Criminal logo

Just Another Disney Ending

not the ending you would except for a Disney movie

By Tawana K WatsonPublished about a year ago 8 min read
Like
Just Another Disney Ending
Photo by Jayme McColgan on Unsplash

Jackson and I are meant to be. Jackson being the All American guy, with a future that has been solidified by his father's entrepreneurialism multimillion dollar empire and his looks. Let’s face it he has that dark bad boy look down to a science. Myself, well, I grew up as the princess, I never wanted for anything and my family, well, with spoiling me extensively, they supported me with anything that I wanted to do. So when I met Jackson and finally got up the courage to introduce him to my family, and him introducing me to his family, I knew that we were meant to be and that our relationship was forever, so to speak.

The other day when Jackson came to get me so we could go up to the lake, something we did all time, I did not think anything out of the ordinary. Jackson was quiet on the ride up there and when he finally found a parking space and cut the engine, turning toward me, his expression on his face wasn’t the same carefree one instead it was a frown and very serious.

“I need you to listen to me and not interrupt until I am done,” said Jackson, “I have a plan.”

Now I love Jackson and would follow him anywhere, so when he told me his plan I wasn’t going to walk away instead I jumped head first without regret. For the next two weeks Jackson and I drove up to the lake to work out the details of his plan, replaying the steps and looking at all of the obstacles. I felt that we had the plan, especially my part, committed to memory. As the second week winded down we meant up with Jackson's little brother, Matthew and my cousin, Henry at the lake. We carefully went over the steps of the plan with them repeatedly and they were excited to be a part of this just like Jackson and I are. Henry, the distrusting of the two, wanted to know detail by detail, and he kept looking at me to make sure I was serious about this and not being pushed into this because Jackson, the love of my life, wanted to do it. I nodded my approval at him everytime he looked toward my direction hoping to put him at ease. Matthew, the wild card, didn’t seem to be hearing anything that we said about the plan, he was more interested in the risk factor. I knew if either one of them was going to be an issue to the success of this plan it would be Matthew. He asked irrelevant questions about certain steps of the plan, which frustrated Jackson to the point of them actually arguing and Matthew walking off saying he doesn’t want any parts of the plan. Eventually the kinks between Jackson and Matthew got worked out and we were a go for tomorrow to finally carry the plan out.

The heat started early in the morning, and I was irritated because I was too anxious to sleep last night. I was nervous about everything that could go wrong with Jackson’s plan and excited about everything that could go right. New Mexican morning’s are beautiful, as I sat in the car waiting for the guys to come back from their task, I swear I saw the devil standing in front of the car. I shook my head and smiled because it is a fact that heat can cause some hallucination and I was working on zero sleep so seeing the devil was not real, but a sign of something to come I am sure. It seemed like the boys were gone for hours, when suddenly they came running out of the building carrying bags and yelling at me to start the car. They jumped in the car it seemed all at once, and I whipped the car around and flew down the road. We didn’t speak at all as I drove at full speed down the road. The adrenaline between us filled the car but no one was breathing. As we got further into the desert the adrenaline within the car was replaced by a huge sigh of relief. When I finally reached the spot that Jackson designated for us to re-group, I pulled over and we all got out of the car.

The guys got out with the bags that they had run to the car with, then together emptied the bags on the hood of the car. I couldn't believe my eyes, I haven't seen that much money in my whole life. Matthew and Henry were showing their excitement, dancing around like idiots, clapping each others’ hand in the air. Jackson just stood there and smiled at me.

“I can’t believe we actually pulled it off,” said Matthew.

“I was so nervous when we walked in there my hands were shaking,” responded Henry.

Jackson smiled and lit a cigarette as the boys continued their bragging. My eyes were on Jackson. After Jackson halfway finished his cigarette, he spit the remaining portion of the cigarette to the ground and nodded slightly at me. I then reached behind my back and took out the .45 pistol, just as Jackson pulled his 9 mm pistol from his waistband. Matthew and Henry were so consumed with excitement that they did not realize what was going on until it was too late. I shot first hitting my cousin in the center of his chest, as Jackson shot his brother in the head. The main part that I remember about the shooting is how the bodies fell to the ground in slow motion. I don’t recall the blood or even the noise of the gun, just how the bodies slowly fall to the ground.

After we grabbed the money and jumped back into the car leaving his brother and my cousin bleeding out on that desert road, events for Jackson and I moved rapidly. We drove it seemed like forever; then Jackson finally pulled over at a motel. I was so exhausted I could not barely keep my eyes open. Once we got into the parking lot of the motel, Jackson parked the car in front and jumped out heading inside the main office to get us a room for the night and to regroup. When he returned to the car, he was holding up the key so that I could see it. We drove until we found our room and Jackson parked the car in front of it. We unloaded the car, especially the bags of money, and closed the door after sticking the Do Not Disturb sign on the handle.

Near daybreak I heard a car pulling up outside, it sounded like the car parked close to our door, a few minutes later there was a soft knock at the door. I jumped up, put back on my clothes and opened the door.

"Let's go," a young woman said as she stood there in the early morning light.

“It took you long enough to get here,” I replied

“I got lost trying to find this dump, Rian. Your directions were really hard to follow,” said the young woman as she entered the room, surveying the inside.

“Are you sure it was my directions, or as mom always used to say your less than nothing attention span, Kodi,” I said as I grabbed the bags of money and gave Jackson a soft kiss on his forehead.

I did not look at Jackson as I hurriedly around the room with my sister wiping away any signs of me being in the room with a tight grip on the bags of money. I heard Jackson struggling to get free from the chair that I had tied him to and I admit that I felt a sense of sadness for what was next to come.

After going over the room once wiping things down, we did it again for good measure. I grabbed the bags and the things I had with me and left the room. As I threw the bags in the trunk of the car and made my way into the passenger seat, I heard the gunshots. My sister then appeared in the door of the room and bent down to pick up the Do Not Disturb Sign off that fell to the ground, hanging it back on the door handle before closing the door. She paused for a second before making her way into the driver’s seat of the car.

“I didn’t think you actually wanted to do this one, Rian. I honestly thought you loved that guy,” said Kodi as she started up the engine of the car.

“ I think I've begun falling. It took him forever to get the clues that I was leaving for him about doing a heist. I think if he would have waited just a few more days to bring it up, I wouldn’t have gone through with it,” I replied.

As Kodi pulled the car onto the road she said, “you won’t believe this on my way here I saw the devil in the road.”

fictionguilty
Like

About the Creator

Tawana K Watson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.