Criminal logo

Law School Murders: Fame and Infamy

Kim gets support.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
Law School Murders: Fame and Infamy
Photo by youssef naddam on Unsplash

Heather Boskin leaned against Kim’s desk in the lecture hall. She wore tan and blue pumps and a matching skirt and blouse. She had red lipsticks that accentuated her plump lips. The flecks of grayness allowed her to know the difference between distinguished and trying too hard. She represented the former.

“We’re going to have an irregular class right now. This is just a safety precaution. You will all be screened and interviewed due to a recent threat against this school. I will not name names to reveal just who is the target. We will begin the process right now.”

Kim was the first just to get her out of the way and not raise suspicions.

“Did you recently grade any papers with the threat on it?”

“No.”

“Have you or do you intend to do harm to yourself or anyone else?”

“No.”

Kim looked at Dean Boskin. The dean shot a glance at the interviewer. Kim was free to go.

She went to the parking lot and opened the door to her Goulding. She was stopped.

“Professor Jergensen!”

By Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

“Yes?”

“I just wanted to let you know that whoever is doing this whatever the attempt to attack or threat to attack is, we’re here to help you.”

“Thanks.”

She got into the car and sped off into the day. With the teaching day over before she could even teach, she made it home with just enough time to look at her mail and check her phone for news.

And just like that, her face was on the homepage of the Daily Delaware. They must be used to this by now, she thought acidicly.

Her phone buzzed in her hand. It was Yawquisha.

By Hannah Busing on Unsplash

“I see you can’t escape from the public eye,” Yawquisha said.

“I’m holding onto the fact that my publicist is waiting to knock down my door any minute. It’s good for my book at least,” she said, her sardonic tone shining through it all.

“If you take the time to realize how you have made it possible for me to be the most known unknown videographer in the world, you will see just how much of a value you are to me. Oh, and you’re my friend, too.”

“Thanks for the affirmation,” Kim said.

“If it weren’t for you, I’d still be doing random interviews with people on the corner. My views would be down and I’d have virtually no subscribers. But it’s more than that.” Yawquisha’s tone shifted. “You actually helped me realize my purpose. It is to expose the truth and make it clear that there is no mistaking the positive impact you’ve had on my life.”

“You’ve done the same. You’re the one who says that I can do this to yourself and then you answer yourself. Some people call that crazy. I call it an imperative. You have to big yourself up, because who else is going to do it. If I have played a role in you excelling with your videos, that’s all to the good.”

By Shane Rounce on Unsplash

The conversation turned to the photo on the website. “They said they’d keep it under wraps. That no one would know. I don’t know who to blame. It couldn’t be the dean…no.”

“If you look at the possibilities it could have been a threat to him or herself. That’s what ended up in the news. The fact that someone stepped forward and made accusations about the whole incident. They’re waiting to get caught. They want to be the evil part of the news story. They don’t care who gets hurt or not just as long as they get to the point where they know the difference between notoriety and being known, infamy and fame.”

fiction

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have a wide audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    I liked this story. The ending reminds me of how I feel about news media when it comes to some of the horrid people they cover and their awful crimes. Sometimes I think those people do what they do to become infamous than anything else. P.S. On a side note, if you're interested in a little editorial feedback, the beginning of your story mentions tan and blue pumps with a matching skirt. Then in the very next sentence a blue and tan skirt. That little bit of redundancy took me out of your story for a minute :)

Skyler SaundersWritten by Skyler Saunders

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.