Criminal logo

Excerpt from Seven by Saturday

When No One is Watching

By C.A. PricePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

The pounding in my head felt as if I was stopped next to a car with the volume turned up so high that the bass shook everything around it. Pinching my nose I tried to take calming breaths, a four count in and a four count out. My mind is drifting over every inch of every crime scene I have been at the past three days. The boxes were small, not drawing attention. All of them were wrapped in brown paper. The techs had determined that it was a paper grocery store bag, giving you nothing. Inside the boxes was filled with screws and marbles for shrapnel. When they exploded anyone in a hundred yards radius was in danger. Sitting a little straighter I open my eyes reaching for the files yet again.

The first explosion happened at the local Saturday summer farmers market, seven dead, forty-two taken to local area hospitals. All different ages, races, and economic backgrounds. It was a public event in the historic downtown spanning five blocks, having been going on for the last twelve years. It was part of the city that brought people together.

The Second was at the free outdoor concert on Sunday, twenty-three dead, twenty-five taken to the hospitals. This time the age group wasn't as broad, mostly people between the ages of eighteen to thirty. The summer concert series always brought a huge turnout. The outdoor amphitheater was behind the city jail and across the street from the courthouse. It's location made people feel safe, protected.

The Third, the third one was what keeps running through my head. No casualties, no one injured. It was at a park. A brand new city park funded by a few of the local businesses. Shrapnel had torn through the playground equipment. All of it was riddled with holes when they showed up to cut the ribbon. With no one injured it made no sense after the first two.

Running my fingers through my hair I pause gripping my golden brown locks, tugging tight. God, I needed a drink. Feeling a hand on my shoulder I look at my partner Detective Jason Hanson. Handing me coffee from my favorite shop he shakes his head, "Zoey, please tell me that you went home and slept." "Thanks for the coffee J." "You know that they miss you, right?" Rolling your eyes you stand up to stretch, "Detective Scott you got a package up front." Looking at the rookie officer in front of me, I hear Jason laughing from behind as the officer quickly oogles my body, "Officer Mason is it?" "Yes, ma'am." "May I ask why you failed to bring me the package?" Raising an eyebrow I watch him squirm. Feeling the irritation beginning to come to the surface I walk right up to him, "I hope that you perform better for your T.O. because at this task you failed." Moving past him I know that I am being a beast, yet I really don't give a shit.

Moving past the desk of the patrol officers I can feel their eyes following me as the whispers circle through the air. You know that they aren’t talking about this case. Without thought my right hand moves from one hip to the other, tracing the lines of the scar that was healed but still very fresh. Your mind keeps trying to pull you back into the memory of that night. My stomach twists at the mere thought of what happened. I know that I am walking faster now. I know that the footsteps behind me are of the other officers and not of him. Yet my hand still moves to the concealed holster on my back pressing against my spine.

Rounding the corner to the front desk I hit into a solid body. Trying to calm myself, I breathe in taking in five things that I can see, four things that I can touch, three sounds that I can hear, two things that I can smell and the one taste in my mouth the blood in my mouth from biting my cheek so hard. Looking up I watch as the smile reaches his eyes. It’s soft like a fathers but you see something hidden in the depths of those coffee colored eyes. A mixture of anger, fear and concession. “Captain Stevens.” “Detective Scott, just the officer I was looking for.” “What can I do for you sir?” “Follow me to my office.” Nodding I keep pace next to him as we move across the floor into his office. Pointing to the chair he turns as I sit, closing the door.

Shutting the door, shutting the door meant that I am going to be pissed. “Capatian?” “”I will get right to the point. Zoey, the governor, called in the feds. I need you to have everything ready about all three cases by ten when they will be arriving. You aren’t being pulled off of the case but they will be in charge.” “I understand sir.” “I know that it’s horse shit. I know that you could figure this out given a bit more time. But the death toll is far too high for us not to accept help.” Standing I close my eyes praying that this headache will go away before the feds make it unbearable.”Who is the Agent in charge?” “Agent Sullivan.” “Okay.” Walking over to the door my hand wraps around the cold medal handle, “I’m sorry kid.” Looking over your shoulder at him I smile softly, “I know. Can I take over the third conference room?” “Whatever you need.” Closing the door behind me, I know the feds are going to screw everything up, they always did, I was living proof of that.

Moving everything in silence Jason smiles as he sets down the last of the boxes of files, “You know the boys in the motorcade and I could screw with them a bit. You know fish in their hubcaps and all that jazz.” Laughing, I punch his shoulder, “Are we fourteen again?” Shoving your shoulder he grins, “No, if I was fourteen I would draw a cock and balls on all of their car windows.” You both are laughing so hard that when someone clears their throat you both freeze. Seeing the agent with the firm jaw and lack of smile has you standing a bit straighter as I walk over extending my hand, “Agent Sullivan I presume?” “No, I am Agent Mathews. Agent Sullavian is flying in from D.C. and will be here later this evening. But it’s good to know that what is going on is a laughing matter to you.” Saying nothing else, he and five other agents move into the room. Rolling my shoulders I take a deep breath. Time to show them everything that led to nothing.

After ten hours Agent Mathews finally sends his team to their hotel for the night. Loosening his tie you both sit down at the table with empty thai food containers in front of you, “Detective Scott I have to say that your work is very extensive. For a local cop you have done a very good job.” “Thank you. I think.” Laughing he stands, “I should go to the hotel and review things with the team. We will be in around seven.” “Sounds good.” Standing he begins to put on his jacket. Turning I gather the empty containers.

He grumbles under his breath, “Look who decided to show up. Walking to the door he opens it, “Agent Sullivan, I was just going to the hotel to review everything with the team.” “I am going to stay and catch up.” You know that voice. You have tried to forget it, but it lingers in your dreams, taunting you. “Okay, Detective Scott here will be a great asset to the team, she has done a brilliant job for a local cop.” “Thank you Agent Mathews, I will be here waiting for you and the team at seven.” “Sure thing. Night Detective Scott.” Turning I smile but your eyes lock with hers, “Good-night Agent Mathews.”

You both just stare at each other as he leaves and she enters the room, shutting the door behind her, “Hey Zoey.” Her voice is soft and I feel it course through my veins, “Agent Sullivan, good to see you again.” Nodding, she takes a deep breath, “Had I known that it was your case I would have…” “Had me be reassigned?” “No, damn it Zoey! Give me a chance to explain.” Stepping forward she stops as a knock on the door echoes through the room.

Turning she opens the door, “May I help you officer?” “I am looking for Detective Scott?” Stepping aside I see Officer Mason with a bag in his hands. Stepping forward he extends it out to me, “The desk Sergeant said that you never picked it up. I know that you're busy so I brought it to you because if I left it at your desk, you might miss it.” His eyes are downturned as he shrugs. I have to shake my head as I walk over reaching out to take the bag, “I should apologize to you office Mason. I have no excuse for treating you so brash before. Thank you for making sure that I got this.” His eyes meet mine as I give him a full smile. He smiles softly nodding as he succies out of the room.

Walking over to the conference room table I place the bag on it, with my back facing Agent Sullivan. Pulling out the tissue paper I can feel her behind me. Seeing the corner of the package inside the bag my brow begins to furrow. The box is about the size of a small shoe box. My heart is ready to burst from my chest. Everything else around you is lost. Lifting the note from beneath the cord that holds the brown paper covered box closed, I opened it.

Run, run, run as fast as you can.

You can not catch me because you do not know who I am.

Three down.

Four to go.

Seven by Saturday.

Why?

Only one will know.

I will be seeing you Detective Scott.

Just as I have been.

xo

Setting the note down I know that I should wait for the techs. I know that I should put on gloves and follow protocol yet my hands move of their own willpower. The slit under the lines of cord let me know that it's open.Sliding the cord over the corners my stomach drops as I see what is inside the box. Turning to face Agent Sullivan she tilts her head, “Zoey, what is it?” Pointing over my shoulder I move to the far wall pressing my back against it as I slide down. It is pictures of me at all of the crime scenes. And sitting on top was the key to my house. The only one I had, the one from my key ring.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.