Criminal logo

MARIONETTE

An Original Screenplay By Allie Warwick

By alliePublished 4 years ago 15 min read
1
hit me up if u want to turn this script into a lil movie ;)

INT. COURT ROOM - ENGLAND - AFTERNOON

ZOOM IN on TRINITY's (23) face. She is CRYING, tears running down her cheeks. Her bottom lip quivers, as if she is about to break down. Her ATTORNEY (38) hands her a TISSUE and she dabs her tears away.

ATTORNEY

Do you need to step outside for a moment?

TRINITY

No. I'm fine.

Trinity sniffs, straightens up. She nods for the attorney to continue.

ATTORNEY

Tell me about what happened on the 13th of July.

TRINITY

(pauses, gulps)

I was given a new therapist. He was nice...at first. He made me feel safe.

ATTORNEY

How many sessions did you have with him?

TRINITY

Nine...or ten. I can't remember.

ATTORNEY

And when did you notice that he was beginning to change?

TRINITY

It was the last session. He started asking me questions...

ATTORNEY

What kind of questions?

TRINITY

Creepy questions.

ATTORNEY

Like?

TRINITY

Like...he asked me what underwear I was wearing. And if I was attracted to him...

ATTORNEY

And how did you respond?

TRINITY

I told him to stop, but he didn't. So I tried to call for Elliot...but...

(pauses to sniffle)

He - he attacked me. And then...and then it happened - it happened so quickly - I pushed him away from me, and he fell. I didn't realise that the window was open. I just wanted him to get away from me!

Trinity falls into sobs and covers her face.

ATTORNEY

Thank you, Miss Lake. That is all, your honour.

As the JUDGE speaks to the JURY, we fall away from TRINITY slowly, and look into the PUBLIC GALLERY.

ZOOM IN on a WOMAN in the BACK of the room, who stands out from the rest. She is dressed in BLACK, and wears a VEIL over her face. Her features cannot be distinguished, but we can see her scowl.

JUDGE

The Jury has ruled Miss Lake not guilty.

FADE OUT.

EXT.YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND - PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL - MORNING

It is RAINING. The sky is dark. Rumbles of THUNDER come from the distance.

The HOSPITAL is a large, RUSTIC building. Its walls are covered in Ivy.

A car enters the CAR PARK. The driver’s door opens and LENA (26) rushes out. She uses her bag as an umbrella as she runs to the hospital’s entrance.

INT. PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL - RECEPTION €� MORNING

Interior of the hospital is PLAIN. There is a FRONT DESK to the left of the reception, WAITING AREA to the right. The decor is LIMITED, with only a few paintings on the walls.

Lena walks to the front desk, where the RECEPTIONIST (38) is on the phone. Lena shows her STAFF ID and the receptionist places a sign-in sheet on the desk, pointing to where her signature should go.

Lena signs in and then exits the reception.

INT. PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL €� CORRIDOR €� MORNING

Lena passes by a COLLEAGUE. They greet one another with smiles.

COLLEAGUE

How are you doing today, Lena?

LENA

Good, thanks. And you? How's the baby?

COLLEAGUE

Oh, I'm alright. You know how it is. Our nights are short at the moment.

LENA

Ah, well. It gets better!

COLLEAGUE

I'll take your word for it.

They bid one another goodbye. After Lena has walked past the colleague, her smile FALLS.

She stops at a door with LENA PHILIPS written on a plaque. She swipes her ID card on the handle and the door clicks open with a BUZZ.

INT. PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL - THERAPY OFFICE €� MORNING

Lena steps inside and switches the lights on.

The room is spacious. There are TWO SOFAS in the center with a coffee table between them. On the left wall is a WINDOW.

Paintings are hung on the wall and there are a few potted plants scattered about.

On the right side of the room is a door that leads to a KITCHEN AREA; Lena enters.

INT. PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL - KITCHEN AREA €� MORNING

Lena drops her bag onto the counter top.

She looks through the cupboards until she finds a POT OF SUGAR and places it beside her bag.

Lena pulls out a SMALL GLASS TUBE from her bag, filled with WHITE POWDER.

She tips the contents into the sugar pot and then disposes of the tube. She put the sugar pot back and picks up her bag, exits.

INT. PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL - THERAPY OFFICE €� MORNING

Lena takes her coat off and hangs it up beside the door. She is smartly dressed in trousers and a button-up shirt.

Lena drops her bag onto one of the sofas and sits beside it, pulls out a notepad and pen. She taps her foot on the ground, looks up at the clock.

The door opens. ELLIOT (31) and TRINITY (23) enter. Lena stands.

ELLIOT

Ah, Lena, you’re here already. Good morning!

LENA

Good morning, Elliot.

ELLIOT

You found us alright, then?

LENA

(chuckling)

Yes, all thanks to my satnav.

(looks to Trinity)

You must be Trinity. Hi, I am Lena.

Lena holds her hand out for Trinity to shake.

Trinity scowls, shoulders past Lena and sits on the vacant sofa.

Elliot sighs and steps toward Lena, speaking with discretion.

ELLIOT

She will come out of her shell when she becomes comfortable with you.

Lena looks over her shoulder at Trinity, who is staring at them. Lena then turns back to Elliot.

ELLIOT (CONT.)

You know where my office is. If you need anything, just give me a shout.

LENA

OK, thank you.

Elliot nods and leaves. Lena turns to Trinity, who glares. Lena forces a smile and takes her seat.

LENA

Would you like any water? A tea or coffee?

Trinity looks Lena up and down, analysing. She then leans back into her sofa, props her feet up on the coffee table.

LENA (CONT.)

Would you mind taking your feet off the table, please?

Trinity crosses her arms, narrows her eyes. She does not move her feet. Lena shifts in her seat, clears her throat.

LENA (CONT.)

I suppose I should introduce myself. My name is Lena, as I told you, and I'm from Manchester. I have been a psychotherapist for about four years now. Would you like to tell me a little bit about yourself?

TRINITY

No.

LENA

Okay. That’s fine. So, Trinity, how are you feeling today?

Lena takes her notepad and opens it, ready to take notes. She looks at Trinity expectantly, with a soft smile.

Trinity does not reply; she rolls her eyes and looks around the room.

LENA (CONT.)

I have been informed that you’ve recently been put on a new medication. How is that going?

The clock can be heard ticking. Rain is slamming against the window.

LENA (CONT.)

Trinity. I am here to help you. I won’t force you to talk to me, but I want you to know that anything you tell me is completely between you and me. I will not judge you, I promise.

Trinity sneers, eyes snap to Lena.

TRINITY

I don't need help.

LENA

I understand-

Trinity begins to laugh. Lena watches her, frowning.

LENA (CONT.)

What's so funny?

TRINITY

You!

LENA

How come?

TRINITY

You're full of bullshit!

LENA

I'm not-

TRINITY

"I'm here to help you." - "I will not judge you." Bullshit!

Lena is visibly uncomfortable, her brows furrowed. She opens her mouth to speak but Trinity silences her.

TRINITY (CONT.)

I have been through six different therapists in the last two years alone and all six of them said the same thing. "I will never judge you." "I will support you." And you know what? They were all liars. Dirty fucking liars.

LENA

I’m willing to try to be different, Trinity. You can trust me.

TRINITY

Don't be so naive. You're just like the rest of them.

Trinity stands up and walks to the window, places her hands on the windowsill. She looks out at the dull scenery. A flash of lightning casts dark shadows on her face.

TRINITY

You people never fail to amuse me.

LENA

What do you mean?

TRINITY

You all come here, bright-eyed and determined, with an irritating hero-complex. You think that you can just stroll in here and fix a psychopath like me with the click of your fingers. You are all pathetic.

LENA

I don’t think that you are a psychopath.

TRINITY

No? Then what do you think I am?

Trinity turns to Lena, tilts her head mockingly. Thunder clashes outside.

TRINITY (CONT.)

Let me guess — you think I'm a lost soul in need of guidance?

Trinity begins to circle around Lena like a predator, dragging her nails along the sofa.

TRINITY (CONT.)

Am I a poor, unfortunate victim of the system?

LENA

I don't think that at all.

Trinity places her hands on the arm of the sofa, leans close to Lena. Her voice is venomous.

TRINITY

You are all the same. I do not matter to you. Your reputation is all that matters to you. You're here to say that you came close to a real-life villain. I'm a trophy that you want to add to your collection.

Trinity walks to the door. She takes Lena's COAT and pulls it on.

LENA

You have had trouble with therapists in the past. I get that. That does not mean that we are all the same.

TRINITY

But you are. And you know it.

Trinity buttons up the coat and searches through the pockets, finds a packet of gum and takes a piece, chews it.

TRINITY (CONT.)

This is a nice coat.

LENA

It's my husband’s.

TRINITY

Your husband has nice taste.

LENA

He has expensive taste. It is one of his flaws.

TRINITY

Oh?

Trinity takes the coat off and drops it onto the floor carelessly, then sits back down.

TRINITY (CONT.)

Tell me more.

LENA

We are here to talk about your life, not mine.

TRINITY

I’m bored of talking about me all the time. I want to be the one asking stupid questions for once.

LENA

I’m afraid that's not possible.

TRINITY

It is.

Trinity reaches towards Lena and snatches the notepad out of her hands. She then sits up straight and clears her throat.

Lena tries to take the notepad back but is unsuccessful.

TRINITY (CONT.)

How are you feeling today, Lena?

LENA

We don't have time to mess around. Let’s get back to where we were.

TRINITY

You seem agitated. Do you feel this way often?

LENA

I’m not agitated.

TRINITY

Frustrated, then? I feel like you are very frustrated. Is it because your husband doesn’t satisfy you in bed?

LENA

That's enough, Trinity. Give me my notepad back please.

Trinity scribbles in the notepad, mocking Lena's facial expressions.

TRINITY

You look uncomfortable, Lena. Could I interest you in a tea or coffee?

LENA

Stop it now.

TRINITY

So, tea then? One or two sugars?

LENA

I do not want tea.

TRINITY

Sure you do.

Trinity goes to the kitchen area. The kettle is turned on and begins to boil.

Lena stands and picks up her notepad, looks at the page it's open on.

Trinity returns with a cup of tea and pot of sugar. She places the items on the coffee table.

LENA

Care to explain this?

Lena shows Trinity the page. Trinity smirks.

TRINITY

One or two sugars?

Lena sits down on her sofa, sighs.

LENA

Three.

Trinity stirs in three large spoons of sugar into the tea, then pushes it towards Lena. Trinity then sits back down.

LENA (CONT.)

Right, let's get back to-

TRINITY

Tell me what exactly is wrong with your husband.

LENA

No. You're wasting time.

TRINITY

I don't care. Is he an asshole to you? Does he sit on his arse all day and play on his Xbox?

LENA No. There is nothing wrong with him.

TRINITY

You said that he has many flaws. Tell me what they are.

Lena grits her teeth, crosses one leg over the other.

LENA

If I tell you, will you answer a few of my questions?

TRINITY

Depends if you tell me something juicy.

LENA

He’s messy. There, now let's carry on with our session.

TRINITY

Oh, come on! That's rubbish! Tell me something interesting - tell me, has he ever had an affair?

LENA

No. He's a good man.

TRINITY

So you lied to me?

LENA

I didn't lie to you. He isn't perfect, just like every other human being.

TRINITY

Aren't you going to drink your tea?

LENA

I'm not thirsty.

TRINITY

Tell me some gossip about your husband.

LENA

We're not here to talk about my husband.

TRINITY

Tell me one thing and I'll let you get back to doing your therapist bullshit.

LENA

Fine.

(pauses)

He prioritises his job too much. There, are you happy now? Can we-

TRINITY

What does he work as?

LENA

Trinity-

TRINITY

A doctor, or a...lawyer? He must earn a lot to afford this coat.

LENA

He's a psychotherapist.

TRINITY

How adorable. You both have the same job.

LENA

Yes, well-

TRINITY

You must have riveting conversations at the dinner table.

LENA

What's that meant to mean?

TRINITY

I imagine he's just like you. Boring as fuck. A perfect match.

Lena grits her teeth, tightens her grip on her pen. Trinity grins, satisfied that she's gotten a reaction.

TRINITY (CONT.)

You look tense.

LENA

You're being rude.

TRINITY

Oh, deary me. I do apologise. I had not meant to offend you, my dear Lena!

LENA

You're testing my patience now.

TRINITY

What are you going to do? Call Elliot on me? He won't do anything. He's a soft old git.

Lena sighs. She closes her notepad and rubs her temple.

Trinity smirks at Lena's frustration.

TRINITY (CONT.)

Where's your husband working right now?

LENA

He's not working anymore.

TRINITY

Did he get fired? Did he do something bad?

LENA

No.

TRINITY

Did he sleep with a colleague? Did he steal money from his boss.

LENA

No!

TRINITY

Then what?

LENA

If you must know, he died.

SILENCE. Lena scowls. Trinity grins wide.

TRINITY

Now that is interesting! Tell me more, was it suicide? I would kill myself too if I were your husband.

LENA

He was murdered.

Trinity slaps her knees in excitement and cheers.

TRINITY

Yes! This is more like it! Tell me more!

LENA

I've had enough. I'm going to go now.

TRINITY

No! You have to stay and tell me all of the juicy details! Who killed him? Was it his mistress? A jealous sibling?

Trinity tilts her head, mocking. Lena is staring at her, blank.

TRINITY (CONT.)

Aren't you going to drink your tea? I put a lot of effort into making it.

LENA

I'm not thirsty.

TRINITY

I didn't put poison in it. I promise.

LENA

I never said you did.

Trinity picks up the cup of tea and holds it out to Lena. Lena does not take it.

TRINITY

You're going to waste a perfectly good cup of tea.

LENA

You drink it then.

TRINITY

Ungrateful bitch.

Trinity drinks the tea. Lena smirks.

TRINITY (CONT.)

What are you smirking at?

LENA

Nothing.

TRINITY

Tell me more about your husband.

LENA

I don't want to.

TRINITY

Did you kill him? I reckon you did. Did he cheat on you? I don't blame him. He cheated, didn't he? And you killed him to get revenge. Right?

LENA

Wrong.

TRINITY

Then who killed him?

LENA

You did.

Trinity's face falls. She gulps down a large sip of tea. Her lips purse and she tilts her head.

TRINITY

What?

LENA

You heard me.

TRINITY

I don't know what you're talking about.

LENA

No? You don't remember pushing him out of that window?

Lena and Trinity look to the window. Lena then looks to Trinity, tilts her head. Trinity keeps her eyes on the window.

LENA (CONT.)

You don't remember sitting in that courtroom and calling my husband a pervert?

TRINITY

No. I don't.

LENA

You're a liar.

TRINITY

I am not. I didn't kill him - he was trying to hurt me!

LENA

That man couldn't have hurt a fly. But you...you can. You're a spider. You eat people like him for dinner and then you spin your web of lies, and claim that you're the victim.

TRINITY

What an adorable metaphor. You must be so proud of yourself.

LENA

Why did you really kill him, huh?

TRINITY

You really want to know?

LENA

Yes.

TRINITY

Are you sure?

LENA

Yes.

TRINITY

Because...if I tell you, then I'll have to kill you, too.

LENA

Tell me.

TRINITY

He was too good.

LENA

Is that it?

TRINITY

Yes.

LENA

You killed my husband. Because he was. Too good.

TRINITY

Problem?

LENA

You're an evil bitch.

TRINITY

Ouch. That hurt.

Lena and Trinity stare at each other for a moment. The clock ticks. Lightning flashes, the lights flicker.

TRINITY (CONT.)

What do you want, Lena?

LENA

I want justice. You manipulated that courtroom in your favour. Because of you, my husband's name will be tainted forever.

TRINITY

And how, pray tell, do you intend to get your justice?

LENA

I've already got it.

TRINITY

How?

LENA

Can't you feel it, Trinity?

TRINITY

Feel what?

LENA

Death. It's been inside you for long enough now.

The clock ticks louder, echos.

Trinity looks down at the tea in her hands. She chuckles.

TRINITY

Clever.

Trinity begins to cough through her laughter, which fades. Her face turns red, eyes bloodshot.

BLOOD drips from Trinity’s nose. She gasps for air. Her cup falls from her hands, spills tea on the floor; she falls limp, eyes open and red.

Lena stands, walks over to Trinity and takes her coat off her heavy body. She then drags Trinity's body to the window, lifts her up, and pushes her out.

Lena then pulls her coat on, grabs her bag and exits.

INT. CORRIDOR €� LATE MORNING.

Lena walks to Elliot’s office and knocks on the door, opens it.

Elliot turns in his chair, smiles at Lena.

Lena pulls out a gun and shoots him in the throat, then exits.

EXT. YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND €� HOSPITAL CAR PARK €� LATE MORNING

Lena walks to her car. Trinity's body is lying on the floor outside, with people crowding around her. They're so distracted that they don't see Lena leave.

INT. PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL - RECEPTION €� LATE MORNING

The receptionist is frantically on the phone to the ambulance.

ZOOM IN on the SIGN-IN SHEET. Written in bold are the words

"MARIONETTE".

fiction
1

About the Creator

allie

19 | broke university student | aspiring director

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.