Criminal logo

First Disaster

First Meeting

By Morgan Christy RickardsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
First Disaster
Photo by ISABEL PEREZ on Unsplash

Was it really too much to ask for a simple evening? A pleasant night spent with pleasant company. To enjoy a drink and some scintillating conversation? To not have everything I touch to end in disaster? Apparently so. Okay universe, I got the message. No good times for me. I didn't even understand how this one had happened. I guess that Merlot was hitting me more strongly than I’d thought. Not just me though, as I wasn’t here alone. I wasn’t the only one seeing this. So was the random guy standing next to me with his mouth agape.

“Hey, guy.” I tried to get his attention and gave him a little poke in the shoulder. Man, that was some shoulder. Well formed. Nice. Shaking those unneeded, distracting thoughts, that in no way benefited the situation at the moment out of my head, I noticed he still wasn’t responding. It looked like he was in shock. He probably was. It wasn’t everyday you ended up stuck in a hostage like situation after all. Well, for most people anyway.

Taking another look at the gunmen I couldn’t help but roll my eyes at the amateurs. They weren’t even doing it properly. They should have had everyone down on the floor and silent by now, all the potential exits guarded. That’s what normally happened. I decided to take advantage of their sloppiness and dragged the poor, shocked cute guy behind me. He came easily enough as I tugged on his arm. He followed me around the room's perimeter and I made sure we didn’t draw too much attention. We managed to slip through the kitchen doors. I shook my head in disgust at the sloppiness of the operation these so called criminal masterminds thought they were running.

As we left the main room where most of the excitement was happening, the guy seemed to come back to himself, slowly but surely. Starting with a shake of his head, his confused eyes met mine and his face scrunched up adorably while he tried to comprehend the situation we found ourselves in. Seeing the mounting panic in his eyes, I interrupted the rolling wave. “Hi I’m Leena. Nice to meet you.” I grabbed his hand once more. Hmm, it was a nice hand, all rough, but not too rough, and strong… I shook away that wayward thought and all of the ones that would follow that train, and refocused on where we were headed. “What’s your name stranger?” I questioned over my shoulder as we rounded a corner.

“Yeah stranger. What’s your name?” A weasley voice echoed as I stared straight down the barrel of a gun. Damnitt! Okay, time to reevaluate the plan. As my mind whirled through contingencies, I felt my stranger pull me back towards him and he stepped forward, shielding me behind his body. Oh wasn’t he sweet? I could hear the scoff of laughter that escaped the gunman at the protective move and froze. A chill ran down my spine and a sense of foreboding shortened my breath. I didn’t know how I knew, but I felt, without a shadow of a doubt, with absolute certainty that the Gunman was going to pull the trigger, loosening a bullet straight into my stranger. That couldn’t happen. I couldn’t let that happen.

With wide eyes, I could see the gunman's hand beginning to tense. Before I could move to push my stranger out of the firing line, he moved. Quicker than my eyes could track. My breath stuttered and the gun went off. The loud noise was jarring and made me blink. In the short time that my eyes had been closed the stranger had moved to stand back beside me. He was fine, his eyes bright as they shone down on me. I released my breath in a stutter as he spoke. “Jake. My name's Jake. It’s nice to meet you too Leena.” Oh Lordy! That was a nice voice. Before that train could come back around an hijak my thoughts again, a commotion sounded down the hallway, coming closer.

A swarm of police emerged, pausing only briefly at the scene before them, before a couple of them assured us out of the building and the rest carried on their way.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Morgan Christy Rickards

One of my life goals is to have an amazing home library! Love reading and magic and dragons. Want to travel the world. Come explore with me. Let's go on an adventure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.