Criminal logo

Kill Em' With Kindness

Life Is Short, Eat The Cake

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
8
Kill Em' With Kindness
Photo by naomi tamar on Unsplash

She smiled widely at her therapist - showing every single tooth. Her nose crinkled a bit at the bridge, as she answered the question. “No, Phoebe, really, I was fine! I honestly think I have finally turned a corner.” Answering like she was reading it directly out of a book. She slowly brushed the hair out of her eyes and tucked it neatly behind her ear. She took a deep breath - her eyes made a quick sweep of the room, and then back to meet Phoebe’s.

*

Kari hesitated to say more, but she knew by the look she was getting, that this pat answer, wasn’t going to be enough to stop the questioning. She thought for a moment, running her tongue across the back of her teeth and slowly traced the roof of her mouth, and then biting her lip.

*

“OKAY!” she blurted, her smile waning a bit, but still visible. “I’ll admit, I was a bit put off seeing them there -together, at our table, on our anniversary. Our anniversary,” she repeated, as her smile faded. She took a deep breath, her smile widened again. “But I have come to terms with the fact that Dave and I are over. You of all people, know what I’ve been through the past few years and how hard I have worked to get to the other side of that pain. I knew it, and have known it for some time. That it was going to have to be up to me to get a grip of things and let the past die.” She placed her hands-on top of her knees and leaned forward a bit, toward Phoebe.

*

Just above a whisper she said nodding her head, “I really do think that they appreciated my generosity though, they both seemed to enjoy that slice of chocolate cake I sent to their table. Death by chocolate, I think is what they called it.” There was a slight twitch in her right eye as she said the words. “They devoured every last bite, didn’t they?” She smiled - her head tilted a bit, and a look of hurt crossed her face. She looked down at the floor again, but only for a moment, as she looked up, her eyes locked with Phoebe. She chuckled softly; her face softened again. “Death by chocolate, how ironic, “she repeated.

By Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Phoebe readjusted herself in her chair, switching which leg she had crossed and clearing her throat. Kari giggled, “OH!! Now that’s a tell Phoebe, let me guess, I made you a little uncomfortable?” Kari asked smiling, as if it could get any wider. “let’s get to it then, what is it you really want to know?”

*

“Kari,” Phoebe said in her professional voice, “I need you to just relax now. I know how much you have been through the past few years. I don’t think that you are being as forthcoming as you could be.” Phoebe placed a few photos down on the table in front of Kari. “I believe you know exactly what I am asking. Kari, you know that I can’t help you unless you are completely honest with me and yourself. Please, take your time and tell me again, exactly how seeing Dave and Liz together on your anniversary, made you feel.” She pushed the pictures slightly towards Kari.

*

Kari never looked down. While looking directly at Phoebe, she placed her hand on the top picture and without hesitation waded it and knocked it to the floor. The second picture was one of Dave, her husband. “May I have a cigarette?” Kari asked calmly. Phoebe said, while in motion of handing her a Marlboro light,

“I thought you quit smoking, “Kari winked and took the cigarette: never taking her eyes off of Phoebe. Putting it in her mouth, she puckers and waits for a light. Phoebe obliges. As Phoebe reached across to light her smoke, Kari firmly takes a hold of Phoebe’s wrist -making her visibly uncomfortable. Kari lights it and takes one long drag, as she exhales, she releases Phoebe’s arm, takes the lit end of the cigarette and burns a hole in Dave’s face.

Phoebe asks Kari, “did that make you feel better?” Kari grins at her and says, “oh my dear, you have no idea!”

*

Phoebe is a bit hesitant as she places the next photo in front of Kari. “I need you to tell me what happened Kari, I need to understand it.”

*

Kari stands up and taps on the glass of the door directly behind her. With the cigarette still burning, hanging off her lip - says, “I simply did as you suggested, doc.” Phoebe is flabbergasted. “When did I EVER tell you to do this?” she asks in horror, putting the picture directly into Kari’s face.

By Talles Alves on Unsplash

Kari finally looks at the crime scene photo and says, “think about it, maybe you should be a little more careful about the advice you throw around. One day, someone may just follow it.” Kari flicks the cherry out of the cigarette and drops the remains on the floor.

By Rosalind Chang on Unsplash

The guard steps in and cuffs Kari, leading her out of the room, down the hall, and back to her cell.

*

Phoebe can hear Kari laughing, her voice echoing down the hall, “death by chocolate, how deliciously absurd!”

fiction
8

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.