Criminal logo

Halloween Night

Where's Johnny?

By Destiny WelchPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Halloween Night
Photo by Josh Hill on Unsplash

I was walking on one dark Halloween night. I could hear animal sounds down the alley, the wind was blowing cold air, and I was scared after what happened last year. I will tell you the story as I remember it.

Last Halloween, my brother was walking down the street, and he came up missing without a trace. The whole family began to search for him, called the police, and went from door to door to ask if they had seen them. We did everything in our power to get Johnny back, but every time we got close, we would hit another dead end.

After about a week, a shirt came up with his blood on it.No other fingerprints were established. The detectives searched the shirt the finest to their ability, but no other evidence was found other than Johnny's blood.

I waited, waited, and waited on a call saying they found my little brother, but they never called, and when we went to the police station, the Sheriff said there was no more he could do and closed the case. I spent the rest of the miserable blue moon thinking about where Johnny could be, which brings me here on this horrible, spine-chilling walk. I am miles away from my accommodation, but I miss my little brother. Where could he be? The most painful part of his disappearance is I don't know if he's dead or alive. Poor Johnny could be somewhere starving and I can't do anything about it.

I walk up to the dock on the coastline, and I see a young man freezing, rolled in a sheet, as someone abandoned him here. I start to unroll him from the bed linen, and then I acknowledge Johnny's best friend, Matthew. After he unwinds all of the ways from the sheets, I provide him with water and a snack I had handy. I don't ask any questions yet, though I have enough to interrogate him.

After he gathers himself, I help him in the car and head toward the hospital. After we arrive, the paramedics help Matthew into a wheelchair and into the emergency room. They asked a few questions, but I told them who he was and what I saw. When the nurse finally let me in the room with him, Matthew kept talking about how much he missed Johnny and asked where he'd been. I looked at him a little disturbed and continued to tell him that Johnny was missing. He tried to act tough, but then he couldn’t hold the tears in anymore. At that point, I had to leave. This situation became too toxic for me.

When I got home, my parents were worried sick. Apparently, they tried to call me, but I guess my phone died. I felt terrible while I was talking to them, and then I told them about Matthew. Everyone seemed horrified by the events happening in this crazy town. Not long after, we heard a strange, soft knock on the door. When I open the door, I see Johnny standing there, soaked in blood and sweat. We barely said two words before rushing to the hospital. He was shot in the arm, stabbed in the stomach, and his hands zip tied together. The doctors said he had a fighting chance, but they would need to perform immediate surgery. Hours later, he came back a little banged up, but he was going to live. Johnny just needed to stay in the hospital for a few days.

Before the police show up, my little brother tells us he was kidnapped. He described the van exactly like the one Matthew’s dad owns. A black van with writing on the hood in red and white rims. Johnny didn’t know about the van because he only used it for celebratory times. Now, I’m wondering what he could possibly celebrate in an ugly, worn out van. His wife and kids didn’t even know about the van. Matthew said “You want to know what’s even weirder?” And before we could answer, continued to say “There’s a secret room in the house, but none of us are allowed in there, not even mom. Dad uses it as an office, but it seems like he’s hiding something. Will you all help me figure out what it is?” I nodded, but told him to get some rest first.

Matthew spent the next few days recovering at home. After he was well, we came up with a plan. The day Matthew was supposed to go back to school, he waited for his parents to leave, and called me to come over when he thought it was safe. We broke into the basement using a bobby pin. As we walk down, all we can hear is moaning. We see cameras facing a bed full of teenage boys and girls naked. They are all doing horrible things to each other including sex and abuse. All of the evidence showed he kidnapped all of these kids and forced them to be taped.

We immediately called the police, and when they got there, explained everything that happened. Johnny and Matthew getting kidnapped and all of these kids in the basement were the same case. Everyone got kidnapped in the same scenario. Matthew’s dad went to jail, and his mom disappeared. She couldn’t live in this town anymore, so Matthew came to live with us.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Destiny Welch

I love writing and reading and that is why I enjoy vocal!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.