Criminal logo

Digging Bones

You get more then you bargained for with curiosity

By Pamela WidmannPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Knocking down this wall was getting exhausting . These bricks were solid and hitting them was making my arms hurt. All of the sudden a huge amount of bricks came falling down. As they did a little black notebook slide across the floor.

As I opened the little black book I thought to myself,

“Is this someone’s black book of girlfriends or boyfriends with all their phone numbers?”.

If it were full of phone numbers it would be a hoot to call them to see if they are still around . A glass a wine or two and a good old fashion drunk dial!

I was so excited to open it and read what was inside .

As I opened the book and began to read I could not believe what I was reading .

The writer was speaking about a person with the initials of SK . The day they robbed SK. Who was SK?

What did this person take?

A map of some location .

Apologizing for everything that had happened . Asking for forgiveness. Each day the writer was showing more remorse . Total regret on the last entry saying I never should of robbed you and I will burn in hell for it .

Was this real should I go to the location to see what is buried?

The next morning I could not stop thinking about the little black book and SK . What was buried at the location on the map . After getting dressed,

I decided to go for it! Driving out to the location was getting more and more rural . No one around not one soul. I found the location on the map . As I was walking toward the spot I did see the tree with SK craved into the tree and a heart around the initials.

This is it . Was this a love thing ?

I started digging and digging I was getting so tired, I was thinking of quitting and giving up . I took a water break . Went back to digging and digging again .

I saw something shiny in the hole. I went down to get it I dug a little more to retrieve the shiny thing . It was a box ! As I was taking it out I saw bones of a human hand and screamed ! No one would ever hear me out here ! What do I do?

I have to call the police . My cell phone was not working out here, I will at least take the box with me to make the call ! I drove to the nearest place where my cell received a signal. As I made the call I decided to open the box, I mean what could that hurt. I was shaking so bad I’ve never seen skeleton before . I opened the box and inside was money, so much money all kept in sealed plastic bags . There were four plastic bags marked 5,000 on each of them . This what must of been what was stolen from SK . Who was the person who wrote the little black book ? Did they kill SK ? Were they still alive ?

I went back to the burial site and waited for the police . All the sudden I felt so creeped out. I didn’t have the black book with me, what will the police think of me ?

As I saw the two squad cars pull up, I was suddenly scared and felt so a uncomfortable being in my own skin.

“Hello, I’m officer Yates and you called about finding a skeleton”, said the cop.

“Yes”, I said “it’s over here.”.

We went over to the body no it’s not a body it’s just bones a skeleton!

Officer Yates, began questioning me.

“You are?”, he asked.

“Sinclair Thompson”, I answered.

“Miss Sinclair what were you doing out here digging?”, he continued.

I began to explain I was knocking down a wall in my house and out pops this little black book. It had the initials SK and a map. Apologizing for what happened . I set out this morning and this is what I found . With a box inside with Four plastic bags marked 5,000 on each bag.

Officer Yates was looking at me like I was this crazy person making up a story! What the fuck am I going to do now?

“Miss Sinclair where is this mysterious little black book?”, he asked followed with what I could only assume was a laugh under his breath.

“At my house I didn’t bring it with me I took a photo of the map.”, I answered.

He asked to see the photo and I showed him the picture.

“Miss Sinclair, let us go to your house to see this little black book you are referring to.”, Officer Yates stated.

All I was thinking who wrote this black book? Wishing I never laid my eyes on it ! Why my house ? Who the fuck was SK ? I started driving being followed by Officer Yates after he took down all my information and ran a background check on me. All of a sudden a felt like a criminal . As I pulled into my driveway Officer Yates blocked me in.

I was hoping nothing I did was illegal. Should have I turned in the little black book instead of going out digging up bones ? How was I know I would find 20,000 dollars and a skeleton?

fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.