Criminal logo

Death Actually Visited me Eight Days After my Wonderful Marriage

Marriage, sex and wildlife

By Sam H ArnoldPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1

My name is Cory Johnson. I have always loved Glacier National Park, yes I have a fear of heights, but it doesn't stop me from loving the park with its rivers, cliffs and wildlife. I haven't always lived close; I moved here when I was young with my mum. Just the two of us and the peaceful life. Not that I didn't have friends, I had a vast circle of friends. A good life, all I needed was a wife to complete me. Eight days ago, I married my soul mate, and now I am at the bottom of this ravine, sitting on a rock looking at my body, lifelessly floating in the waterfall.

When I met Jordan, I knew I had met the missing part of my life. She was so shy when we started to get to know each other. Over time though, she opened up, and I saw the real her. She was funny and warm; she made me feel special. She was also deeply religious and wanted to wait until after marriage for sex, which I was okay with. She was worth the wait. Our wedding was everything I had hoped it would be, Jordan looked nervous throughout, but that is expected. We had a big night in front of us and a new house to move into. Not that any of it went to plan.

Married Life

The night of our wedding, Jordan told me she was on her period. Not to worry, we had the rest of our lives before us. I knew I could wait another week. The week after the wedding went so fast, we moved house and got everything set up. Finally, on the day before I returned to work, Jordan told me that today was the day. I had arranged to go golfing with my friends, but they understood when I cancelled to spend one more day with my wife. Jordan suggested that we make our first time special; why didn't we go to the Glacier National Park so our first could be outside. We both love the outdoors and walking it would be perfect. She said she knew just the spot.

We walked to this ledge that Jordan knew, it was so high up I thought I was going to pass out with fear, but then I had other things to think about and look at. That was when she told me she couldn't have sex with me as it repulsed her. She would never have sex with me, and our marriage was a joke. I didn't react well; I am ashamed to say I screamed at her that I wanted a divorce. I saw her face change in that instant; there was no way her church would accept her getting a divorce, so she shoved me off the ledge. Strange fact, you stay conscious as you fall right to the moment you hit the bottom. My marriage is dead, and so am I

Missing Person

My name is Jordan Graham, well Johnson now. I killed my husband rather than sleep with him, and now I need to think fast to get away with it. The police are walking up my driveway.

It appears a friend from work has reported Cody missing. I told the police that we spent our last day together at the Dairy Queen. Cody got a phone call on the drive home and was upset, so he went to the garage when we got back, and I left him to chill. They believed the story because they asked me if I bought it was a drug deal. I assured them my sweet Cody wasn't into that. They asked me why I hadn't reported him missing, and I said because I didn't want him to be angry with me if he was with his friends. It can't hurt to put a domestic violence hint in now.

So Cody's mother has given his phone records to the police. They spoke to the friend who called him on the last day we were together and knew that Cody wasn't upset. Still, I have sorted that problem. Today I went to my mum and stepdad's house; no one was home. I used his computer and set up a Google account for Tony. Then, I sent an email to myself. I told them they needed to stop the investigation as Cody was dead in the Glacier National Park. I passed the email onto the police, so that should stop all the questions.

Finding a body

The email had the opposite effect. I forgot there was a guy at Cody's work called Tony. When the police interviewed him, he gave them access to everything. So now they know it wasn't him who sent the email; they are asking even more questions. Still, I know they won't find out who sent the email because I wasn't at my house.

Tomorrow I am going to help the police find Cody's body. I plan to go to the top of the ravine where I threw Cody off. I have told everyone this is our special place somewhere we always went. I am going to drop a stone off the ledge and look down to see where it fell. Then I can spot Cody's body and alert the police. His wallet in his pocket should make him easy to identify. Once they have a body, it can all be a tragic accident, and I can get on with my life.

The Evidence Mounts Up

My name is death, well least that's what most people call me. I have just taken Cody to his new home, poor sweet lad. I know, though, I can't go to the next soul until I see how the story ends. It is clear to see that the police are a little suspicious of the grieving widow, mainly because whilst her brother collapsed at the sight of Cody's body, his wife walked calmly to the car.

They have also found out from Kimberly Martinez, the matron of honour, that the marriage was never consummated and that the happy wife was reluctant to sleep with her husband.

Justice at Last

Technology is a beautiful thing. I have seen many deaths over my years and am amazed now by what you can find out. In the days of Jack the Ripper, it was a policeman and a notebook; now we have computers, tracking and photos, all of which have helped bring the merry widow to justice.

First, Google tracked that the email had been sent from her step-father's computer. Then, as none of them was home that day, the police know who sent the Tony email. Then both Cody and Jordan's phones show that they were at Glacier National Park on the evening of Cody's death, and lastly, a photo from the car park shows them both driving into the park; smile please. When the merry widow saw that photo, she cried for the first time. Tears for herself, of course, not poor Cody.

The Final Act

So the story she decided to tell is that she and Cody argued when she told him she was not happy in her marriage. They decided to drive to the park one hour away to calm down and sort things out. Once up there, the argument started again, and Cody turned physical. Jordan went to walk away, and not wanting to be a victim anymore, she shoved him away with both hands, and he happened to be at the edge and fell over.

This is the story in court, she shows no emotion, but I can feel how worried she is. People can't hide their thoughts and feelings from death. Tomorrow she plans to plead guilty to second-degree murder for a ten-year sentence. The judge will give her a thirty-years, this guy I like. She will never apologise for what she did to Cody, and she will always insist it was an accident. I look forward to claiming her soul; she won't enjoy her new home as much as Cody has.

If you enjoyed this article, please follow me, share it and give it a like. As a writer tips mean a great deal to me, so a massive thank you if, you send one.

guilty
1

About the Creator

Sam H Arnold

Writing stories to help, inspire and shock. For all my current writing projects click here - https://linktr.ee/samharnold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.