this simple? An abusive ex boyfriend not happy about the breakup?

As I drove to her parents home to make notification, I wondered if Louis was already on the run. Knocking on the door, I prepared myself for the parents disbelief and shock.

“Ya, not a big surprise”, her father said. “She was a problem child”, echoed Mom.

They showed little or no grief. What is it about this girl that is tearing at me so?

Maybe I saw myself in her a little. She was young and attractive, a go getter, looking toward her future.

Louis was apprehended at a local gas station filling his tank, perhaps for a trip out of state? He was taken to HQ.

“Have you seen Beth recently?” I asked. “No, she doesn’t want to see me anymore,” Louis answered. “She broke up with me last week. I lost my temper once to often with her and she called it quits. Stupid bitch.”

Louis asked for a cigarette break and I took him outdoors. While he smoked, he continued talking. “Her parents didn’t like me much but they didn’t like Beth much either. They were always stomping on her dreams and putting her down.”

“Ya, I met them yesterday. Did you know them well?”

“Didn’t want to get to know them,” Louis sneered. “They were nasty people who couldn’t care less about her. Except maybe for her insurance money,” he grinned.

I had to go back to the parents and ask more questions. Why was Beth such a ‘problem child’?

After a few minutes with Mr. and Mrs. Parker, I didn’t wonder why Louis didn’t like them. I saw it for myself.

“We have a life insurance policy on Beth. Will we be able to collect on that?” her father asked. I was floored. Their child had just been murdered and they were worried about collecting her life insurance money.

“Once there is a report from the coroner, you can call the insurance company”, I answered.

“How long will that take?” the father groaned.

I growled at him, I think. “Your child was just killed by someone. I would think insurance would be the last thing on your mind.”

“We need the money”, Mom said.

When I left that house, I hoped that I would not have to go back there again. Those parents infuriated me. How could they be so cavalier about their own child?

With the sweet first 48 hours running out, I was no closer to a suspect. I headed for home to shower and start fresh.

Home was a cute one story brick ranch with a beautiful garden in the front that I worked hard on in my spare time. Green was finally starting to appear in my thumb. The daisies and violets were blooming and the front walk had been swept.

With a glass of wine in his hand, Gabe opened the door before I got there. “Hi, I have been waiting for you to get home.”

“Thanks Gabe. I could use a little wine and some pasta”, I giggled. Gabe made me feel like a school girl. We had met a year ago just as I was applying for my detective badge. Gabe was that tall, dark and handsome man you always heard about. I had caught him. I had met him in a supermarket while shopping with Cathy one afternoon. He had a bit of a shady past but had cleaned up his act, so I took a chance.

We shared a plate of pasta as I told him about the last 48 hours and my first murder case.

“I can’t decide whether I like the ex or the parents for this,” I said. “Either of them could have done it. Lots of motive.”

Gabe was quiet and listened while I rambled on. When it was time to head back to HQ, I kissed Gabe and told him I would be back as soon as I had a good lead.

“I have no idea how long that might take,” I told Gabe. “I just want to solve this one so badly. Not just because it’s my first major case, but because there is something about this girl. A lousy ex and parents that don’t care.”

The next few days were astonishing as the case slowly came together. The parents had hired someone to kill their daughter. I didn’t know who yet but I felt the answer getting closer. Mom finally broke and asked for a deal.

“I will testify what I know if you make me a deal,” she pleaded. I communicated with the DA’s office and worked out the deal.

I sat in the interview room with Beth’s mom and let her talk.

“We needed that insurance money and my husband thought if we killed Beth, we would be rid of her and get the money. Two birds with one stone.”

“Who did you hire to kill her?” I asked, hopeful I would finally have an answer.

“We asked Louis to help and he said yes, but he knew someone who could do the job even better. Louis’ cousin, Cathy, Beth’s roommate had a guy who handled it. His name is Gabe something or other.”

I fainted dead away.

investigationinterviewguiltyfiction
7

About the Creator

Barbara Gode Wiles

Barb is a young widow, having lost her husband and best friend at the age of 58. She is now devoted to her two daughters and her two beautiful granddaughters. Her dog is a constant companion.

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Hats off to your work! Keep it going—congrats!

  • Ada Zuba5 months ago

    Please keep writing! This was very good. I subscribed to you! Can’t wait to read more

  • Siva N5 months ago

    Very intresting

  • Mescaline Brisset5 months ago

    Great surprise at the end. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.