Criminal logo

Gun violence

The parkland shooting

By BryanPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
1
Gun violence
Photo by Maria Lysenko on Unsplash

The day of the shooting, I woke up feeling uneasy. I couldn't shake the feeling that something bad was going to happen. I tried to ignore it, but the feeling persisted.

I went to school as usual, but my mind was elsewhere. I couldn't concentrate on my classes. All I could think about was the feeling of dread that had been hanging over me all day.

After school, I met up with my friends at the park. We were just hanging out, talking and laughing, when we heard the first shots.

We all froze. We couldn't believe what we were hearing. It sounded like it was coming from the school.

We started running towards the school, but we were stopped by a police officer. He told us to stay back, that it was too dangerous.

We stood there, helpless, as we listened to the sounds of gunfire and screams. We didn't know what to do. We were all so scared.

Finally, after what felt like an eternity, the gunfire stopped. We heard the police sirens getting closer.

We were finally allowed to go into the school. The scene was horrific. There were bodies everywhere. Blood was splattered on the walls and floors.

I couldn't believe what I was seeing. I didn't know any of the victims personally, but it didn't matter. They were all someone's child, someone's friend, someone's family member.

I felt so numb. I couldn't cry. I couldn't feel anything.

I just stood there, staring at the carnage, trying to process what had just happened.

It didn't seem real. It felt like I was in a nightmare.

But it wasn't a nightmare. It was real. And it was happening to me.

I don't know how long I stood there. It could have been minutes, hours, days. I don't remember.

Eventually, I was taken out of the school and reunited with my friends. We were all in shock. We didn't know what to say.

We just sat there, holding each other, trying to comfort each other.

We were all changed that day. We would never be the same again.

The shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School was a tragedy. It was a senseless act of violence that took the lives of 17 innocent people.

But it was also a moment of awakening. It was a moment when we realized that we couldn't just sit back and do nothing. We had to stand up and fight for change.

We had to demand that our elected officials do something to stop gun violence. We had to make our voices heard.

And we did.

The students of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School became the voice of a generation. They spoke out against gun violence and demanded change.

And they were heard.

In the wake of the shooting, there was a renewed focus on gun control. New laws were passed and stricter regulations were put in place.

It wasn't enough, but it was a start.

The students of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School showed the world that they would not be silenced. They showed the world that they would fight for what they believe in.

They are an inspiration to us all.

I will never forget the day of the Parkland shooting. It was a day that changed my life forever.

But I will also never forget the courage and resilience of the students of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School. They are the true heroes.

The months and years that followed the shooting were difficult. I struggled with survivor's guilt and PTSD. I had nightmares about the day of the shooting and I often felt anxious and afraid.

But I also found strength in the support of my friends and family. I went to therapy and I learned to cope with my trauma. I started to speak out about gun violence and I became involved in activism.

I know that I will never be the same person I was before the shooting. But I am determined to make a difference. I will never forget the victims of the Parkland shooting and I will never stop fighting for change.

I believe that we can create a world where gun violence is no longer a reality. We can make our schools safe and we can protect our children. We can make a difference.

I urge you to join me in the fight against gun violence. Together, we can make a difference.

guilty
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.