Criminal logo

Identity Theft

Be Careful what you wish for

By A.A.C.Published 3 years ago 10 min read
1
Identity Theft
Photo by Hiroshi Kimura on Unsplash

I’m $92,000 in debt and need money fast. I lost my job and worse of all, I am one week from being evicted. Life is shit! I have to find a way to make money before I end up being homeless and in debt for the rest of my life. I need an idea and fast. The only person I can speak to is my best friend Jonah.

“I hate to ask you, but...can you lend me money?” I said.

“Yeah how much?” Jonah said.

“$92,000.”

As Jonah was getting his wallet out, he immediately put his wallet back in his pocket. I knew the number was extreme but I felt I needed to try. Who knows, he might have it and not tell anyone. It does not hurt to ask.

“Sorry kid, I don’t have that much. Jeez, why do you need $92,000 though?”

I began to cry as I tried to relish up the courage to tell him the truth. It was not going to be easy, but I needed to tell someone what I was going through. Wiping away tears, I fessed up.

“Most of it...is for surgery...for daniel.”

“Danny?! Why does he need surgery?”

“He needs heart surgery. I have been trying to do everything I can to pay for it, but when I have just a little bit of money, I have to use it for other things! Now my little boy is going to suffer if I do not have the money! If I can’t get the money-”

“Hey, hey let’s take a walk.”

I needed to get out. I needed to scream, run, throw up, anything to forget the pain. My little boy is in dire need of this surgery. If only I could get the money. I find myself looking at the cover of Fortune Magazine. It was Harper Baldwin; the “self-made billionaire”. Harper lives downtown in a $12 million dollar penthouse. Harper is so filthy rich, that he makes up my salary in one day. I hate this guy. Condescending, obnoxious and a goody two little shit! I met him once and he gave the nastiest look towards me when I mentioned being from the city. He said “why does anyone claim a crime-ridden place like that?” I can’t even look at him.

“I hate how people like him are fortunate to get whatever they want. Why don't people like us?!” I said.

Jonah picked up the magazine. He couldn’t help but look at it since someone like Harper Baldwin was in the magazine.

“Hey, did you see this? Harper is going to be at the 20th Annual Gala at Moore Manor.”

“So?”

“So? So! There are a lot of rich people at that Gala and for some stupid reason, they are always bringing a wad load of money there.”

“What’s your point?”

“Seriously?”

“What, you want me to steal money from them?”

“Well, money, identities, cars, etc.”

“No, that’s too extreme-”

“Look, $92,000 is not a lot of money to them and if you must, try to do something else; you know sell yourself.”

“Sell myself?”

“Yeah.”

Jonah, bless his heart can come up with some conniving, yet stupid answers. I do not think that I can bring myself to do anything mischievous. I headed back home. When I walked into that door, Daniel jumped on me and gave me the biggest hug. No matter how sad or depressed I am, he makes my day. I can’t lose him.

The next day, I sat there, looking at that magazine cover. Daniel was asleep. I realized something; I am not going to lose my son! I will do whatever it takes to have him with me. So, I went to Harper Baldwin’s penthouse with a plan, motive...and a gun. I saw that he must have come back from the gym because he was wearing sweats. However, it was peculiar. His outfit was out of the norm for Harper. He dresses extravagantly just going to the store. Why was he wearing sweats? Cheap ones at that. As he got out of the car, I confronted him with a mask and a gun.

“Don’t move!” I said.

“Whatever you are thinking, don’t do it!” Harper said.

“Give me the keys and no one gets hurt.”

“Is that all?”

He did not act scared. In fact he was relieved. It was rather odd. I mean, the car was worth a lot and could cover Daniel’s surgery and pay my rent for the entire year. Yet, it was worth nothing to him. However, he was eerily calm about me taking his car. Then, he said something odd.

“Be careful,” he said with a wry smile.

I took the car and went to find some place, any place that would take the car. I drove around in it for an hour. I did not think this through but I was still persistent. I took a break for a moment. As I was getting out, I realized that I made a terrible mistake. I need to give the car back. I headed back to Harper’s penthouse. Then, I heard sirens.

“Hands above your head!” a cop said,

“ Okay, they are above my head.” I said.

“You are arrested for-”

“I know, look I was coming back to give the car back.”

“You are not wanted for car theft; you are wanted for murder”

“Murder? I didn’t kill anyone!”

“Can you open the trunk please.”

I opened the trunk. There was no way that I was wanted for murder. I would never even consider hurting anyone. Then, I saw a body. A woman in her early 20s. I fainted.

When I woke up. I found myself behind bars. What the hell happened. I never saw a dead body in my entire life and it was right in front of me. Blood was literally on my hands. The guard came by my cell and spoke to me.

“You’ve got a visitor.”

How did I have a visitor? Who knew that I was here? I walked slowly. My head began spinning. As I went into the interrogation room, there was Harper. I saw red.

“Thank You, can you give us the room please?”

“Sure thing Mr. Baldwin.”

I wanted to hit him. It was clear he set me up. That was the reason he was so calm when I took his car.

“So...you’re the one who wanted to take my identity? Be careful what you wish for.”

“You did this. You killed her?”

“Oh, we are getting off topic. You know I could have you behind bars for the rest of your life and you would never see little Danny again.”

“H-how do you know about my son?”

“Just like you were watching me, I was watching you.”

It was then and there I was set up. What could I do? He outplayed me. I had no choice but to do whatever he needed me to because I am in his debt unfortunately.

“What do you want?” I said.

“Well, you helped me so much that maybe I should return the favor”

“What?”

“I know your son needs surgery. So, what would you think if I paid for it?”

“What? Why? What are you getting at?”

“Your son needs surgery; I need you to “own up”.”

“You want me to say I killed that girl?”

“...Girls”.

“Jesus, you’re a psychopath.”

“And you are broke but I don’t see why we are stating the obvious. So...what do you say?”

I want Daniel to be healthy, but there are so many things that I worry about. Is Harper lying? Will Daniel get the surgery? Will I ever see him again? There is too much that I can’t answer at the moment.

“I will think about it.”

“Like your son, you don’t have time. I suggest you think fast.”

Harper left and I returned back to my cell. I wish I had never showed up at that penthouse. I wish I had not seen that young woman’s body. I wish she had been alive. I wish...I had thought this over.

The next day, I was able to get a call. It was Jonah. I never was so glad to hear his voice like I was at that moment.

“What the hell?!” Jonah said.

“Jonah, I swear I did not do this. Harper is a serial killer. He does this to a lot of girls.”

“What, how do you know that?”

“He confessed to me. I just need proof.”

“Well how are you going to do it?”

“I need your help.”

Jonah was one who would help but it was rare that I would ask for help, especially from him. He knew that I was serious about going to him.

“Okay, what do you want me to do?”

Harper came out late in the evening. He was in an expensive suit. His hair was combed in a neat, sleek manner. He had a date. The woman got out of the car. She was no more than 25 years old. Very pretty. They went into his penthouse. Jonah was on the lookout. He tried to find any way he could to get into the penthouse. Luckily, an elderly couple came out. Jonah sat into the lobby waiting on the signal. Him and the young woman were working together. He waited for an hour. Nothing seemed to happen yet. It appeared that Harper and the young woman slept together. She was speaking to Jonah on the phone, looking throughout the penthouse.

“Hey, anything yet?” said Jonah.

“No. I am still looking. He is a neat freak.”

“Yeah, he’s a freak alright.”

“He seemed to have covered his tracks- wait hold on.”

“What, what is it?”

“He has a secret room.”

“How do you know it's a secret room?”

“The door is locked.”

“Oh, try to get it.”

“How? Wait, I have a bobby pin.”

The young woman was able to get into the door within two minutes. As she opened the door, she dropped the phone. She stood still. Nothing prepared her. It was an operation room. Blood was everywhere. Hair was in a sink. Jonah tried to get a hold of her.

“Hello? Hello! What’s wrong? Speak to me!”

“I-I can’t say.”

She took a picture. Her hand was shaking. She began to try to FaceTime Jonah. She warned him to stay quiet.

“Holy sh- Oh my… Is this Harper’s penthouse?”

“Yes it-”

The young woman turned around. Harper was behind her. He knocked her down and she fell. Jonah heard commotion, but was not able to see Harper. He called the cops. Jonah tried to find a way to make sure Harper did not leave the premises. He was able to get some of the people in the building to be on the lookout and lock down the building. The cops eventually came and before Harper could do anything to the young woman, police showed up and arrested him.

At 12:45 p.mI was released the next day. They found the young woman who was in the car DNA inside Harper’s penthouse. I went home and hugged my boy along with Jonah.

Two weeks later, I got a call from Daniel’s doctor.

“Hello, is this Daniel’s dad?”

“Hi, yes this is me.”

“Hi, umm this is out of line and it might be unprofessional…”

I was confused with what was happening. His doctor never called nor was the one who would do anything unethical. I began to worry.

“I saw you on the news. In regards to the Harper Baldwin case.” he said.

“Yeah...it was...disturbing.”

“A few years ago, my daughter went on a date with him; after that date we never saw her again.”

“Oh. I’m sorry to hear.”

“They found her body in a nearby creek.”

“Oh…”

Words couldn't describe what I was feeling. Hearing this made me tremble. I never knew those women nor anyone who did, but to hear this made me at loss.

“I want to say thank you. If you had not done what you did, we would never have found her.”

“No problem...I am sorry for your loss.”

“I- thank you...I wanted to thank you in any way I could. I do not want any parent to lose a child like I did...Which is why I want to do Daniel’s surgery.”

“What do you mean?”

“I want to do Daniel’s surgery; free of charge.”

“Fr-free of charge?”

“Yes.”

I dropped the phone and began to cry. I looked over at Daniel’s picture and held on for a long time. My boy was getting his surgery.

“Thank You! Thank you doctor. When can he get the surgery?”

“Can he come Friday Afternoon?”

“Yes. Friday is good. Thank You!”

I could not believe it. Daniel would get the surgery he needed. It was at a deadly and unfortunate cost, but he is going to get the surgery. With everything that happened, I no longer care nor want to be anyone else. I just want my little boy.

investigation
1

About the Creator

A.A.C.

I want to see if I have a career in writing and put it to the test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.