Criminal logo

Law School Murders: Low and Cold

Kim admonishes a student.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like
Law School Murders: Low and Cold
Photo by Emily Morter on Unsplash

On the digital screen, the faces of the seven women from the slasher case in the 80’s displayed.

“In each case, the woman was bitten on the back. That is what actually led to the capture and arrest of Don Boise. His teeth marks matched each victim. That and he called in the murders when he had finished with Angelica Posterdam,” Kim explained.

By Kaleidico on Unsplash

“Does everyone see how the ligature marks from the teeth and the phone call after the last victim perished aided law enforcement with tracking down Boise?”

The silence fell over the room like a blanket. Then a hand shot up.

“Yes, Mr. Devaughn.”

“In this case, is it similar in any way to the current case on campus with the frat brothers?”

Kim could have rolled her eyes and kissed her teeth. But she didn’t. She instead engaged the question.

By Mediamodifier on Unsplash

“I really can’t speak on it since I’m part of the deposition—”

“Why did he do it? What drove him?”

“I really can’t answer those questions. Ethically and personally, I can’t begin to answer them.”

“Hey, man…shut the hell up!” Geoff Friedkin said.

“Hey, that’s not called for—” Kim tried.

The two male students stood up and challenged each other.

“Gentlemen! We will have a civil discourse here or class is dismissed.” The other students groaned.

“Sit down!” barked Mannion Coles.

The two students still stood.

“Take your seats,” Kim finally said, using her Marine voice, low and cold.

The two men recognized it and returned to their seats.

By Kaleidico on Unsplash

“Now, let me air this out before we go any further; I am not here to discuss any cases related to me. I’m here to present actual law incidents that pertain to other people. I will not engage in any commentary concerning whatever case I may be or may have been a part of in any way. Are we on the same page?”

“Yes.” The class said, except for Friedkin who folded his arms.

“Now, we will return to this case. If we examine the facts of the case—-”

“You’re a murderer and you provoked a murder!” Friedkin called.

“Shut up! Let her speak!” The class clapped back in unison.

“Mr. Friedkin, outside right now.”

The students applauded.

Once outside the lecture hall Kim shot her honey brown eyes at Friedkin and bored into his soul.

“You know this isn't a government high school. You’re paying for your education. If you keep interrupting, I will drop you to ensure the other students have a shot at an education. With your interruptions, they prove to be impeding the other students of their education. Do you understand?”

“I do, I just wanted to throw a Molotov cocktail into the conversation,” he explained.

“I don’t need that in my classroom. If you want to read up on me, you have a whole host of avenues to pursue. Not here. Is that comprehensible?”

“It is now. I’m sorry Professor Jergensen.”

“Alright go forth and learn some more,” she grinned.

When she returned the students looked like they were craving a meal. The carnivorous nature of wanting to reap an instruction on a vicious crime almost left them salivating.

“Now, this case was quoted by some publications as the worst serial killer streak in Delaware’s history. That was until the 2003 murders of ten black men by another black man stalking them in parking lots. So, to give you some context, the 1987 murders should be seen as particularly vicious for their inhumanity.”

The electric signal chimed. The students got up from their seats and thanked Professor Jergensen for her poise, her grace.

fictionCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have an audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.