Criminal logo

Crypto Murders: Heyday

The case goes to trial.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1
Crypto Murders: Heyday
Photo by Colin Lloyd on Unsplash

“I honestly thought it was the end of me. That this maniac was going to slit my throat and put me in a ten thousand dollar dress,” Bao said on the stand.

“And what were your thoughts about Meredith?”

By Melissa Askew on Unsplash

“I wanted her safe, too. We became like they say battle buddies become in war or prisoners in a POW camp. We bonded. Of course that’s textbook and expected but it’s so true.”

“Did he make any sexual advance towards either of you?”

“No. He was a gentleman by comparison in that department. He didn’t want us for sex or to poison us or torture us. He wanted to play with us like we were dolls, dead or alive.”

“If you could just say a word on how you were able to breathe free once again?”

By Hasan Almasi on Unsplash

“Yes, sure. We were just screaming our guts out. Making any kind of noise that would alert someone. We’d noticed he hadn’t returned to where we were so we just belted out every yelp and holler we could muster. When the agents broke through the bars, I thought I had a second life. It felt like fetters had fallen to the floor. I was in a state of bliss, of ecstasy. It truly felt as if he were going to come back to kill us. I just feel sorry for the families of the other women.” Bao began to cry. Often, she was the one telling Meredith to get a grip but now she was the one who had tears burst from her eyes like dew from a blade of grass.

“Thank you, Miss Cheng. I called Meredith Zhang to the stand,” Prosecutor Miguel Stanfield looked at the courtroom and then to Meredith.

“Can you point out the man who abducted you and held you as prisoner?”

“Yes,” she pointed directly at Archie.

“Now, for the moments that you were with Miss Cheng, did you ever feel like all of this would be over and work in your favor?”

“I don’t believe in God but I believe in myself. I’m aware of the fact that so many people probably wouldn’t believe the hell we were put through.” Her voice cracked but she didn’t cry. “I wanted to kill him myself after a while. But I had no power.”

Stanfield looked at the records. It seemed to him that the reason why there was no mention of the other women.

“Authorities couldn’t find the bodies of the other women.”

By Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

“They were there. They sat up in satin gowns and ‘ate’ dinner with us on more than one occasion. I want you to rip that house apart. You both assert their existence and forensics teams didn’t find a trace....” Then a member of his council went up and spoke something in Stanfield’s ear.

“I’m sorry. Forgive me, judge. There has been a new set of evidence that has arisen. Five women were brutally murdered by the defendant. Miss Zhang, I appreciate your honesty and please pardon me if it seemed like I didn’t believe you.”

“It’s alright. If you know you know.” She sniffled and laughed extremely lightly.

“I thank you. You may step down. Miss Zhang. No further questions, your honor.”

The defense attorney stood. She was a chain smoker named Angelina and was a looker in her heyday. She had been eating powdered donuts and smoking and her features took on a negative effect. Her voice sounded like she chewed gravel.

“What we have here is a man who wanted a stylish, fashionable existence. He didn’t understand the difference between reality and what wasn’t. I’m asking that the jury be aware of this fact and that he deserves his day in court, too.”

fiction
1

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

Cash App: $SkylerSaunders1

PayPal: paypal.me/SkylerSaunders

Join Skyler’s 100 Club by contributing $100 a month to the page. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.